1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

SimCity (DRM discussion = ban)

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Philll, Mar 1, 2012.

  1. Shimmy

    Shimmy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Messages:
    1,126
    Location:
    Melb, CBD.
    :lol: This is deliberate, they speak simlish
     
  2. Strik3r

    Strik3r Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    Messages:
    259
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If there is still a spot in the OCAU region, can I get an invite. Origin ID: Strik3r_aus
     
  3. Foliage

    Foliage Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    32,058
    Location:
    Sleepwithyourdadelaide
    So anyone... how do you increase land value without building 1:1 parks:residential

    Also commercial/residential should you separate them or mix and match each block?

    Why do you think they are all located in dublin? I can't see any good reason to come to that conclusion from that file, all it has is lots of DNS entries, who knows where they are physically located?

    Give it a go, what do you have to lose?
     
  4. stevefd

    stevefd Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Ok, you have to create little "blocks", which are easy to do as the game gives you guide lines when placing roads. So make a small 4x4 grid, or 4x6, 2x8, etc with low density roads to begin with, then gradually as your city grows just go with medium, then high density roads.

    If there is demand for low wealth, in that suburb place houses with one or two of the ($) "parks", the first option. For medium, place the ($$) parks and for high wealth, the ($$$) parks. By parks I mean any of those value things, doesn't literally have to be a park. You absolutely do not need 1:1 parks, that is a massive waste of money. Just try to stick them semi-central so they cover a decent amount of residential/commercial.

    That is how you differentiate suburbs into different wealth and yes, that does include commercial too. The "parks" effect commercial just like residential. The general rule seems to be that for each 3 or 4 blocks of residential, you want 1 block of commercial. A 4x4 "block" is enough for a skyscraper to pop up eventually. So yes, you do want to mix and match them, with your commercial zones being on busy roads.
    Think about it this way. When you live somewhere, you ideally want some shops in your local suburb, not too far away which is why most suburbs have a shopping centre or some small shop section.
    Keep your industrial zone away from your residents and ideally upwind so the pollution gets carried away.

    As your city and demand grows, just upgrade your streets and watch the skyscrapers pop up. The rich people seem to love them ;)


    I've found the size of the maps limiting, just like everyone else. However, it's teaching me to be more efficient but also to SLOW DOWN. Seriously, a city that grows too fast becomes unmanagable. My 3rd city is a hell of a lot better than the first two as I've built more efficiently.

    ps. Being on a map with low water sucks giant balls. Prepare to hate life if everything starts to shut down due to lack of water.
     
  5. G-PhresH

    G-PhresH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,462
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    Could i get an invite to the Oceanic 2 server OCAU region?
    Origin ID: MajorGaz
     
  6. dogthinker

    dogthinker Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,996
    Location:
    Sydney (Glebe)
    Resolve the DNS... They're all Amazon eu-west servers. (Well, all the ones I checked were, and I checked one labelled from each region)
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
  7. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    14,678
    There is a region with 16 plots of land. But its really 4 groups of 4.

    I think 7 is the biggest connected region.

    People are supposedly getting banned for doing this.



    $44AUD for the Digital Deluxe OR $26AUD for the Limited Edition.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
  8. CoolColJ

    CoolColJ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    908
    Don't really need invites unless it's a private region, you just have to friend people, be on teh same server and you can see what they are doing in the citylog



    My best city uses a circular design, with townhall, in the centre, and services on the next inner circular ring and the main avenue off the highway splitting down the centre, and I have over 50k population, traffic flow is very good, with tourist coming in. Mixed resident and commercial zones on the outter rings, industry, water and gabage on the edge of the city where the wind blows
    Park and rides at all major resident junctions and at the city entrance and exit.
    Have had no major fire or crime issues, unlike some of my other grid like cities.

    My largest city has over 160k, with room to grow.

    You need to have junctions for the cars to U turn, I've noticed

    --

    edit v1.4 is out - Use Aussies are closer to Antarctica :leet:

    Update to the “Select a Server” dialog in the game launcher. This will now indicate which servers you have active cities on

    Fix for an issue where selection shard did not display when the previously selected server is down

    We've fixed a problem where some players were getting stuck when switching shards in the server select menu

    We've opened 1 new server: Antarctica
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
  9. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,989
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    Learned a lot about getting things working last night.

    Had a 60k city, so moved on to start a new one. Caused me so much head-scratching. I've had two major problems:
    Industrial complaining they don't have any low-income workers.
    For quite a while I had a town hovering just below 5k citizens, and then I added parks to bring up the land value. The result though was that whole now everything was high-wealth, but has low education, so they won't go work there either.
    The further problem with that though was that my population cratered - all the way to about 2,000. I couldn't get it much above this even with a full map. The problem turned out to be very simple but less than obvious - you can't get jack density with low density roads. Upgrading to high capacity roads made everything upgrade to skyscrapers almost instantly - so in the space of four months went from about 2k to 20k.

    I'm still stuck with the problem of whiny Industrial not being able to find employees though.
     
  10. G-PhresH

    G-PhresH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,462
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    I cant find a solution to this either.
    No matter how big my popluation is, and how small my industrial and commerical sector is i ALWAYS have a worker shortage in some of my cities.

    My first city was a ore mining one.
    Second was oil.
    Third was a Tourist (casino) one.

    The tourist town was so much easier to build and maintain. Only had Commercial so didnt really have a worker shortage. Had no industrial so less complaining.

    My only issue now is getting in enough tourists to go to my casino's :(
    Doesnt help that godzilla came through and destroyed my Sydney Opera house and another one of my tourist attractions. 200k down the drain.....ugh.
     
  11. s4mmy

    s4mmy Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I had the same issue, its because all your sims are now educated and dont want to work the shit jobs.

    You need to get some crappy housing with low density roads so that they dont move into the $$$.
     
  12. CoolColJ

    CoolColJ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    908
    Screencaps of my most efficient circular city
    Town hall in the centre, servcies next - no major traffic issues. Good coverage
    Pakr and ride at city entrance, exit, and major resident intersections

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2013
  13. War1910

    War1910 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    399
    Location:
    Darwin, NT
    Apparently a trick with this is to use your sewerage treatment plants and water filtering plants opposite each other - apparently it give unlimited water (haven't had the funds to try it yet - I have an area running out of water as well :()
     
  14. CoolColJ

    CoolColJ Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    908
    It works :)

    Also putting the water plant next to a large body of water like a river is infinite as well
     
  15. Pinkeh

    Pinkeh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    11,202
    Location:
    Sydney
    looks like canberra.
     
  16. s4mmy

    s4mmy Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,221
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I've made a region in Antarctica if anyone wants in.

    sifMoo is my origin ID. :thumbup:
     
  17. 2SHY

    2SHY Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,774
    Location:
    Sydney NSW Australia
    I'm guessing that the French/German/English building packs are not worth it?
     
  18. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,989
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    My first city has sewage spilled all over the place - so much of it that all my water is being pumped dirty now. Can this ever be cleaned up, or is it a case of once it's in the ground, that's it? If I can't clean it up, I feel this entire map will just become one big map of sewerage :(
     
  19. BurningFeetMan

    BurningFeetMan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    9,801
    Location:
    A Place of Tubers
    Maybe Maxis will release DLC superheroes to clean up your shit?
     
  20. BioNiKaL

    BioNiKaL Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,719
    Location:
    Sydney
    Ground pollution will clean up if you throw trees over it.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: