Skype - Javascript error on Win 10 [Detailed]

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by Davo1111, Aug 29, 2019.

  1. Davo1111

    Davo1111 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    3,018
    Location:
    Sydney
    https://i.imgur.com/hK0gDpY.png

    Currently getting this popup when i boot into windows 10 home. Just appears on the 'desktop' before any programs start.

    Steps to [try and] resolve issue so far

    • Restart - occurs every time.
    • Completely uninstall, reinstall skype windows (got latest build off skype website)
    • Checked old versions of skype are not installed (apps etc)
    • Restart
    • Check startup to see if skype was disabled/enabled. Does not appear
    • Uninstalled Java with Java uninstall tool
    • reinstalled java
    • reboot
    • reinstalled skype (latest)
    • reboot (popup still occurs)
    Comp Specs

    • Lenovo Desktop PC (<3 years old). i7-4xxxx
    • Windows 10, auto updates (reasonable unlimited internet)
    • Parents comp (me: reasonably advanced windows user)
    Any ideas on where to look? any hints? direction?


    ------------

    Java uninstaller: https://www.java.com/en/download/uninstalltool.jsp
    Java installer: (generic) https://www.java.com/en/download/win10.jsp
    Skype installer: https://www.skype.com/en/get-skype/download-skype-for-desktop/
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2019
  2. CAPT-Irrelevant

    CAPT-Irrelevant Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,400
    Location:
    Sydney
    These threads, albeit to do with other applications, suggest it could be to do with a stuck process in TASKMGR. See if you can adapt them as applicable to your skype install. I found them by googling "a javascript error occurred in the main process "skype"".

    https://www.reddit.com/r/discordapp/comments/437n16/a_javascript_error_occurred_in_the_main_process/
    https://stackoverflow.com/questions/50993658/a-javascript-error-occured-in-the-main-process-compass
    https://www.reddit.com/r/Maplestory/comments/9pbaiu/a_javascript_error_occurred_in_the_main_process/
     
  3. Deus_Ex_Machina

    Deus_Ex_Machina Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Location:
    Geelong VIC
    Installed both 32 + 64 bit Java? You need both. If you use the auto installer it may only install the one that it detects as for your OS (i.e. 64).
     
  4. wwwww

    wwwww Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2005
    Messages:
    6,311
    Location:
    Bangkok
    This isn't a Java issue at all. This is a Javascript error from a node.js programmed application, it's completely unrelated to Java (just similar sounding names).
    Go to Start>Run
    regsvr32

    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunOnce

    Find the Skype entries and delete them. This should fix your problem.
     
  5. de_overfiend

    de_overfiend Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2001
    Messages:
    2,495
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    skype issue - seen it when both windows 10 skype dedicated app is installed at the same time the downloaded version of skype from the skype website is installed at the same time

    remove skype completely and reboot and ensure you dont get the error, then reinstall skype from the microsoft store not the webpage

    handy info here: https://windowsreport.com/uninstall-skype-windows-8/
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: