1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

Small NAS = HP Micro Server

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Stanza, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. gbh

    gbh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,175
    Location:
    Sydney
    I ordered form penta a week ago and they are stuffing me around. Guaranteed me I could pick up today, I went in and now they reckon Monday.
    Doing that all week.
    Don't waste your time.
     
  2. Brett

    Brett Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,940
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    If you don't need to adjust LVM stuff just do a text mode install.
     
  3. kambo_rambo

    kambo_rambo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    999
    Location:
    Adelaide
    That was close i almost ordered from them
     
  4. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    I reckon warcom would be the best place to order from. I ordered and wasn't messed around with.

    At least warcom is upfront about having no stock and there being a month wait.
     
  5. FalconGT

    FalconGT Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    1,541
    Location:
    Ballina
    running f15 fine ... KDE live
     
  6. hippyhippy

    hippyhippy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    8,835
    Location:
    Sydney
    What pcie cards are people using for extra Sata ports?
     
  7. bobrandom

    bobrandom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    988
    IBM br10i with IT firmware
     
  8. hippyhippy

    hippyhippy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    8,835
    Location:
    Sydney
    Should rephrase. What pcie 1x card are people using?
     
  9. MagyaR

    MagyaR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,767
    Location:
    Melb
    I've never set up one of these little servers up before and I think it's time to migrate from external caddy storage to a NAS. If I was to get one of these HPs with say four 2tb drives, what would be the simplest way to start off with? OS and RAID wise? I have a lot of data which needs to be kept safe so that's a must. Thanks guys.
     
  10. Dimtar

    Dimtar Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,314
    Location:
    Coffs Harbour
    Depends on your budget I guess, I would recommend UNRAID though.
     
  11. NickES

    NickES Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Brisbane
    There should still be a few stores with stock in their own warehouse. We still have a few dozen microserver left in our warehouse.
     
  12. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    (removed by me)
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
  13. NickES

    NickES Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yep, that'd be the way to go. Get 4 x 2TB drives (Something like http://www.megabuy.com.au/hp-prolia...am-4-x-2tb-1-x-250gb-hdd-raid-01-p271083.html) for your main storage and put the 250GB drive that comes with the Microserver into the 5.25" bay with something like http://www.megabuy.com.au/scythe-sc...s-to-be-mounted-perfectly-in-the-p211503.html if you want to run the OS from it, or you can run the OS from a USB stick. If you want to run RAID 0 or 1 you can do that natively on the microserver but if you want what's effectively RAID 5 you either need a RAID card or use the Software RAID in FreeNAS, but you'll need to make sure you have enough RAM for it to work well.

    I've got a couple of microservers with FreeNAS and 5 x 2TB drives in it and running the FreeNAS OS from the USB. Works quite well.
     
  14. jutty

    jutty Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2001
    Messages:
    307
    Location:
    Perth
    Also depends on what sort of read/write speeds your after. I am running unraid and reads are nice and quick but writes not so but I don't care about that as it's just for blu-ray storage media playback. I have 5 * 3tb drives and a 1.5tb drive gives me 13.5Tb of protected storage.
     
  15. MagyaR

    MagyaR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,767
    Location:
    Melb
    Well either way I would need a few hdds and the Proliants $ is too good to miss out on.

    Sounds like a plan!

    Mate keeps mentioning raid 6 as 5 is crap.. I really need to brush up on the types of raid.
     
  16. HUMMER

    HUMMER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    sydney
    speed wise raid 5 and 6 is slower than say raid 0. also with raid 5 you lose one drive. sa you have 6x 3TB drives. your total storage volume is 15TB because the 3TB is for parity. in raid 6 you lose 2 drives. so in the same scenario you lose 6TB for parity.

    the upside for raid 5 is you can lose one drive and still be able to replace (then rebuild the array) with no problems. in raid 6 you can lose two drives and you can still rebuild the array.

    the crap part that people dont like about raid 5 and 6 is that you lose a drive or drives because parity. do these people think that parity does not take up space?
     
  17. Aetherone

    Aetherone Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Messages:
    8,932
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    In other words, R5 and R6 give you most of the read speed of R0 but with much greater potential reliability.
     
  18. HUMMER

    HUMMER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    sydney
    well raid 0 is still faster as it does not have to write any parity whereas raid 5 and 6 does. upside to raid 5 and 6 is there is redundancy.

    many dont even consider raid 0 as raid in the true sense of the word anyway.

    Redundant Array of Idependent Disk

    or

    Redundant Array of Iexpensive Disk

    I tend to lean on the first acronymn as there is nothng inexpensive about multiterabyte SCSI drives.

    that focus i was making however is with RAID 0 there really is no redundandy whatsoever. if a drive dies. you lose all your data.
     
  19. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,969
    thought it was Internal Disk
     
  20. HUMMER

    HUMMER Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    8,786
    Location:
    sydney
    never seen it referred it as that. what if they where external array? then what? :p
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: