Small NAS = HP Micro Server

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Stanza, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. mobius.ro

    mobius.ro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You get the replacement PSU yet?.

    HP called me last week and said delivery would be today (the 27th) but nothing so far :upset:
     
  2. g12345567

    g12345567 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2002
    Messages:
    755
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Status shows my microserver landed 3.26 am this morning in Sydney Banksmeadow depot. Although it was schedule for a wednesday 1st delivery, it could be delivered monday or tuesday. Depending on how long it takes clear customs and show up on TNT tracking.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  3. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,947
    Location:
    New Zealand
    1st of august!! :eek::eek: :lol:
    I think you either mean Monday the 30th or Wednesday the 1st :p
     
  4. Jezmad

    Jezmad Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,283
    Location:
    WA
    Crap, I get back from lunch and it's sitting on my desk...Much faster than I was expecting reading other posts here.
     
  5. Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    Yeah mate I got it. Also just note even though the box has this big warning thing that you have to return the faulty part to HP, I e-mailed them and they told me it's a non-returnable part :thumbup: So you can hang on to your faulty one ;)
     
  6. mobius.ro

    mobius.ro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Guess your new one is quiet, hope mine arrives and is the same :p
     
  7. sschen

    sschen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    133
    Guys,

    I am in Perth and my tracking page shows that it is being shipped by a courier called "Expeditors International" that I have never heard of. The tracking page is showing the unit is now at their Welshpool branch. I am guessing this is not the same as TNT?? Other Perth guys that have received their HP Microserver, which courier delivered your unit?

    On another note, I am going to use this purely as a NAS unit to store movies/music/pictures etc. I have a standalone media player that uses SAMBA to stream files directly off my PC, I am going to move the files on the hard drives of my PC to this NAS unit so the media player will then stream the files directly off this NAS unit.

    I will need to start thinking of getting hard disks soon. I am not posting this in the owners thread yet since I haven't received the unit yet. A friend who has got his unit recently said it is best not to get the WD Green drives as they are no good for RAID? He is using the Hitachi 5K3000 2TB drives from Scorptec. Is this suitable for my purpose? Also, is the stock 1GB ECC RAM enough, bearing in mind I am only using this unit for streaming duties.
    TIA! :)
     
  8. dav3

    dav3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2001
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    Adelaide
    expeditors international are the people who bring it into the country, once it clears customs TNT deliver it to your door. you can eventually use your shipment number as a tracking reference number on the TNT site
     
  9. Modafroman

    Modafroman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    10,057
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Are these things still available? Or did I miss the boat? :(
     
  10. doodz

    doodz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,155
    Location:
    Sydney
    Missed the boat moda..! Check ebay and pay inflated prices.
     
  11. mikehol

    mikehol Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    Wondering that is a sign of using Windows for too long :)
    A small fraction of 1GB is enough to run the NAS. The rest will be used for disk caching. I added more RAM solely for running VMware.
     
  12. doodz

    doodz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,155
    Location:
    Sydney
    If you are running ZFS. 8GB is recommended. I paid $140 delivered for my RAM from USA. ECC Ram too!
     
  13. honam_gwj

    honam_gwj Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2001
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    perth
    Mine got delivered by foxline. Ordered on the 17th. Delivered on the 24th.
     
  14. mikehol

    mikehol Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    For an enterprise server with hundreds of clients? How many TPS is that rated for?
    For a SOHO server, that would be a joke.
     
  15. Dropbear

    Dropbear Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,720
    Location:
    Brisbane
    No. ZFS is very RAM hungry. If you want decent performance you need to throw RAM at it.
     
  16. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,947
    Location:
    New Zealand
    My ZFS file Server hardly uses 1 GB??? and I've given it 4GB...
     
  17. mikehol

    mikehol Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    Messages:
    58
    I admit to not having used ZFS. Surely you are not saying it thrashes (swapping) with 1GB!?
    What do you mean by decent? With what load?
    A simple RAID1 would be capable of saturating the 100Mb ethernet link.
    If ZFS is slower than the hard drive, something is seriously wrong.
    We are talking about a home or small office system, not an airline reservations server. Its like one guy streaming pr0n while torrenting a season of Battlestar Galactica.

    I said the software needs not much for instruction and stack. The rest will be disk caching, which I'd have thought not terribly important in this context.
    If you are talking about ZFS on Solaris (ZFS is not an OS), then 1Gb is the recommended minimum. If it was a Microsoft product, you'd double that, but it isn't.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  18. oli

    oli Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    7,268
    Location:
    The Internet
    That depends. Is it a Virgin Blue airline reservations server? ;)
     
  19. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,947
    Location:
    New Zealand

    It is a Solaris Based ZFS server. :thumbup:
     
  20. simmoi

    simmoi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2001
    Messages:
    32
    Got mine on friday after ordering on 18/5. Very happy :), definitely want another one.

    newegg currently have these on special @ 299.00, i believe there is a promo code for 15% off. should work out to be about $240. + roughly $80 shipping to AUS.. worthwhile IMO
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: