1. Check out OCAU's review of the SpaceX Starlink satellite internet service!
    Dismiss Notice

Small NAS = HP Micro Server

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Stanza, Sep 21, 2010.

  1. Brutus the III

    Brutus the III Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    438
    Location:
    Nth Adelaide or Elizabeth
    Really, what integrity problems?
     
  2. shift

    shift Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,942
    Location:
    Hillcrest, Logan
    Is it exactly 10 hours out?
     
  3. numbnuts

    numbnuts Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    I had this problem with freenas resetting the clock in the bios when I was trying to get my nas to power on by RTC. I don't know how or why it does it - but it does. I ended up working out how much it was out by and adjusting my boot up time in the bios accordingly.
     
  4. Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    It's not a "problem". The BIOS should be set to UTC... I had this argument with a Windows zealot once. :lol:
     
  5. Domokun

    Domokun Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,691
    Why is it set to UTC even though I have set it to be the Sydney time zone?

    Assumptions were correct, the time was -10 hours.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2011
  6. Twizzly

    Twizzly Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    711
    Location:
    Adelaide
    that eBay seller has relisted...again?
    could he have 10??
    and he's sold one for an unspecified price..
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Stanza

    Stanza Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,903
    Location:
    Adelaide

    Thats fine, just leave it set to UTC and freenas time will always be correct everytime you reboot:thumbup:
     
  8. Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    The argument I made against my friend was... if you have your BIOS set to UTC and then if you set your location in your (smart) OS, it will add the appropriate offset and account for DST, etc.

    You can then move anywhere in the world in any amount of time you want and so long as you keep your timezone/location set in the OS properly, your BIOS clock will never have to change.

    Taking this example to an unrealistic extreme - you could have two OSes, one for when you are in Sydney and one for when you are in Greenland... and your BIOS clock will not need to be touched and thus always display the "correct" time.

    If you start having to change the BIOS clock all the time then unless the other OSes or programs or whatever are aware that you're not running in UTC, it would get reset/changed.

    So yeah it's basically a simple and "smart" way to do things. Unfortunately since Windows is broken by its need to be compatible with it's older, much more broken self, it still does stupid stuff by default :thumbdn:

    FWIW I have Windows set up to keep the BIOS set to UTC. :thumbup: Pretty sure all *nix distros will take the BIOS as being in UTC by default, or set it for you when you set the time appropriately.
     
  9. ThunderbirdMoz

    ThunderbirdMoz Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,326
    Location:
    Queensaldn
    I'm not sure about what ram to get. Should I get 2x 2gb

    or 1x4gb and use the existing ram in the 2nd slot for 5gb?
     
  10. lonewolf1983

    lonewolf1983 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    4,759
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    just finished installing mine, all went together pretty nicely actually, happy with the build quality and noise level.

    gigabyte 5450HD
    kingston 4GB ram
    2x 2TB hitachi hdd's in RAID1
    pioneer blu-ray burner

    Win7 64bit is installing now
     
  11. bolex17

    bolex17 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,244
    Location:
    Adelaide, 5010
    Damnit I didn't check my balance and my order got rejected farkkk!.

    Anyone selling one or know where is the cheapest place to get one? :wired:
     
  12. Snuffy22

    Snuffy22 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Brisbane
    hahahahahahahahahaha
    sorry.... but yeah... read thread
     
  13. silenthunter

    silenthunter Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,634
    Location:
    Amsterdam, Netherlands
    Have people received their orders from MegaBuy that were purchased last Monday? I got a shipped notification on Thursday but it still hasn't arrived. I'm hoping it's not the same sort of deal as Dessy in which it'll show shipped even if thats not the case.
     
  14. Kaddude

    Kaddude Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Yes, I ordered Monday and received Thursday.
     
  15. Naed

    Naed Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    I ordered at 4.58pm on Monday from MB paying with cc. I received mine from couriers please yesterday at lunchtime. I'd suggest calling MB and asking for the consignment number; that's what I did yesterday.
     
  16. Dilbery

    Dilbery Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    Ordered Monday, got it yesterday....

    Had to meet the Courier from couriers please somewhere yesterday as he wasn't going anywhere near me (although he was 10km away go figure?)

    I'ma be emailing Couriers please/ megabuy for a refund on postage me thinks.
     
  17. ^catalyst

    ^catalyst Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,984
    Location:
    melbourne
    Yeah Couriers Please isn't very good. I ordered something that they delivered and I inadvertently put the wrong suburb on it. Called up straight away, waited for 20 mins spoke to some noob who said he'd call back.

    He didn't.

    Called the next day, another 20mins and they said they'd talk to the drivers and get it to the depot then back out to me.

    They didn't.

    Got a call from retailer informing me they had received the goods back to their dispatch.

    Had to pay another $10 to have it redelivered.

    So, I won't be using them any time soon if I can avoid.
     
  18. Mungoman45

    Mungoman45 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    713
    Location:
    QLD
    Ditto. 3 came into my department Thursday before lunch. 2 of mine (one for a friend) which were on 1 order, and my manager ordered a 2nd one on the same day, separate order and we both received them in the same delivery. Coordinator placed an order a few hours later than us by Direct Deposit, and it's still apparently on it's way...
     
  19. Twizzly

    Twizzly Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    711
    Location:
    Adelaide
    damn couriers please is slow, the irony of it all is that my RAM from crucial, was is going to get here in the faster than the microserver =T
     
  20. dukkie

    dukkie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,750
    Location:
    Melbourne
    My unit came last night after ordering on Monday last week.

    Happy overall with the unit, just trying to figure out what I'm going to do.. Can anyone recommend a cheap sata3 raid card or even host card?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: