SSD Price Discussion

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by tfroggydawg, Jan 19, 2012.

  1. Groff

    Groff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    284
    Location:
    NSW
    I don't have an index but can say these do.
    Crucial MX500
    Crucial P5
    Crucial P1 however it does have QLC flash which isn't great.
    Samsung 970evo plus
    Actually I'm almost certain most Samsung
     
  2. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    158,309
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Heads up, update to Samsung Magician tyoday......version 6.3.0 out now.
     
    BurningFeetMan likes this.
  3. BLESSSED

    BLESSSED New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2021
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Orange nsw
     
  4. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    158,309
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
  5. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,839
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    nevermind..
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2021
  6. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,818
    Location:
    Adelaide
  7. EvilGenius

    EvilGenius Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Messages:
    10,804
    Location:
    elsewhere
    Enjoy your 8gb thumb drive...
     
    Sledge and MUTMAN like this.
  8. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,207
    Location:
    4109
    in other words they're rubbish and likely fake
     
    Sledge likes this.
  9. kogi

    kogi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,932
    Location:
    2031
    stalyoni, Sledge and MUTMAN like this.
  10. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,891
    Location:
    Perth
    That store/user only has feedback from 1 user & it wasn't for a sale.
     
    Sledge and MUTMAN like this.
  11. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10,314
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    • The listing mentions Seagate.
    • The specs mention '3600 rpm'. Even the lowliest of HDD's spin at 5400rpm, and SSD's don't spin at all.
    • It mentions 'accelerated to 400MB/S'. Even the lowliest of SSD's can do better than that, until they run out of SLC cache.
    • It has a 4MB 'cache'. 4MB? Seriously, on a 2TB drive?
    • It mentions a 'shockproof enclosure' but displays an apparent SSD in the exploded image, but with only 2 larger chips and a couple of smaller ones. Nowhere near sufficient for 2TB.
    • It wouldn't need a shockproof enclosure at all if it was an SSD.
    • The price is WAY too low for a 2TB SSD, even for a lowly RAM-less QVL drive. In the immortal words of Robert Heinlein - TANSTAAFL (There ain't no such thing as a free lunch).

    It's either a total ripoff, as mentioned maybe a thumbdrive in a larger enclosure with waaaay less than 2TB capacity (and seriously, if you are going to rip someone off, why invest in a 128 or 256 GB substitution when you can just stick a 4 or 8 TB in there. Might as well go the whole hog) or it's a Hybrid drive, a small amount of flash cache with a 2TB spinner.

    I wouldn't touch it with gloves on.
     
  12. BLESSSED

    BLESSSED New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2021
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Orange nsw

    LOL i had 2 74gb WD Raptors HDD 10k rpm. Now ssd or 10tb hdd are avail and hands up.
     
  13. mikezilla2

    mikezilla2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    lol pitty you cant get any highspeed hybird drives like that beyond 2tb at a reasonable price
     
  14. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10,314
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Further to this.. I just happened onto THIS ebay listing.
    It doesn't matter whether you choose 500GB, 1Tb or 2TB on the 'type' dropdown, the price remains at $39.99. The description as below definitely claims it as a drive, not an enclosure though.
    Clearly it's just an enclosure for an SSD, but there is no actual SSD for sale. I assume the vast majority of people would know that you obviously aren't going to get a 2TB SSD for 40 bucks, and also that the price would differ according to capacity, but as PT Barnum once allegedly said (he didn't, the quote was not his, but it kinda proves the point just by being attributed to him :lol:) 'There is a sucker born every minute'.

    I wonder just how many suckers get caught like this?
     
    Sledge likes this.
  15. A Gringo

    A Gringo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    153
    Or maybe it's faulty. In the description box it states
    Write Speed: NO

    So you get a drive you can't write to.
     
  16. HobartTas

    HobartTas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    With the new 11th gen motherboards having M.2 slots at PCI-e x4 v4 and M.2 SSD's having sequential read/write speeds of like 7 or 8 GB's or even higher then how do people reckon they'll even get those speeds? The reason I ask is because I recently built a PC for a friend and it has a 10700K processor on a 10th gen board with 4 x 8 sticks of 3600 MHz memory and Memtest only showed a total of 6 GB's RAM bandwidth so isn't that going to bottleneck those super fast and presumably super expensive SSD sticks?
     
  17. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,207
    Location:
    4109
    move to AMD ??

    upload_2021-5-4_17-6-17.png
     
    mikezilla2 and OJR like this.
  18. HobartTas

    HobartTas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    I get similar numbers when I run Memtest for Intel's L1/L2/L3 caches but raw memory speeds are only the 6 GB's I previously mentioned and I suspect your quoting cache speeds here as well. AFAIK Ryzen only has a similar amount of dual channels for memory so would have similar results and if you want faster memory speeds you need something like Threadripper which has four channels like Intel's HEDT and AMD's EPYC which has eight.
     
  19. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,207
    Location:
    4109
    is it that the '6' is dual channel transfers per second ? as in ddr4-3000 is 3000 MT/s so dual makes "6GT/s"
    cause that same ddr4-300 is peak 24GB/s bandwidth

    do you have a screeny of this 6 ?


    exploring this further, pcie4 x4 lanes grosses out 8GT/s
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2021
  20. HobartTas

    HobartTas Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,054
    No because the program Memtest86+ boots directly of the USB stick also I've since handed the PC off as well. I fired the program up now on my old I7-3820 with three of the four memory channels populated by DDR-1333 and I got L1 = 120 GB's, L2 = 54 GB's, L3 = 37 GB's, DDR3 = 16 GB's.

    You're probably correct there and I think I probably just misread the results, next time I'm visiting them I'll fire it up again and double check the figures. Thanks for your help!

    P.S. Since its a 10th gen CPU in an 11th gen motherboard its always possible the program which was last updated April 2020 might not be reporting the correct results as well.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: