Size of the observable Universe

Discussion in 'Science' started by WarpSpider74, Jan 21, 2009.

1. WarpSpider74

WarpSpider74 Member

I'm wondering if someone can help me with a problem I'm having conceptualising the universe. Before I start; firstly my scientific background is as a biologist, not a physicist - my training in physics is fairly low so I may be missing something in my general knowledge base that a lot of you guys may take for granted. Secondly, I'm an amateur astronomer.

Now, the problem. I was watching some crappy doco on cable in my hotel room in Kalgoorlie that was about the size of the universe. Lots of Sagan references. Lots of repetition of the famous Hubble Ultra Deep Field image. Lots of numbers too big for normal human comprehension. You probably know the type of doco.

Anyways, a couple of numbers were postulated that just don't add up to me, they're both numbers I'm familiar with, but their relation (or lack thereof) hasn't twigged with me before. Firstly, the age of the universe: commonly quoted as 13.7 billion years or thereabouts. No problem. Next, the size of the observable universe: they quoted in the region of 45 billion lightyears. Again, seems plausible from observable evidence, I guess.

Now, how can the universe be so far from edge to edge when the maximum velocity anything (with mass) can travel at is the speed of light? My logic is trying to tell me that with an age of 13.7 billion years, and assuming a start from a singularity and even expansion in all directions, the maximum size of the universe is 27.4 billion lightyears. How can the expansion be faster than the speed of light?

2. Ashpool

Ashpool Member

Ripped from teh wiki
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Observable_universe

3. Arbite

Arbite Member

my brain :wired:

4. Whisper

Whisper Member

I wish somebody could explain what the hell all this means to us simple minded people. :o

5. OP
    OP
    WarpSpider74

WarpSpider74 Member