[Solved] SSD AHCI Mode.

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by gruntLOL, Jun 29, 2012.

  1. gruntLOL

    gruntLOL Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,073
    Location:
    Adelaide
    So I've been having some weird BSOD's with Diablo 3 and I've heard that some of the problems may be associated with older firmware for my SSD. Anyway I followed a tutorial to flash it and it said that the SSD had to be in AHCI mode. As I was unaware that it needed this was the better of the two modes when I installed the SSD it was done under the default of IDE. Anyway I flashed the drive successfully but then it wouldn't boot (I got super worried!). My friend told me I had to swap it back to IDE and then it worked just fine.

    Anyway he has said AHCI is the better of the two modes is there a way to change this without having to format and reinstall the OS? (If that's the only way I won't bother). But I've been told AHCI really is the way to go.

    Oh btw I have a vertex3 and will am running 2.22 firmware on SATA3.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2012
  2. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18,141
    Location:
    Canberra
  3. OP
    OP
    gruntLOL

    gruntLOL Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,073
    Location:
    Adelaide
    It is both an Intel driver for the SSD and an i5, do you mean intel chipset for CPU or the driver for the SSD? Either way I think mine is both.
     
  4. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18,141
    Location:
    Canberra
    Intel Chipset.

    You're fine.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    gruntLOL

    gruntLOL Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,073
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Done, works fine hopefully everything I have done will fix stability issues. D drive took a while to appear which scared me a little but I think it was installing device drivers for all the drives.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: