1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Some new Aus made gadgets for Vista

Discussion in 'Programming & Software Development' started by marc@islayer, Feb 28, 2007.

  1. marc@islayer

    marc@islayer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    A friend and I have recently built some Vista Gadgets (we've done widgets before, but this is our first attempt at something for Vista).

    There's 9 in total. Hope you all like them. Comments/suggestions welcome. Please note that we realise on some machines the wireless isn't always accurate... it's looking like this is a Vista Sidebar issue as we're just using a standard function to get the info.

    More info here: http://www.islayer.com/blog/?p=129

    Blaqua styled gadgets

    [​IMG]

    iStat combo - Monitor CPU and memory usage from one small gadget. Supports up to 16 CPUs/cores.
    iStat cpu - Monitor CPU usage. Supports up to 16 cpus/cores.
    iStat memory - Monitor memory usage.
    iStat wireless - Monitor wireless signal strength.
    iStat battery - Monitor battery usage.


    Gauge styled gadgets

    [​IMG]

    CPU Gauge - Monitor CPU usage. Supports up to 16 cpus/cores.
    Memory Gauge - Monitor memory usage.
    Wireless Gauge - Monitor wireless signal strength.
    Battery Gauge - Monitor battery usage.

    We also probably have a few more we'll release, like a HD monitor etc.

    EDIT: Here's the link to the gadgets on live.com. :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2007
  2. th3_hawk

    th3_hawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,605
    Location:
    Kilsyth 3137
    Now they are some swish looking gadgets :)

    Good work!

    Will have to look closer when I get home, looks like I will be using a few of those :D
     
  3. Abercrombi3

    Abercrombi3 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    dass
    arn't those gouges ripoffs from the konflabulator gallery? are you the original creator :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
     
  4. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    162,460
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I can see big things happening with the Vista sidebar and previous third party add-ons that were required with XP. Looking forward to it.
     
  5. Taceo Corpus

    Taceo Corpus Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    3,253
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Awesome! Now all you need to do is a network activity monitor. :) It's much better than the bog standard microsoft cpu/ram monitor. Great job. :thumbup:
     
  6. OP
    OP
    marc@islayer

    marc@islayer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    We're the guys who did those, and the iStat Dashboard widgets (and a few others).
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2007
  7. Elyzion

    Elyzion Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,484
    Location:
    Taiwan (The Country)
    How much to make some Web Icons for me? about 6.
     
  8. Abercrombi3

    Abercrombi3 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2006
    Messages:
    613
    Location:
    dass
    omfg nice work!!! love them, there my fav.!! :D :) awww got all excited, thought there were more widgets for konflab :(
     
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2007
  9. flores741

    flores741 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    782
    These are cool, I'm using the battery laptop meter gauge now. Thanks
     
  10. jaxor24

    jaxor24 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Brisbane
    is it possible to make a gadget that uses motherboard thermal sensors to monitor temperature? i havnt seen any around
     
  11. OP
    OP
    marc@islayer

    marc@islayer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    I'd say it's definitely technically possible. We have other widgets in OS X that do that, but we've had to write our own tools to find out the temperature and fan data. It's pretty tricky and supporting different machines is ... not fun.
     
  12. rockuman_ex

    rockuman_ex Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,874
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Does the CPU Gauge support dual core cpus?
     
  13. OP
    OP
    marc@islayer

    marc@islayer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    It does (should support up to 16 cores :p). It seems like Sidebar has some issues with some models though. What's it showing for you?
     
  14. Joehax

    Joehax Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,794
    Location:
    Sydney
    Nice gadgets indeed!

    Can you make one based off CoreTemp too?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: