[SOLVED] Can't connect to Samba share

Discussion in 'Apple Desktop Hardware/Software' started by GooSE, Jul 22, 2011.

1. GooSE

GooSE New Member

Before we start I must admit that I'm quite new to Macs, but I'm fairly sure that it's not something simple that I've overlooked.

Basically, I have a FreeBSD server that runs Samba to share files over the network using SMB. At the moment there are two shares; "videos" which allows guest access and "tank" which requires a username and password.

Accessing both of these shares from Windows PCs, and also from my Android phone, is fine. The problem is accessing them from my MacBook Pro (running OSX 10.6.8). I can access "videos" fine (as a guest) but I cannot access the password protected "tank" share.

I've tried accessing the share through finder (Go -> Connect to Server -> smb://10.0.0.10/tank) and while it prompts me for my username and password, no matter what it says "invalid username or password".

I've also tried accessing the share from the command line (mount_smbfs //myusername:mypassword@10.0.0.10/tank /blah/blah) where I get "mount_smbfs: mount error: /blah/blah: Authentication error.

I'd rather not resort to setting up NFS or AFP on the server, as that simply side-steps the problem rather than fixing it.

So... Does anyone have any ideas?

Last edited: Jul 27, 2011
  2. luztra

luztra Member

3. OP
    OP
    GooSE

GooSE New Member

Thanks for the post, but it is essentially unrelated to my issue. I'm trying to access a Samba share from a Mac, not trying to access a Samba share that's on a Mac.

4. BAK

BAK Member

Like you I'm quite new to Macs, but one thing that springs to mind. Specify the domain the username belongs to - in this case it may be the hostname of the BSD box. So when typing in your username, it would be:

hostname\username

5. bugayev

bugayev Whammy!

That could well be it.

What are the logs on your BSD box showing - is the mac sending the correct credentials?

6. OP
    OP
    GooSE