Show us your Rack! ;)

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by BOB_LORDOFEVIL, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,646
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Yeah thinking about some sort of flexible conduit maybe.

    Ah ok, so effectively you had the device sitting on the bottom of the case and venting upwards onto your devices?
     
  2. pezzy

    pezzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Sydney
    that was the setup initially which i found didnt do much or anything at all. but i didnt have an exhaust fan at the top at that time so im not sure if that plays a vital role as well.

    The fans are directing air flow upwards, so intake at the bottom and exhaust at the top. so it makes more sense to me that devices that need cooling should be placed below the fan case, so fans extracting heat then blowing it out on top. and perhaps the fan case acting as heat sink as well.
     
  3. th3_hawk

    th3_hawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,284
    Location:
    Kilsyth 3137
    I installed the new rack unit for the Pi and the USG today, removed the old redundant TPLink switch that wasn't being used and tidied up the cables (again). Power is now mostly run down one side and all the little bits and pieces are cable tied up/together where it works. The way the Pi mounts up is a lot more exposed than the case it was in, but then it's also mounted in a place where it will be fine. I've not gone with POE for the Pi as yet, so it still has it's own power adaptor, something I might look into one day too. I've added this little fan mount and I'll keep an eye on the temps, but it's the same fan (and heat sinks) that were being used in it's case.

    I'm looking at 3D printing one rack ear mount for the STC-1000 Jiffy box to mount it up on one of the side rails, but it's not like I'm gaining any space by doing that at the moment... but I still might do it anyway since I have the printer just sitting there and I can :p In reality, it works just like it did before, I've not added space for anything new, all of this is because I can. I'm also realising yet again, that without the NAS and PC in there running power consumption is pretty good at only about 55W vs with everything running it's more like 200W+. It runs the IP camera recordings, network backups, Plex server and other stuff so it's still needed and I'm not really convinced there is a lower powered way to maintain everything short of a lot of very expensive SSDs.

    Before and After:
    [​IMG] |
    Click to view full size!


    Could still do with a good dusting :p




    EDIT:

    Bracket done, it doesn't quite have hold it square and rigid. I think it might be *just* too wide and heavy (not that there is a lot of weight in there). It doesn't look as much of an angle as it appears in the photo and it is secure. I think another bolt into the jiffy box would see it come good (I only used two).


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2020
    Pugs, pezzy and 303-Acid like this.
  4. Opticon

    Opticon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Is that sawdust?
     
  5. th3_hawk

    th3_hawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,284
    Location:
    Kilsyth 3137
    You mean in front of the rack. No, that's just the concrete and weird lighting.

    In the dust itself... probably. I've done work with wood in the garage (Arcade machine last Christmas). While it's away from when the rack is, I'm sure it travels.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2020
  6. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,646
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I think I'll probably end up putting my Heatermate back in with the two extractor fans blowing out the top.....( calling Gibbon , I'll be back soon as your Heatermate, heh )
     
    Gibbon likes this.
  7. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,162
    Location:
    2650
    Heh, yeah, it's not as elegant, but I guess it gets the job done.
    If I got a fan module I'd probably it somewhere down the bottom of the rack to get air moving up, and use the fans in the top of the rack as well - but noise isn't too much of a worry for me. I wouldn't do that otherwise.
     
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  8. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,646
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Ok, going to try something else. I'll keep the fan in there but swapping out the original two case fans with these quieter Arctic fans which arrived this morning....

    20201106_123914.jpg

    Worth a shot to bring the Db's down!
     
    pezzy and arytel like this.
  9. arytel

    arytel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,686
    Location:
    Adelaide
    240v or 12v dc?
     
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  10. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,646
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    12V DC :thumbup: Just gotta work out which are which wires.
     
  11. arytel

    arytel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,686
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Cheers, I thought about going to the 240V option since I have PID temperature controller I could use.
    Took me a while to get the case btw, he went to Victoria and got stuck there for over a month.
    But it's be changed over well, just need to get a bigger switch since the kiddies are starting to get devices as well.
     
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  12. pezzy

    pezzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Sydney
    its worth every penny!

    curse them 240v fans.
     
  13. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,646
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Ah ok, was going to ask about that. Super nice guy, would go back no hesitation.

    Still has lots of stock I imagine.
     
  14. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,816
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Any tips for managing a network setup without a rack? Mine's a complete mess, and unless I can find a cheap 6-10U rack then it's probably going to stay that way.
    I have a 48U rack in my workshop, but no way to fit that at home :upset:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,646
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    If space permits you could buy something like the following and then tie all your devices in with zipties. There have been some previously examples in the thread I think. You don't have a lot of devices so I think would work pretty well.

    https://www.ikea.com/au/en/p/omar-shelving-unit-galvanised-00167207/

    Otherwise you could do what some other people have done here which is use some sort of chipboard/particle board and secure it to the wall and ziptie your devices to it. Obviously would need to do it in such a way that you still have access to the cubby hole you have there.
     
  16. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    14,160
    Location:
    Canberra
    not much more you can do to that, cables already managed.

    maybe build some little shelves to stack things on.
     
    brayway likes this.
  17. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,816
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ah not a bad idea.
    I was considering some MDF/particle board and screwing things down to that.
    The cubby hole behind is actually more of the network equipment. It's where the ONT is stored, the satellite is split, as well as a small patch panel and where I have my Ubiquiti USG. It's also a mess...
    I was also thinking maybe a larger single power supply for all of the USB powered devices, that'd clear a few power adapters.
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Opticon

    Opticon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    This paper organiser from IKEA worked well for me. AP has been moved out and got a NUC, drive etc for security sitting in there fine

    https://forums.overclockers.com.au/posts/17773370/
     
    pezzy likes this.
  19. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,816
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Ooh that's not a bad idea either, thanks!
     
  20. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    14,160
    Location:
    Canberra
    not much point having a rack if none of your gear is rack-mount, as you have to make something to hold everything anyway.

    if you have a 3D-printer (or know someone how does), there's a multitude of thingiverse things for mounting multiple Pi's. that could certainly help with a lot of your gear.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: