Start menu... not in alphabetical order

Discussion in 'Windows Operating Systems' started by maxwolfie, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. maxwolfie

    maxwolfie Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,359
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Ok, I know this can be fixed by deleting a registry key, or something similar.

    However, what I want to know is (other than what key) is if a script or something similar can be installed so that the key is deleted on every windows startup

    Or better yet, a program that somehow arranges the start menu in real time.. after the app has been installed

    It's driving me nuts the way it is
     
  2. Rezin

    Rezin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,490
    You must be using XP... Vista doesn't have this problem (AFAIK).

    This link might be helpful. Basically makes the key read-only so it can't be modified when you logout.
     
  3. NismoR31

    NismoR31 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,180
    Location:
    Sydney
    right click > sort by name
     
  4. Knight Of Nih

    Knight Of Nih Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    Darwin
    yeah whats the problem with using this? or do you just want it to be automatic?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    maxwolfie

    maxwolfie Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    2,359
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Automatic! :thumbup:
     
  6. timace

    timace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,784
    Location:
    Sydney
    yeah, he's after an automagic method.

     
  7. Assasinator_2

    Assasinator_2 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,585
    Location:
    Rockhampton
    Why are you installing new stuff every system startup? Is it really that hard to do 2 clicks once every month or something when you install a new application?

    I just don't get why you'd need to do it so much to automate it :confused:
     
  8. lazer1

    lazer1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    329
    I know killing explorer.exe and reloading it will probably force a refresh but this is a bit ugly :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2008
  9. Drunkmunky

    Drunkmunky Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,847
    Location:
    Hobart
    I assumed this was Microsofts intended way of doing things since it seems to be required so regularly -_-
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: