Smart Bulb brands + usage

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by Primüs, Jan 9, 2020.

  1. Primüs

    Primüs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    3,398
    Location:
    CFS
    Hi Forum,

    Not sure if this belongs here or in Lifestyle but more electronics related...

    Just bought a new house. The whole house is fitted with the 5/6 " ceiling can downlight thingies. They are decent Clipsal LED's with the colour selector switch on the light itself (if you pull it out, between warm, cool, and cooler) but im looking to replace them all with smart bulbs, full RGB preferred.

    The phillips hue ones are stupid expensive - does anyone have a recommendation of a decent brand that is compatible with Google Home - either hub or hubless at a reasonable cost? Will start with a room or 2 but ultimately I think there is 20 or so bulbs around the whole house that I will eventually convert.


    I'm also curious - how do you all go with leaving the light switches on and let it all be assistant enabled? Do you often forget and turn them off at the switch? I'm thinking in future of maybe updating the switches too but not sure yet.

    Thanks.
     
  2. ir0nhide

    ir0nhide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,298
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I've recently gone through this process and ended up on Brilliant bulbs (through Officeworks). They are comparatively cheap and integration is easy since they're wifi rather than zigbee (so they don't need a hub). The downside is that they are wifi and 2.4ghz only so care should be taken regarding the number of wifi clients on your network.

    In my case I can set up a separate 802.11n SSID specifically for IoT stuff and have all my other clients on 802.11ac but that's harder on consumer WAPs.

    I quickly learned not to turn the light switches off and ask Google to do everything for me. Google Home routines are also decent and I'm moving into getting more automation with Home Assistant and IFTTT.
     
    Dilbery likes this.
  3. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Frankston
    Maybe look at a smart switch at the wall.
     
    Dilbery likes this.
  4. Dilbery

    Dilbery Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,201
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    I have a few smart bulbs (TP-Link Kasa, Arlec, Yeelights and one other that I can't remember) and the other week I got a Phillips Hue starter pack on sale from JB for $28 (had the home bridge, and two globes). Fast forward two weeks and I've replaced all my other globes with Hues, they just work better and quicker than the other brands I've used, I've found the wifi globes take a bit longer to turn on than the Zigbee globes do. I've even added motion sensors and dimmer switches into the mix. Just wait around until there are sales on, I've got things like the light bars for around 50% as well.

    That being said, they are just Zigbee devices so you could get "knock offs" or Ikea lights and they may have the same experience

    https://www.lectory.com.au/7W-Nue-S...eless-WiFi-Control-Hue-Echo-Alexa-Google-Home
    https://www.ikea.com/au/en/catalog/categories/departments/home_electronics/36812/

    In regards to the switches being on, as I'm in a rental I've basically taped up all the lights that have hue globes in them. I've got a hue dimmer switch in rooms where guests can use that to turn on the lights if they don't want to use the Alexa.
     
  5. pantner

    pantner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,239
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    I have the following smart switches.
    https://www.amazon.com.au/Approved-...l/dp/B078M49TZ4/ref=sr_1_1?crid=1858MFWJIS70Y

    You need an electrician to install them, but i find them much better over the globes.
    As you said, you don't have the problem of switching off the smart globe. You can use both the "smart" commands (app/voice) or the actual wall switch.

    With those devices you do need their own "hub" to control them.

    I use mine with Alexa and that works quite well.
     
  6. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Frankston
    how do you rate these? I was considering getting a few
     
  7. pantner

    pantner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,239
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    i don't have any problems with them. They do need to be powered all the time, so if you have a normal wall switch, you'll need an extra wire run and all those sorts of things.

    As i said, works well with my Alexa. The light-up switches are nice in the dark, but it's a little trickier hitting them by feel as the front is completely smooth.
     
    darknebula likes this.
  8. wraith666

    wraith666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,680
    Location:
    QLD
    What's the power consumption like given they are technically on all the time?
     
  9. pantner

    pantner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,239
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    TBH i have no idea. It doesn't seem to be documented.

    I would imaging, about the same as a Phillips Hue or similar, as they would use a lot of the same hardware. Maybe slightly more cause of the LED(s) for the switch.
     
  10. mtma

    mtma Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,240
    Dim LED's only require some milliwatts so the switch doesn't have to contribute much energy use due to a led in it.

    The power use can vary due to inherent efficiency differences, and also WiFi is inherently more heavyweight than Zigbee. For example it seems the Wifi V1 Yeelight apparently draws 1.2W, versus 0.3-0.4 for Hues.

    Looking at this summary for example, it seems like the LiFX bulb has the closest consumption to the boring bulb, suggesting markedly lower standby power in relative terms. Though the details on the reviews are behind a paywall so not sure whether they adjusted the on-brightnesses in the summary.
    https://www.choice.com.au/home-impr...articles/how-much-do-smart-lights-cost-to-run
     
  11. ir0nhide

    ir0nhide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,298
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I have quite a few wifi-connected 'smart' things and haven't really noticed much of an increase in the background power draw in the house. TBH I suspect it's bugger all (maybe a couple of watts extra for everything) so inconsequential in the grand scheme of things. Same could be said for inline switches like the ones linked above.
     
  12. ir0nhide

    ir0nhide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,298
    Location:
    Adelaide
    oooooo they really got you there hahah! I can understand why though; Hue is the gold standard and that starter pack is bloody cheap.
     
    Dilbery likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: