1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Smallest case for ITX-APU setup

Discussion in 'Portable & Small Form Factor' started by Slicer, May 2, 2022.

  1. Slicer

    Slicer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Building a plex ITX APU linux setup and looking for the smallest possible case.

    Im in love with the Inwin Chopin but I really need the 200w version which I can't seem to find stock of anywhere in AU.

    Anyone aware of something similar? Sub 5l with a PSU included, or one that supports a PSU that I can buy economically. All the ATX PSU supported variants are 11+L
     
  2. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,211
    Location:
    Coburg, Melbourne
    the chopin is about as good as it gets. what could you possibly be cramming into it that needs more than 150w?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Slicer

    Slicer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    150w ok for a 7700k/16g/z270-itx ?
     
  4. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,211
    Location:
    Coburg, Melbourne
    more than enough, assuming youre running at stock speeds. its not what i'd put in a chopin, because the 7700k's unlocked multiplier and Z series OC support will be wasted, and the graphics suck. best case is to drop something like a ryzen 5600G into one (although AM4 ITX boards are frustratingly scarce at the moment).
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Slicer

    Slicer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Fair call. Mainly looking to move on from my hefty 3770k/1080ti hw transcoding plex server and use a NAS/SFF UHD630 for some basic sub 1080p HW transcodes while re-purposing old hardware.
     
  6. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,771
    Location:
    Nailsworth SA
    I've been running a Plex server with (occasional) hardware transcoding on a lowly Kaby Lake Celeron with HD 610 (G3950) for some years now - it's been plenty. I don't think there's any difference in decoding / Quick Sync between HD 610, HD 630, and UHD 630.

    It can easily do 3 simultaneous 4K H265-> 1080p H264 + SDR tonemapping transcodes, and I've never found the limit on the number of simultaneous 1080 H264 -> whatever transcodes (but that's personal and family use, I'm not running neighbourhood Netflix here)
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Slicer

    Slicer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    185
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Perfect! Thanks for the reassurance theSeekerr and thanks for the power advice sanjay
     
  8. sanjay

    sanjay Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    16,211
    Location:
    Coburg, Melbourne
    yeah i probably shouldnt assume what people are using their little rigs for haha. it'll be perfectly fine for that, although id probably still sell it (at a premium) to someone who's interested in that era of stuff (and theres a lot of people who are), and still go to AM4 for the better GPU performance.
     
  9. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    3,011
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    Last edited: May 8, 2022
    OCMunkee likes this.
  10. lennie

    lennie Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,076
    Location:
    Mary Valley
    I used one of these a couple years back for my htpc/plex server with an athlon 3000g. It works, it's tiny. Grandkids play all kinds of games on it. It does get warm when working hard. I put a couple 40mm fans in the sides. Venting the top might be needed if you were using a higher tdp chip.


    Streacom f1:

    https://www.scorptec.com.au/product/cases/mini-itx/76952-st-f1cb-ws-evo
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2022

Share This Page

Advertisement: