1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Small (as small as possible) DAC amp for small speakers

Discussion in 'PC Audio' started by Umbrella Corp., Aug 25, 2021.

1. Umbrella Corp.

Umbrella Corp. Member

Hi everyone,

I am a complete noob when it comes to audio and what not, I am setting up a macOS work station primarily for learning to code. I have an M1 Macbook Pro, AOC 4K monitor and Caldidgit doc with optical out. I want to get a small desktop amp of some sort to run 2 small THX Logitech speakers and a small powered sub. I know I can just go get a pair of speakers that have everything built in but I just want to try something different.

All I know is class D amps are not good? is this correct, to be honest I don't really care about audio quality that much as long as it doesn't sound like the MacBook speakers. I have a pair of good brand name earphones so, I'll only be using these speakers for YouTube and some music during the day and headphones at night.

So I've been looking at these types of amps, I have a max budget of 250 as I don't want to go overboard, however I am really tempted to get this.

If anyone has any suggestions please let me know what you think, or any other ideas, I'd really appreciate it. Sorry for the long winded post.

TLDR: Have Macbook and speakers want small amp to run 2.1 system, doesn't have to be a banger just better than Macbook speakers.

Cheers.

2. JSmithDTV

JSmithDTV Member

No, not correct at all... depends on brand of D class amp used, implementation etc. Hypex and Purifi based amps are the best outperforming many A/B and A amps.

That said, even many of the cheaper class D amps perform fine for general use... for PC speakers something like this would do the job which uses an Infineon IC and measures quite well for the price range;

http://www.loxjie-audio.com/productshow.asp?id=157

It's got your sub out too;