Software for dashcam editing and other

Discussion in 'Graphic Design & Digital Art' started by GTR27, Apr 27, 2017.

1. GTR27

GTR27 Member

Currently doing a trip around California and have loads of dashcam footage to draw from. I'd like to merge all the 3 min clips together and dub music or a map over certain parts so people can see where we were and match music to the scenes.

I'm guessing I might need multiple bits of software, but what's the best free stuff (if any) or cheap (<$100 total) software so I can do this and other editing features?

I'm a noob at editing but learn quickly and have a decent technical grasp of computers.

Help greatly appreciated

Last edited: Apr 27, 2017
  2. mareke

mareke Member

I've used a program called VideoReDo for years to cut sections out of video and join the remainder. It's not free (mine was though). I've mainly used it to remove ads from TV programs I've recorded and join the remainder together but I've also used it to edit dash cam video. It wouldn't do everything you require but it would trim your dash cam video.

http://www.videoredo.com/en/

3. GumbyNoTalent

GumbyNoTalent Member

4. OP
    OP
    GTR27

GTR27 Member

Thanks for the suggestions. I'll have a quick squiz at some to see what they each do. Can google obviously, but more so after actual user experience

5. Ck21

Ck21 Member

To join all the 3min files into 1 large one, i use ffmpeg.

A few ways to do it (according to the ffmpeg manual, i found the easiest way was to use the method with an input list), i accidently deleted the batch file i created for it but still have my input list, which will help if you decide to google the how-method with ffmpeg.

using the input list method; literally call it input.txt
    Code:
    file 006.mp4
    file 007.mp4
    file 008.mp4
    file 009.mp4
    file 010.mp4
    file 011.mp4
    file 012.mp4
    file 013.mp4
    file 014.mp4
    file 015.mp4
    file 016.mp4
    file 017.mp4
    file 018.mp4
    file 019.mp4