1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Sony Flashes w/ AF Assist

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by quwackers, Oct 29, 2018.

1. quwackers

quwackers Member

Hey everyone, as an event photographer I have been using my A7III for just under 6 months now and have found that the AF Assist light on the Camera is less than ideal.

This solution is often slower and can entirely miss focus in uncontrollable environments (fog machines at event).

I have however found out that the Godox XproS provides support for its Auto Focus Assist Beam which when I tested appears to work fantastically, in fact it performed much better than the Sony assist light.

What I want is to compile a list of hot shoe compatible devices which support this feature.

I figure this may help someone else when purchasing a flash for their camera :)

Supported:
    • Godox XproS

Unsupported:

• Godox TT685S

2. Deftone2k

Deftone2k In the Darkroom

Have you used the Sony flashes themselves? I havent tested with, but by all reports most users dont have a problem shooting low light with the Sony's anyway.

Are you using adapted glass?

Being that the Sony doesnt use AF assist (being mirrorless) like a traditional DSLR setup.. its just a LED light that provides a bit of light for contrast for detection.

3. OP
    OP
    quwackers

quwackers Member

I have not used the Sony flashes, that is a good point I might try to find some in a store. But I do believe that if they only leverage a assist light similar to what is on the body it would be no significant improvement in any challenging environment.

In low light situations the on body light is fine, but extreme low light it fails (as I tested with a ND filter in a dark room, the flash assist could still focus, the assist light could not), and once again I imagine if smoke or haze was involved it would also fail.