Some beginner server/database questions

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by jars121, Apr 2, 2015.

1. jars121

jars121 Member

G'day everyone,

I'm currently working through the technical requirements of a project I'm working on. I have little to no experience with servers, and only very minimal SQL experience with databases. Please bear with me :)

I'm designing and developing a touchscreen information system. In a hypothetical 'installation', a client may have 50+ of these touchscreen systems installed. Each 'installation' would have a server, with the following primary functions:

1. Host a database with all the required data for populating the touchscreen information systems
    2. A filesystem for serving all the required scripts and media for the touchscreen information systems (photos and videos)

I will store the image/video file addresses in the database, rather than storing them directly in the DB as BLOBs.

I would have a DDNS service established, as well as IP Address Management software installed on the server, to enable remote DB management.

In theory, each of the touchscreen systems would run an instance of a script which is hosted by the central server. All touchscreen systems would run the same script, but with local properties/configuration.

Both the touchscreen computers and the server will be running a Linux distro.

Does this system layout make sense? For single installations in the past, I've contained all data management and hosting to the touchscreen computer, but for larger deployments, I'd rather have the scripts and media housed centrally, to make updates/upgrades/etc. more simple.

If the above does make sense, do I need to look into hardcore servers, or can a fairly basic server do the job? I'm envisioning a tower server, with a basic RAID 1 setup and plenty of RAM.