Stoker - the Ultimate Geek tool for Charcoal BBQ

Discussion in 'Geek Food' started by sgtraven, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. sgtraven

    sgtraven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,043
    Location:
    Vic, Glenroy
    So,

    A little present arrived yesterday
    Rocks BBQ Stoker unit
    https://www.rocksbarbque.com/
    Few negatives/Positives at first glance

    Positive
    - seems very well constructed
    - uses standard Headphone jacks so it will allow me to extend the cables
    - standard power supply is 240v so can be used in AUS
    - interface seems VERY easy to scroll through and set
    - The web interface is easy to configure
    - the BGE adaptor fitted perfect, some reason they sent me 3 adaptors.....
    - Stokerlog can give you MANY extra features

    Negatives
    - no ramping mode to meet your food temp once the food temp is reached
    - the unit had a little hissy fit for a bit (i think i set the initial temp too low and it crapped it self) will provide update if this happens again
    - no wireless just yet, waiting for update (due mid to late september)
    - have to configure the wireless by first having the unit wired.....

    Pictures of it setup on the Kamado

    [​IMG]
    Kamado cooker - stoker unit by Brett Robinson, on Flickr

    [​IMG]
    Stoker unit by Brett Robinson, on Flickr

    I have set the temp to 225F and will monitor how it goes (currently have the unit not connected to the network so i cant post stokerlog screenshots just yet) its hovering around 229 at the moment.

    pretty sure there are a few little leaks of air on the kamado hence the temp not dropping, hopefully the fire doesnt snuff before all the fuel is burnt
    Tried with a FULL basket of fuel

    UPDATE 1 10:57 - Temp has dropped to 220, i suspect this is just the first cycle so the unit "learns" how quick the temp rises/falls based on its airflow
    [​IMG]
    Stoker - temp monitoring by Brett Robinson, on Flickr
    UPDATE 2 11:10 - temp dropped all the way down to 210 thought the pit had gone out but then the fan flicked on and its incriments were getting longer and longer
    UPDATE 3 11:20 - Temp spoked back up to 234 and rising, hopefully with this ammount of data the stoker is now able to work out the fan rate and get it fairly stable
    UPDATE 4 11:26 - temp hit 240, i suspect that the stoker unit understands the rate of the temp drop and temp rise based on its previous 2 cycles, it can then "catch" the temp on the way down and slowly get the temp more stable as it assesses the "overshoots" and slowly reduces the fan increments
    NOTE: I think with the kamado its thermal efficiency makes it that little bit harder to control as the actual unit retains a lot of heat so temp drops happen very slowly. a weber would most likely come to temp a lot faster due to the charcoal being the primary source of heat with little heat retained in the metal
    UPDATE 5 12:05 - Temp is now stable at 225
    [​IMG]
    Stoker - temp stable by Brett Robinson, on Flickr
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2011
  2. OP
    OP
    sgtraven

    sgtraven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,043
    Location:
    Vic, Glenroy
    so, it seems in the kamado with a full firebox it takes about 1 hour to stabilise.

    not to say you couldnt cook within the first 15-20 mins as the temp spike was quite low anyway
     
  3. Scorpion1080

    Scorpion1080 Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,518
    You have to tell me how it behaves on long cooks. I have $500 put aside for a stoker but there are quite a few different brands and they all seem to pros and cons.

    Also. If the fan buggers up ( dust in bearings/etc) ... Do you think it could be replaced by some sort of computer fan?
     
  4. renagade

    renagade Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Sydney
    *subscribe*
    Please keep us updated with any more pros & cons. So very much interested in one of these, esp the wireless feature.
    You say that the probs can we extended with ordinary headphone extension cables, what about the fan? It looks like a thicker grade of cable. I have my Kamado set up next to my shed so would love to have the stoker unit permanently in the shed with the cables long enough to reach outside without getting in the way of the door way.
    I'd also be interested in knowing if the fans can be replaced with fans from computer stores (good quality of course!)
    Cheers!
     
  5. OP
    OP
    sgtraven

    sgtraven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,043
    Location:
    Vic, Glenroy
    The thing with the Stoker accessories is that each unit is digitally coded so it can identify them. Theoretically you could mod an existing fan but they seem pretty standard so cleaning/oiling bearings would be easy enough.
    All accessories are attached by the same large headphone jack. I will be verifying that extension cables work, I'm almost positive they do as I saw a project where a guy had the unit in his kitchen and the BBQ outside with like 15-20 meters away using cat 5 with the headphone jacks as termination

    Hopefully tonight I can bake some bread and then after bring the temp down and run it for 12hours
     
  6. Amfibius

    Amfibius Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,074
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Mine is in the mail ... USPS tracking says it is still in America :(

    Apparently you can kludge up some kind of ramp mode for the Stoker. They can not implement it because the BBQ Guru guy has the patent for it.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    sgtraven

    sgtraven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,043
    Location:
    Vic, Glenroy
    RE USPS, it will say that right up to the day before you get it (happened to me)
    expect it 1 day after it says its in AUS

    in relation to the Ramp mode, cheers for the heads up. always wondered why :)

    currently doing a pork cook now, giving the stoker a try :)
     
  8. Amfibius

    Amfibius Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,074
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Hey sgtraven, I did a bit of research on the net. The ramp mode on the Stoker is enabled by aftermarket software. Several forums refer to "Amir's software on the Weber bullet forum" - but I could not actually find the software on that forum. So I did a google and found this. There is hardly any information on that website about the program, and obviously I can't download it to try because I haven't got my Stoker yet.

    Up to you :)
     
  9. OP
    OP
    sgtraven

    sgtraven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,043
    Location:
    Vic, Glenroy
    Amirs software stokerlog is brilliant. It's a pity I won't be using it untill wireless is enabled on the stoker....
    You can download and try it as there is a simulator function, note though, the current version should be run as administrator in windows 7 or it crashes....
     
  10. Creekin

    Creekin (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    10,109
    wait WOT?!? :confused::confused:
    wifi enabled bbq stoker with modded hw & sw?

    THIS, this right here is why i love ocau! :thumbup:

    subbeD

    *waits patiently for op to overclock it* :lol:
     
  11. OP
    OP
    sgtraven

    sgtraven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,043
    Location:
    Vic, Glenroy
    Did a cook last night.
    Rack of lamb @ 250f for 4 hours came out great. Used webers hickory chunks and they were great too
     
  12. OP
    OP
    sgtraven

    sgtraven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,043
    Location:
    Vic, Glenroy
    playing with the stoker unit today.
    Took 1 hour for it to reach 225 as stable and its within 3-4deg F
    the Stokerlog software is BRILLIANT

    [​IMG]
    Kamado - Stokerlog by Brett Robinson, on Flickr

    you can see the fan, temps ect and even change them.
    the e-mail of the temps every 10mins is great too, havent setup twitter just yet
     
  13. renagade

    renagade Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Sydney
    That's pretty amazeballs.
    Really looking forward to getting one now.

    //Edit: I assume Auto Lid Detection just stops the fan from going over-drive when the temp sudden drops 50-100c when the lid is opened?
    //Edit2: Can the timed cook snuff the fire? Or does it just have a count down timer?
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2011
  14. Amfibius

    Amfibius Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,074
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    sgtraven, wireless is NOT enabled on the Stoker?!? How did you get that graph - did you have to run a long network cable from the Stoker to your PC? That sucks!
     
  15. renagade

    renagade Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Sydney
    Waiting for firmware update I believe.
    Where is the food Graph?

    //Edit: I now have you IP address, prepare to be hacked /s
     
  16. mitsimonsta

    mitsimonsta Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,994
    Location:
    2161 / 2060
    FailTroll. Like you can 'find' an RFC1918 IP address to 'hack'.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    sgtraven

    sgtraven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,043
    Location:
    Vic, Glenroy
    I ran network cable.

    Renegade, I still have all your passwords, did you forget I owned pubgamer and in doing so you have all your info stored on our servers.
    ;)
    it is all encrypted making it useles sbut he doesnt know that
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2011
  18. renagade

    renagade Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Sydney
    the /s is for sarcasm, go back to the DE wet shave thread :p

    what the hell is pubgamer?
     
  19. OP
    OP
    sgtraven

    sgtraven Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    3,043
    Location:
    Vic, Glenroy
    Ah, another renegade it seems. There was an admin called renegade on our counterstrike servers, I assumed you were him as he was also from Sydney.
    Guess not
     
  20. renagade

    renagade Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,570
    Location:
    Sydney
    different spelling ;)
    Gimme the password and I'll confirm
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: