1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Sounds Cards Comparo (or The search for Aural Pleasure)

Discussion in 'PC Audio' started by smiddi, Feb 8, 2009.

  1. Suopermanni

    Suopermanni Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I can't use the Benchmark all the time as I'm not even meant to have bought it in the first place. My purchases are under scrutiny and I must be careful with what I reveal. Anyway, I really shouldn't need it for the AD900s! Seriously, the STX by itself with the new OPamps has decreased in volume.
     
  2. Benno1988

    Benno1988 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5,506
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Its called a Benchmark DAC1. Its primary function is being a DAC. A much better one than the STX! Of course the AD900 would benefit from it!

    If you don't want it i'll take it off yours hands. I have a Audioengine D1 which is nice and discrete that would suit you well.
     
  3. Suopermanni

    Suopermanni Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Ahahaha, I hope you're kidding. Seriously though, I wouldn't give it to you unless you gave me enough to buy another one. Anyway, I wait until tomorrow to change them back. I had my fill of mucking around in my computer today.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2012
  4. Cool Barn

    Cool Barn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    737
    Lol Manni I have a DacMagic 100 that I'll swap for your Benchmark - it sounds fantastic and is so tiny you could hide it under a small piece of paper on your desk and your oldies would never know! A brilliant plan!


    :D
     
  5. zanlation

    zanlation Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    Murrays Beach
    Make sure you have installed the opamps in the correct configuration with the small dimple facing the right slot. When I installed one in the incorrect position my volume dramatically dropped.. fixed once I moved it.
     
  6. Benno1988

    Benno1988 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5,506
    Location:
    Brisbane
    CB, this is between me and Manni. BACK THE FSCK OFF.

    D1 > Dacwheveterheisselling.

    Totally.

    I give you D1 + $50 and a Cheesburger. Delivered. Think bout it.
     
  7. Camm

    Camm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    You were right, stuck back with the D2X quick smart :p
     
  8. Benno1988

    Benno1988 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    5,506
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Goodo mate ;)

    If you really wanted that slot free go for a USB DAC/Amp. Audioengine D1 is well priced and nice unit.
     
  9. Camm

    Camm Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    I've got the swans m60 5.1 unit, stuck with sound cards unfortunately. As long as i dont entertain tri sli I'm good :p
     
  10. Spyfox

    Spyfox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,270
    had this posted in the headphone section.

    wondering if anyone has personal experience with the Xonar STX and the X-Fi Titanium HD

    google fu has lead me to believe that they are fairly similar in quality with the x-fi a little better with gaming and the stx better with music

    split decision between the two
    will be using with some AD900s
     
  11. Linkin

    Linkin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6,423
    Location:
    Sydney
    I have the STX, and I had an X-Fi Titanium before it. I don't really use EAX or CMSS-3D so I don't care about losing those features. The STX is a great card though, you'll be very happy with it. Which one is better? Flip a coin. Or whichever one you can find cheapest.
     
  12. Spyfox

    Spyfox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,270
    pretty much what i wanted to hear
    cheers :thumbup:
     
  13. Linkin

    Linkin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6,423
    Location:
    Sydney
    Well, cheapest X-Fi HD on staticICE is $199, cheapest STX on staticICE is $178

    Even on PCCG the STX is $10 cheaper ($205 vs $195)
     
  14. chi

    chi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    815
    Location:
    Sydney
    if you have speakers as well as headphones DONT get the xfi. Bloody pos cant even switch between the two without you fucking around the back of your pc everytime
     
  15. Spyfox

    Spyfox Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,270
    Thanks for the heads up.
    Will be connecting my z2300s as well.
    Was keen on the STX from the start so I guess it all worked itself out :)
     
  16. OP
    OP
    smiddi

    smiddi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    W'gong
    Creative Recon3D added.
     
  17. Pic0o

    Pic0o Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    'Murica, PA (state)
    I was using the Creative Recon3d (fatal1ty model Pro) and would have stuck with it, if not for the 5.1 channel issue.

    I've seen a few people mention also seeing where the channels for 5.1 would be completely off and scattered, until you toggle audio modes (headphone to 5.1, 2ch back to 5.1, etc) in the creative software.

    Can anyone suggest a card that can:
    - Do 5.1 audio and not mix up the channels
    - accepts Optical Inputs
    - Does not suffer from the static feedback I've seen quite a few cards noted for doing.

    I enjoyed the cleaner audio I was getting versus my onboard Realtek, but the channel bug is intolerable. I returned the Creative card yesterday.

    -edit: I play about 75% games / 25% Music. I'd say I hit the channel inversion about 8-10 times over ~10 days. It seemed especially apparent when playing optical audio inputs, as quite a bit of that time was PS3 audio pimpin. Loved the sound when it was bound right speakers.

    Once it was fairly steady happening watching Flix and Games on actual rig, it was time for us to part ways. I'm trying my luck since bug seems so fixable, so I got non-shelled edition for 2/3 price. My other options didn't look to be as potentially otherwise awesome a blend, imo.
     
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2012
  18. OP
    OP
    smiddi

    smiddi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    W'gong
    funny you should mention the 5.1 channel issue. I had it happen using stereo a few times, as as I switch between headphones and speakers I thought I was accidently selecting it. Thanks, ill put that in the review.

    As for a card for you: what do u mostly use it for, gaming, music?
     
  19. Coldplayer

    Coldplayer Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,876
    Location:
    Carlingford
    My X-FI forte is dieing so looking to upgrade. Uses will be 80/20 music/gaming and i'll be using z5500s/AD900s. No real budget. Ideas?

    Cheers
     
  20. toopy28

    toopy28 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    925
    Location:
    Gammanville
    I'm looking to swap my STX with a D2X or something with DTS (not the X-fi's after knowing about the channel bug) if anyone is interested. i only use the optical output of the STX so its quite underutilised
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: