Strange internet problem

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by juscal, May 20, 2010.

  1. juscal

    juscal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Victoria
    So it seems this evening several programs are unable to use the internet. Firefox can access the internet easily, IE cannot. Google Earth cant connect to it's server, but Adaware and AVG can connect to their servers and acquire updates.

    Strange, any suggestions?
     
  2. Airquarious

    Airquarious Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,801
    Location:
    Galaxy near you!
    Restart the Comp.

    Disable AVG FireWall or any other FW...
     
  3. -Sk3tChY-

    -Sk3tChY- Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,967
    Location:
    NSW, In a house.
    Restart the comp as said above, you could possibly have some dodgy resolutions stored in your DNS resolver cache and a restart will flush it.

    Alternatively do ipconfig /flushdns from a command prompt.

    It's a slim possibility, but is symptomatic of what you're saying, other than that chances are you're firewalls may be blocking programs/ports, so as said above - Disable them all and see how you go.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    juscal

    juscal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Victoria
    Restarted computer several times, and have flushed DNS. Had a looky in the hosts file and nothing looks wrong. Currently running a Windows Defender scan, Adaware and AVG.

    Also disabled Windows Firewall, nothing changed.

    Any other suggestions?
     
  5. NeXuS

    NeXuS Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    542
    Location:
    Southern Suburbs, Melb
    Run a HiJackThis scan, take out any Internet Explorer plugins/BHO's that you dont use.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    juscal

    juscal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Victoria
    Downloading HJT now. WLM is now refusing to work now aswell. Basically the only program that can acess the internet now is Firefox.
     
  7. Airquarious

    Airquarious Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,801
    Location:
    Galaxy near you!
  8. yanman

    yanman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    6,587
    Location:
    Hobart
    Make sure you have space free on C:\

    I ran out totally (PeerGuardian was making a huge log file) and all sorts of weird things started happening including no web browsing.
     
  9. round

    round (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,474
    Location:
    /pol/
    format c:

    time to start again...
     
  10. aza2001

    aza2001 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Northmead
    reset your IE config

    Tool --->internet options ---> advance tab ----> reset (backup any bookmarks/ fav's if you wish)

    good luck:thumbup:
     
  11. OP
    OP
    juscal

    juscal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Victoria
    I wouldnt think it would be something outside internet explorer because multiple programs are affected?
     
  12. bugayev

    bugayev Whammy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,093
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Some applications look to IE for their configuration. If IE has somehow gone a bit screwy it can pass through.
     
  13. yanman

    yanman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    6,587
    Location:
    Hobart
    I would be checking C: for space still. As I said it can do weird things when there's 0 free
     
  14. BOB_LORDOFEVIL

    BOB_LORDOFEVIL Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,280
    Personally I'd force DNS on the NIC. AVG afaik uses the IP to connect to their update server which is why it's working and the rest aren't.
     
  15. CordlezToaster

    CordlezToaster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,069
    Location:
    Melbourne
    might be your isp check there forums or check whirlpool
     
  16. ConlMaggot

    ConlMaggot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Perth
    Linux live disc would tell you if its hardware/network bassed, or something screwy with your windows setup..

    I re-image my main windows machine once every 6 months, just to avoid shit like this.
     
  17. davos1

    davos1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Go to IE and make sure you have a proxy configured/disabled, whichever you need. The proxy setting in IE affects most other programs.
     
  18. aza2001

    aza2001 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,016
    Location:
    Northmead
    mybad didnt read it properly last night ...
     
  19. OP
    OP
    juscal

    juscal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Victoria
    Thanks for the help guys. Turns out it WAS Internet Explorer. Took the advice of resetting the settings and its good as gold.

    Cheers guys.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: