STUdogs Beast Completed

Discussion in 'Modding Worklogs' started by STUdog, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    Hey Guys

    Well ive finally finished my latest mods. Here are a few pics to show whats been done.


    Main highlights are the 2x 8x 1.5 tb in RAID 0 = 24tb

    Each raid array yeilds 750mb/s in HD Tune.

    - First I got rid of my Zotac 780i mobo and replaced it with the ASUS P5Q Premium which I got working. This board has 4 onboards nics which i managed to team with my 4 on my HP Quad nic. Now at lans i team all 8 nics and have a 8gb/s connection which is pretty sweet.
    - Replaced my Highpoint 8 port raid card with a Highpoint 16 port raid card.
    - Purchased and extra 8x Seagate 1.5tb hdds
    - Got rid of 4 of my Samsung 1tb hdds
    - Bought 2x G Skill 64gb Falcon SSD, both single JBOD drives, 1 as C Drive and on for Programs
    - Am now running 2x 12tb arrarys and a single 1tb drive split up for non shared stuff.
    - Added my MurderMod mid plane bit and put the 2 tubes thru with gromets which ads a nice touch.
    - Added 2x Scythe Stabilizes in the 5.25 bays to house the 8x 1.5tb hdds and added an extra Scythe Kama Bay at the front to kool them.
    - Bought 2 of those Coolermaster Silent Blue LED fans that are meant to do 90cfm @ 19db. They are quiet but I dont think they do 90cfm. More like 70cfm but still very quiet.
    - Sleeved a few cables here and there to make em look good.
    - Added a 10cm blue neon behind the ram cooler.
    - Changed my coolant to blue
    - Got rid of my UV neons as nothing is UV reactive anymore.

    Well here are the pics, enjoy

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I tried to do the best cable management for 17 hdds and 2 ssds





    Other Specs

    Q9550@ 3.7
    Asus P5Q Premium
    8GB Corsair DDR2 1066mhz
    MSI GTX 295 W/C
    17HDDS all 1.5tbs
    4 port quad PCIE Network card
    16 Port Highpoint RAID Card
    Auzentech Prelude Sound Card
    A Few rads, and stuff
    TJ07 Case
    HX1000 PSU



    Let me know what u think

    Cheers

    STUdog
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2009
  2. adsmo

    adsmo Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Location:
    Melbourne
    nice one mate!

    but did you really need to put those handles on..:sick:
     
  3. OP
    OP
    STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    @ 45kg yes I did,
     
  4. iNoob

    iNoob Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,767
    Location:
    Sydney
    Na aaah
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2010
  5. OP
    OP
    STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    Well im already using 16tb of the 25tb so I would like a bit of buffer for future expansion.
     
  6. quickshot84

    quickshot84 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    925
    Location:
    Melb, Vic
    from the pics it looks like the front underhalf is sitting on two fans that are connected to a radiator :Paranoid:

    or is that something else..
     
  7. Skobb

    Skobb Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227
    Location:
    Adelaide, Tea Tree Gully
    Wow.
    Give me.
    Please? :(

    It's not one of those over the top builds with all fancy pointless things and 100+ hrs of cable management etc.. It's perfect though :)

    I would i7 though myself:weirdo: bwahaha
     
  8. Rezin

    Rezin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,488
    What a monster. Nice work. :thumbup:

    The readout from one of these would be interesting.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2009
  9. OP
    OP
    STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    Um the case has been raised up with a double rad on the bottom, with just enough clearance for the bottom fans to suck air. I have the case on a thick blanket for photo purposes.

    I have one of those meters, 4amps when pc is turned on with all hdds spinning up and 2amps when in windows idle.

    I have a 1000va ups and when starting my pc up on that it goes over into overload while all the hdds spin up but goes back down to 70% load in windows.

    As for I7 I dont really see the point, I just play games and do alot with data, No encoding or anything, So im really just using the PCIE bus and as for I7 in gaming its not that great over a high en 775 quad cpu. I also watch lots of movies on it. 6tb of movies takes a while to watch
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2009
  10. Supachiefauto

    Supachiefauto Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Sick as STUdog
     
  11. Nitephyre

    Nitephyre Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,470
    Location:
    ormeau@gc.qld.au
    Jesus fuck, that's INSANE!!!!

    You really must like pr0n :D
     
  12. Spork!

    Spork! Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,295
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Awesome cable management considering the 387 HDD's you have jammed in that case!
    How much pron does 1 man need?
     
  13. schnappy

    schnappy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    684
    Location:
    3124
    But... what's with the quad port NIC?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    I have no porn at all,


    The quad port raid card is used at lans etc, I team the 4 ports on the card and sometimes team them together with my 4 onboard nics to make a single 8gbps connection,

    The intel teaming software is great and works like a treat with 802.3 Link Aggregation.

    This card does proper teaming, not that useless onboard mobo team that manufactures to sell with the boards and make it a selling point.
     
  15. Hicksinator

    Hicksinator Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Location:
    Townsville
    You're right. That is a beast! :wired:

    Extremely good cable management, especially with so many HDDs and 2 SSDs :thumbup:
     
  16. Micah.

    Micah. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    North Brisbane
    Man wish you had this completed last Saturday... :)
    Well I guess I won't be able to see it till the next lan. In Jan.
    I can conform that he doesn't have or "share" any of his p0rn ;)
     
  17. photonmoo

    photonmoo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    that's absolutely f**king ridiculous, but so effing awesome too!!

    I don't wanna contemplate how much you forked out for that thing, you can't even call it a beast...because it doesn't justify it, lol

    Totally sick man!
     
  18. OP
    OP
    STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    I did have it there last sat, its been completed for a few months now, its getting old
     
  19. Micah.

    Micah. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Location:
    North Brisbane
    LOL Ok I just thought WOW 24tb you only had 16tb...
     
  20. OP
    OP
    STUdog

    STUdog Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,294
    LOL i had 16tb shared, i have 25tb in total, I like to have some free space
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: