Super Pi 32M 4Ghz efficiency thread

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by sskmercer, Mar 19, 2008.

  1. AG-TAS

    AG-TAS Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    742
    Location:
    Hobart
    Is it sold dude?
     
  2. Bullants

    Bullants Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah AG-TAS cpu sold :thumbup:


    Decided to have another play tonight with some memory's Ive only tested on cold couple of times,was all direct boot from bios as this is my X99 OS and my 'me' driver wasn't working
    2300 Pi,s @ -150

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  3. OP
    OP
    sskmercer

    sskmercer Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,092
    Location:
    Brisbane, Sth Side
    I can't wait for the Champion board. Seems like a great board to tweak/play with.
     
  4. Bullants

    Bullants Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Location:
    Australia
    Yeah the Champion board is really nice,it does everything quite easy,Its very easy to use,I hope to be on it again later too
     
  5. Jimba86

    Jimba86 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    Brisbane 4179
    doing some 4ghz test on the 980X ES.

    Jimba86 - 9M 25.813 - i7-980X - Ram @ 957~ 7-8-7-20 1T - Corsair Dominator GT Hyper, EVGA E760 Classified - Air

    [​IMG]

    XP will get me under 9M im sure..:D

    still having got another drive yet :p
     
  6. Bullants

    Bullants Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Location:
    Australia
    Tried these 2200 PSC on cl6 and lower,wasn't able to get them to pass more then 4 loops on 32m at these timings.They would not scale with volts pass 2.2v

    Am sick of Pentium :lol: not much i can do with the thing apart from little Pi

    5-9-6-24-2666 35-36 rtls 2.2v KP Ney @ -150
    [​IMG]
     
  7. Bullants

    Bullants Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Location:
    Australia
    So had little testing of a different type this avo,this time it was all OS testing,I haven't been happy with my efficiency so it was time to work out whats going on.

    Std XP SP3 used with Raptor and just playing with my waza for available memory and system cache

    This is just a typical run here that I use all the time in all of my 32m results,low available memory as you can see and low system cache
    [​IMG]




    Here with all settings the same but playing with waza more and boostingggggggg system cache and also available memory as you can see giving me a boost of 641ms faster time,interesting times ahead ;)
    [​IMG]
     
  8. gazza30

    gazza30 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,118
    Location:
    FNQ
    An oldie from Country Cup pretesting

    [​IMG]
     
  9. robbo2

    robbo2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Interesting bull! bet that has you a touch excited :thumbup:
     
  10. OP
    OP
    sskmercer

    sskmercer Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,092
    Location:
    Brisbane, Sth Side
    Nice going Gaz (much left?), you have some SERIOUS catching up there Jimba.
     
  11. Bullants

    Bullants Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes mate I'm very excited,little bit of a hassle ATM go get the cache up but ill work around that and try put it together in 32m results,should see some nice times coming :thumbup:

    May even try a giga force later as the little test I did with that board led me to believe 2900 cl6 may be possible :)


    Nice work Gaz
     
  12. zeropluszero

    zeropluszero Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,987
    Location:
    3132
    is that not just a matter of adding the correct amount of wait time?
     
  13. Bullants

    Bullants Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Location:
    Australia
    Your system cache is built up from stealing all cache from your processes that happens when your moving your waza files

    Wait time is after that is all done waza moving"building system cache" you want to wait to your available memory now builds back up to close to what your system cache is before running Pi

    So lets say system cache has built up to 56xxxx you wait to available memory builds up to close 55xxxx 56xxxx ,seems the higher the system cache with good available memory keeps the Pi going strong alway to the end,weak cache and low available memory can result in a faster start on Pi but weak finish,

    Think I'm giving to much away :lol:


    The key is waza,got to make it do its job correct ,I also know when pushing cache and available memory can stress 32m little more but I'm sure its all about finding a balance :thumbup:

    I'm no doctor on waza and stuff but I just test and if it works results will show the true story I guess
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2015
  14. Jimba86

    Jimba86 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    Brisbane 4179
    It was my first test with the chip. Once I get XP installed I'll let it rip. :D
     
  15. gazza30

    gazza30 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,118
    Location:
    FNQ
    Yeah should be quite a bit bumping uncore alone to 4600-4800mhz like my CC sub should boost times quite a bit ram will also go tighter 7-7-6 from memory

    Looking forward to 2900 c6 Bull
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2015
  16. Bullants

    Bullants Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Location:
    Australia
    I like this bit :D ^
     
  17. JunkDogg

    JunkDogg Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,569
    Location:
    Perth 6169
    Certainly a lot of ripping to be done though. :thumbup:
     
  18. OP
    OP
    sskmercer

    sskmercer Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,092
    Location:
    Brisbane, Sth Side
    I thought if we are going to have a little PI fun we should put it in here. So Jimba first run all stock, fresh install except CPU @45x.

    45X 8.17.703.

    [​IMG]

    Edit - Dam tweaks must make a huge difference seeing my 40X run I have in here is 8m04s
     
  19. zeropluszero

    zeropluszero Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,987
    Location:
    3132
    [​IMG]
    Thats a first blood reference
     
  20. robbo2

    robbo2 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    2,462
    Location:
    Brisbane

Share This Page