[Team.AU] Rampage Extreme = WOW = TweakIt Addict, LN2 fun & PBs, records etc heh

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Hardware' started by dinos22, May 11, 2009.

  1. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    G'day fellas
    Team.AU strikes again! hehehe

    Got into some benching this weekend with some groovy hardware. Maaaan how good is this motherboard. I seriously dont think i've ever had more fun with a board or testing a better motherboard EVER!. For those of you like myself who did not know about TweakIt feature Asus have on their boards you gotta get one of these things and try this. It's real time (hardware) based manual tweaking/adjustment of most voltage settings etc and FSB on the fly even during benchmarks or windows startup etc etc

    This is seriously kick ass :thumbup:

    I got the board recently and did some initial testing but being old school i was just using the bios to adjust settings. I met up with Derek Yu a few days ago and talked about this board so he asks me if i've used this TweakIt feature. i was like errrrm not yet but i'll give it a shot....damn i didnt really what i was missing out on :rofl:. I've seen a lot of benchers report that they die on LN2 a lot and some take CPUs as well so i'm keeing my fingers crossed it doesnt cause its impossible to find a reasonable CPU these days lol and while my chip is not a Q822A4xx it's not too bad.

    This was my first bench session on LN2 with REX. I had a few tests on air to get an idea what the board can roughly do so i'll hopefully be able to improve on the scores. There were some issues with the OSes i used but i'm just to lazy to keep ghosting drives

    It is really frustrating to find out that Rivatuner has the same problem in XP with dual cards like the issues I had with clocking of second 4870X2 card. I was basically forced to use CCC to OC the cards and max clocks were 1000/1200. You can see that i benched single card at 1090/1172 which would have most certainly made a big difference in all crossfire benchmarks :(


    HARDWARE SETUP
    • Asus Rampage Extreme (1104 & 1104pi bioses)
    • Intel E8600 CPU (Q820A599) -153C CB
    • Corsair 2GB DDR3 1800MHz CAS7 Dominators (Micron)
    • 2x Asus Radeon HD4890 1GB GFX Card
    • 160GB IDE Hard Drive with Windows XP Sp2/Vista (light-ish)
    • 2x :)D) Corsair Nautilus 500 Watercooling on GPUs and NB
    • Kingpin F1EE and Thermolab custom dinos22 pot :D
    • Corsair HX1000 1000W Power Supply

    Thanks to Asus Australia for providing the board for testing

    Many thanks to Felix from OnlineComputer.com.au for lending a couple of GFX cards for torturing :thumbup:

    Here are a couple of shots from the last session. I didnt have camera handy to show the Thermolab pot in action sorry but it was great. i do however prefer F1EE. Maybe i'm just used to it but it's just a kick ass pot made by a kick ass OCer so that might have something to do with it too :D

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    I benched a few different tests i had weak points on hwbot. Just getting a feel for it still.

    3DMARK2001SE
    always enjoyable to bench '01
    i had a fair bit of head scratching in the initial stages until i realised my PCI Express frequency was a bit too high (130MHz in Xfire)

    Dual Card Crossfire Radeon HD4890 category world record
    3DMARK01: 124,547 points
    hwbot link

    [​IMG]


    Single Radeon HD4890 category world record
    3DMARK01: 120,070 points

    i stuffed up my LODs here so there was a lot more in it i think
    i was pretty stoked to see ATI hit 120K with a single core card
    hwbot link

    [​IMG]

    3DMARK03
    Dual Crossfire 4890s
    123K run >> my GT1 is great, nature looks fine....but once again proxycon and troll are bad....it has to be something to do with my OS or software...surely i cant be suffering from that slow down BS we had issues with 4870X2s
    i think judging by viss's run this should have been under ~140K
    hwbot link
    [​IMG]


    3DMARK05

    Dual Card Crossfire Radeon HD4890 category 2nd spot
    3DMARK05: 43,281 points

    Vivi's run is too much for my setup :D.....gotta get me one of them Q822A4xx chips hehheh
    Really great benching from young Goddy
    hwbot link
    [​IMG]


    Aquamark
    Dual Card Crossfire Radeon HD4890 category 2nd spot
    3DMARK05: 374,039 points

    trailing Vivi here again....:)....lack of MHz once again :D
    hwbot link
    [​IMG]


    Single HD4890 category world record
    3DMARK05: 354,145 points

    Vivi must have had a problem with his run....i've shot past him by 4K even with 6.6GHz on his side...
    i did however have much higher GPU clocks which will definitely help AM3 as well :)
    hwbot link
    [​IMG]

    CPUz

    6.6GHz :D

    was a bit rushed/greedy and was jumping to 6640Mhz which had a corrupted file heh

    [​IMG]


    PiFast

    Time: 14.77s

    i had a real problem with both of my XP OSes and i was forced to go to Vista to get a better score....really strange as i benched this one the first night :shrug:.

    hwbot link

    [​IMG]


    1M SuperPi

    Time: 7.00s

    hwbot link

    [​IMG]


    32M wPrime

    Time: 11.762s (category world record)

    hwbot link

    [​IMG]

    Gotta do some more tweaking now and find a GTX295 for some REAL 3DMARK2001 action :cool: :D

    Until next time, keep "TweakIt"ing it hehe

    dinos22
     
  2. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    i benched with 400Mhz stap first and found it a bit slow

    this run should have been under 7m 40s

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Craigleberry

    Craigleberry Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Location:
    Under_YoUr_nose
    Very nice indeed mon. Great work! That motherboard looks mean too. A 1GHz core on the 4890's !. All I can get out of mine is 990MHz stock cooling ,needs voltage to get more.
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2009
  4. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    hey man yeah 980Mhz max on both cards on stock volts

    i increased the volts through rivatuner to get more clocks

    i was actually limited by CCC core limit. Both cards are capable of benching at 1090/1172 1.43v
     
  5. biasasaja

    biasasaja Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Melbourne
    :thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:


    nice :)

    how do u increase volts in rivatuner??
     
  6. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
  7. biasasaja

    biasasaja Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Melbourne
  8. Nova Phoenix

    Nova Phoenix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,239
    dinos mate, how long would that E8600 last with 2v going through it? Surely not long even with LN2??
     
  9. gaspah

    gaspah Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,926
    Location:
    om nom nom nom
    6.6Ghz on a 45nm core2 very nice indeed....
     
  10. mitsimonsta

    mitsimonsta Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    10,993
    Location:
    2161 / 2060
    I owe dinos another beer I reckon..... excellent results.

    Hopefully you can get a similar result in the Gigabyte comp....:thumbup:
     
  11. bob(nz)

    bob(nz) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    RADelaide
    Dino - that E8600 is smoking man :thumbup: Finally found a good one huh :D

    Nice benching over the weekend - definitely helping the team cause :leet:
     
  12. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    long enough :D
     
  13. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    thanks bob
    nice going today with those vantage numbers
    i am trying to source a GTX295 or two to give ya a run for ya money :D


    mitsimonsta LOL didnt realise you owe me a beer already :D nice hehehe
     
  14. Flux

    Flux Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,511
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Egads, nice work.
     
  15. bob(nz)

    bob(nz) Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    917
    Location:
    RADelaide
    Bring it on brother :p

    Got the pots mounted on my cards ready for some 800+ core LN2 action - just need to get the dewar filled before the weekend:wired:

    Might also try this CPU back on LN2 - reckon I might get another 50-100mhz over the cascade - struggling to maintain temp a little when beching 4.9G plus 3D :weirdo:

    :lol::lol::lol:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 11, 2009
  16. tuchan

    tuchan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Loving that E8600, 2.0Vcore, I like:thumbup: Good job on the AM3 mate, will it run any higher clocks 3D?
     
  17. n3wbi379

    n3wbi379 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,600
    Location:
    Melb
    mmmmmmmmmm nice cpu :thumbup:

    Time to go over to ur other thread and vote heheheheh :D
     
  18. xms3500

    xms3500 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Swan Hill Vic
    Very nice dino, those benches and scores are mind blowing.:thumbup:

    Just a quick question the E8600, is that the one I traded you for the Corsair Nautilus 500?
     
  19. OP
    OP
    dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    :lol: yeah dude
    this is the first time i fired it up since we traded
    can ya believe how good it is :D
     
  20. xms3500

    xms3500 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Swan Hill Vic

    That's good to hear that it turned out to be a good one m8, as I would never have pushed it that far.:thumbup:

    Looking forward to seeing if you can push it a little bit further.:)
     

Share This Page