Some old school x58 fun

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by demiurge3141, Jul 26, 2014.

  1. mmmarky

    mmmarky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Oooo, what’s that about? Proton?
     
  2. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    14,583
    mmmarky likes this.
  3. BlueRaven

    BlueRaven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,266
    Location:
    Sydney
    Many people still custom watercooling these, or using them as base for mod projects?
    I have boxes full of gear just sitting there, but air is just so much less hassle day-to-day.

    Seriously thinking it's time to buy a new daily driver and turn this kit into an ongoing mod project.
    Got a fairly tidy Cosmos S sitting here doing SFA, gear is currently housed in an early-gen Fractal Define R5.
    Or I could revamp the old gen 1 Raven which I still have most of the bits for, in boxes somewhere. Annoys me that I never really completed it.
    Could be cool to do a retro watercooled X58 Cosmos project with cartloads of bloo leds, edge-lit acrylic and whatnot.
    Advice welcome. :)

    Time to hit up shop'n'swap.... we'll see what the new year brings.
     
  4. mmmarky

    mmmarky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    17
  5. mmmarky

    mmmarky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    Oh man, exactly what I’m doing - I tapped out when Prescott was peaking, so being able to squeak anything from anywhere in the 3s up into 4ghz still brings a grin to my face (and more than enough bandwidth for the dusty old cards I’m rocking).

    I think I’ll go with ebays cheapest, leakiest blocks, acrylic/homejob adapter plates, pond pump in a diy res, and as you say, heckin’ piles of LEDs. I wonder if there are working cold cathodes kicking around the place...
     
  6. BlueRaven

    BlueRaven Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,266
    Location:
    Sydney
    92_CCFL mod arty_2.JPG

    I think I may still have a couple of these lying around in a box somewhere. Also an HD6990 with a fullcover EK copper/acetal block. Hardly used. PM if interested.
     
    mmmarky likes this.
  7. AfterBurner1

    AfterBurner1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Hmm, seriously thinking of getting either w3590 or a X5690 from ali or what not and seeing how well that kicks on in comparison to my real early 980x. I need to re thermal pad/paste the N/SB on my board, it's 10ish years old so it's likely about time.

    EDIT: might be a brown out when using more than one GPU.
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2019
    flu!d likes this.
  8. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    14,583
    Why not an X5675? only 95w vs the 130w spec of the X5690. Vastly cheaper as well.
     
  9. rthy

    rthy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    847
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Anyone had success with SLi on a Dell T7500?
    looking at running with Sli gtx970's
     
  10. Adam 33

    Adam 33 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Perth
    I can't remember if I tried it with mine or not...
    If I had 2 graphics cards I would give it a go but I don't now.
     
  11. rthy

    rthy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    847
    Location:
    Melbourne
    thanks,

    I know people have run success with crossfire, but i already have access to a 970gtx and can get another for cheap
     
  12. Adam 33

    Adam 33 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Perth
    No probs, I love my T7500. I'll only move on from it once it dies I think!!
     
  13. rthy

    rthy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    847
    Location:
    Melbourne
    nice one, can't wait for the x5675's to arrive and can start to really play around with it
     
  14. rthy

    rthy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    847
    Location:
    Melbourne
    ugh, my t7500 dream might be coming to a premature end... physical size to large for my desk.... :<
     
  15. mmmarky

    mmmarky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Messages:
    17
    I tried but am not sure if it’s my cards (gtx650x2 from different makers). I got it working using differentsli, but my base cpu clock (2.4ghz) was bottlenecking frame rate.

    Much more fun (and a lot less fiddling with driver patchers) to have 3 random cards, 2 chips, 24 threads and just play that sci-fi rts... the one that scales really well... something something excession?
     
  16. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    14,583
    Get a T5500?
     
  17. rthy

    rthy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    847
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Already have the t7500 and bought 2x x5675's

    Hopefully sli works with the 900 series cards, will find out soon enough.

    Also anyone know how much of a performance deference between the t3500 and t7500 with the same cpu/ram?
     
  18. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    14,583
    There shouldn't be any difference as far as I'm aware, they all use the same chipset. The only reason the T5500 is more compact is due to the use of a CPU daughter board for the second processor.
     
  19. OP
    OP
    demiurge3141

    demiurge3141 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,650
    Location:
    Melbourne 3073
    Time for a new desk
     
  20. rthy

    rthy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    847
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yeah, i might end up hacking up the drawers so the larger case can fit

    Looks like the t3500 has a x58 board vs 5520 on the 7500/5500
    anyhow the t5500 looks like the way to go...

    anywho, anyone in melb want to swap a t7500 for a t5500 before i start to hack up this desk lol
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: