1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

Small NAS = HP Micro Server

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Stanza, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Tali

    Tali Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Code:
    taliesin@minja:~$ sudo smartctl -A /dev/sda|grep Temperature
    194 Temperature_Celsius     0x0002   064   064   000    Old_age   Always       -       26 (Lifetime Min/Max 16/30)
    taliesin@minja:~$ sudo smartctl -A /dev/sdb|grep Temperature
    194 Temperature_Celsius     0x0002   064   064   000    Old_age   Always       -       26 (Lifetime Min/Max 18/30)
    taliesin@minja:~$ sudo smartctl -A /dev/sdc|grep Temperature
    194 Temperature_Celsius     0x0002   064   064   000    Old_age   Always       -       26 (Lifetime Min/Max 17/28)
    taliesin@minja:~$ sudo smartctl -A /dev/sdd|grep Temperature
    194 Temperature_Celsius     0x0002   064   064   000    Old_age   Always       -       26 (Lifetime Min/Max 17/28)
    taliesin@minja:~$ sudo smartctl -A /dev/sde|grep Temperature
    194 Temperature_Celsius     0x0002   064   064   000    Old_age   Always       -       31 (Lifetime Min/Max 17/35)
    taliesin@minja:~$ sudo smartctl -A /dev/sdf|grep Temperature
    194 Temperature_Celsius     0x0002   064   064   000    Old_age   Always       -       30 (Lifetime Min/Max 17/34)
    6x2TB Samsung's in there, non-green.

    There's two in the ODD area just sitting on each other, still working out a decent braket (may need to make one) to give them a slight gap to get airflow between.
     
  2. brembo

    brembo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,785
    Location:
    Sydney
    Full compliment of HDD's, ATi 5450, 4gb ddr3, bios update... check

    Ahh crap, forgot the drive bracket and a sata cable!
     
  3. Syslink

    Syslink Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    nsw
    Anyone finding that their 4 pin power molex is too short for the 5th bay? Looks like I'll need to get an extension ....
     
  4. Matt P

    Matt P Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    5,486
    Location:
    Syd-elaide
    i just installed

    1 x HIS 5450 512mb
    1 x 2tb wd hdd
    4gb kingston ram
    pinnacle pci twin dvb-t tuner

    and windows 7 home premium

    Didn't do a bios update... do i have to?
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2011
  5. Domokun

    Domokun Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,691
    Anyway, I upgraded the RAM to 4GB of non-ECC DDR3 1333MHz and installed two Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB HDDs. Solaris looked too complicated for me, so I am going to try FreeNAS again. Does anyone know if FreeNAS does RAM/HDD checks before creating the RAID configuration?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 15, 2011
  6. brembo

    brembo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,785
    Location:
    Sydney
    The bios update was to enable the ODD port to run full speed for HDD's. If you're just using the drive bays and the ODD with an optical drive there's no need :)
     
  7. silenthunter

    silenthunter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,634
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Has anyone got the ATI 5430 running under ubuntu/xbmc live? I'm having trouble finding drivers that work.
     
  8. Soarer GT

    Soarer GT Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    2,884
    Location:
    Melbourne
    if you have 5 drives in there as a raid set, it will be as fast as your slowest drive... Which might be slow because of the speed of the ODD sata port.
     
  9. mobius.ro

    mobius.ro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Just ordered my 5.25 to 3.5 HDD adapter, $10 off ebay :)

    Now i just need to goto MSY monday, get a VGA cable and another 2TB HDD.
     
  10. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,952
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    For anyone interested, while I'm getting ~250-270MB/s reads with 4x Seagate Greens in RAID5, my brother is getting 350-370MB/s using WD Greens. Both configured exactly the same way. Fair difference.
     
  11. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    And both purely academic since both are limited by giga-ethernet.

    My 4x1tb greens in raid 5 are good for about 225meg per sec (but they the old 4 platter versions, 3 year old drives) Still plenty fast enough
     
  12. blue_panther9_9

    blue_panther9_9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    I copied and paste 1Gb movie from OS HDD to 3HDD seagate with software Raid5. it took me <5sec 150MB/s - 400MB/s.


    I copied 1GB file from my home pc to server software RAID5 using wireless N 300mbps both at >80% signal strength, I got 2.5-3 MB/s. Is this the right speed?

    I copied file from 1GB from my server using wireless N 300mbps >80% strength to my PC, I got 1.10MB/s. Is this also the right speed?


    they are both showing as full strength wifi on windows tray icon.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2011
  13. OP
    OP
    Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,903
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Guys, the latest bios update from HP is no different to the one it comes shipped with.

    They only thing HP changed was to add a warning message if you enable the write back cache on the HDD's

    ===

    The other bios people are talking about, is a russian persons hack to the original HP bios to enable the on motherboard sata ports (not the minisas port that connects to the drive cage) speed to be increased.

    If you have either no need for this speed increase, or are not yet using the motherboards sata port to connect a HDD.. then you can leave the bios @ version dated 09/30/2010 with no worries.:thumbup:
     
  14. Jimbo123

    Jimbo123 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Is this the bios that allows the 'ODD', or 'is it the spare sata port it uses' to operate at full speed ?

    Thanks,

    Jim.....

    EDIT: There also 2 batch files in that zip,.. are there instructions anywhere ? does the order of rom updates matter ? Guess this is something you want finer details on before taking the jump ?

    EDIT2: Question got answered while I was typing it :( Thanks Stanza.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2011
  15. Syslink

    Syslink Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    nsw
    The HP ROM should automatically kick off on boot, after its complete you manually kick off the second update. I followed these instructions with no issues: http://www.avforums.com/forums/networking-nas/1429720-tims-7-24tb-tiddler-unraid-nas.html
     
  16. blue_panther9_9

    blue_panther9_9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    103
  17. Jimbo123

    Jimbo123 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Messages:
    70
  18. akashra

    akashra Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,952
    Location:
    Melbourne, AU
    With the amount of networking gear he's got on his desk, I'm sure he'll have something figured out for either trunking or 10GbE pretty soon :p

    Edit: I spoke too soon. He's already got the fibre interfaces in the switches and cards sitting there.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2011
  19. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,947
    Location:
    At a desk
    There's a different splash screen too! :D
     
  20. rugger

    rugger Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    715
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    Lol, why did I know someone was going to say 10gbit :)

    Of course ... you end up with:

    a) $200 computer
    b) $600 network card
    c) $10000 network switch

    ALL GOOD FUN :lol:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: