REVIEW Synology DS413 with DSM 4.2 beta Review

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by Samuka, Mar 7, 2013.

1. Samuka

Samuka Member

Synology DS413 with DSM 4.2 beta Review

I would like to thank Synology and Laney for the opportunity to be able to review this product. I have tried to make sure all information is correct but if there are mistakes please advise me. This is my first attempt at a review so enjoy.

Note: DSM 4.2 was officially released yesterday.

[​IMG] [​IMG]

Introduction.

The DS413 is one of Synology's latest 4 bay NAS units and uses the same casing as the DS412+. You could easily mistake the two. However it is an upgrade to the DS411. It is from the 13th Series. It is designed for workgroups and small business. However with home user requiring more and more storage this product would feel well placed in a home environment.

Specifications

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

The DS413 runs a Dual Core 1.067GHz CPU with 1GB DDR3 Ram. It is capable of using the latest 4TB HDD giving you a massive 16TB of space. When running this as a RAID5 will give you just under 11.2TB of usable space when running 4TB HDD.(If you can afford them.)

You have a single gigabit LAN port along with 2 USB 3.0 and a eSATA ports at the read and a USB 2.0 port at the front.

The CPU in the DS413 is a Freescale QorIQ P1022. This is a PowerPC CPU. Most of their NAS range run on either Intel or ARM processors. They have not used this type of processor since the 10 series. I did find it strange that from the current range the DS713+(2 bay) and the DS2413+(12 bay) both run the Intel Atom D2700 where as this DS413(4 Bay) run the PPC CPU. Using this CPU and not the Intel CPU does keep the price down though.

Casing