So I want to get another Cat

Discussion in 'Pets & Animals' started by lolpigs, Dec 7, 2013.

1. lolpigs

lolpigs Member

Hi Everyone

A few months ago we rescued a 7 month old kitten from the RSPCA Daisy. She is just adorable and I really would like to get her a cat for company.

I don't want however her to stop wanting our attention and soely bond with the other cat, does this happen with cats? I'm new to them, and it certainly happens with other animals.

Secondly is it best to get a younger cat say around 7-8 months, like her, and to get the same sex? (she is desexed so the new one will be too).

Do I need 2 litter trays etc? I am building an outdoor enclosure for them too accessible from the house via a cat flap as they will both be totally indoors

Thanks for the help

2. OP
    OP
    lolpigs

lolpigs Member

3. El Nermo Diablo

El Nermo Diablo Member

Well done for adopting a kitten, we've adopted three so far over years :thumbup:

We found generally introducing cats to each other there is always a little rivalry, as the old cat will see this new one as an imposter. Its generally a good idea to keep them a bit separated to begin with, then gradually introduce them.

Putting the new cat in a cage/carrier and place it in the older cats area, get a bit of an idea how they go.

I found its best to get them round the same age, especially young, they tend to bond quicker. Its harder to introduce a kitten to an old cat and vice versa. in saying that, at that age you shouldnt have a big drama introducing a slightly younger cat.

Two litter trays is best, though we have had both cats using the same without drama.

I built a similar enclosure outside for ours. They have a run down the entire side of the house 2 metres x 20 metres. I made a gate access and topped the fenceline with a cable/mesh combination to stop them jumping it. I also built a weatherproof cat house and ladder to access the window sill.

Thats where our cats stay at night, not out wandering around.