1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

TeamGroup TForce 4000mhz

Discussion in 'Memory' started by Bolter01, Mar 10, 2020.

  1. Bolter01

    Bolter01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Ricktatership
    Testing out some TeamGroup TForce 4000mhzCL18,22,22,22 on ASUS Crosshair Formula VIII & Ryzen 9 3900X

    DSC_0472.JPG DSC_0501.JPG

    @ stock 4000mhz, manual tuning, fabric uncoupled, Samsung IC, stable

    TF4000 2nd Test 18,22,22,42,64.jpg

    yields slightly lower score on TimeSpy than coupled fabric 3600CL16 NEO, though these will also run @3600CL16 for equal results.

    TF400 2nd Test TimeSpy 15160 18CL.jpg

    Fairly dark as RGB goes, nice

    DSC_0538.JPG
    DSC_0530.JPG

    next is to see if the fabric clock can be pushed above 1800.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    Bolter01

    Bolter01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Ricktatership
    no problems pushing FLK beyond 1800 - 1833 -1867

    TF1866flk testing.jpg
     
  3. cbjaust

    cbjaust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,279
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Can you improve tRCD and tRP at any given frequency? The 11ns latency at stock (for tRCD and tRP) is pretty slow, although my focus is on AM4 so I have not really looked into the high frequency bins. At the moment I'm benching a G.Skill kit at 1773MHz CL12.0 12-12-24-36 1T and for perspective CL12 latency at that frequency is 6.77ns. The stock timings of this kit seem slow but you show that tCL can show better latency.
     
    Bolter01 likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    Bolter01

    Bolter01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Ricktatership
    yer exactly, I am sure the kit can tighten a great deal, but ATM I am still working out the GEAR DOWN mode, auto , enabled, disabled.. + other settings. So I have locked in many tRCD and tRP - from 18 -15 in Bio's yet boots at these due to 'some' setting which 'Gear downs' timings for optimum stability. Need to do some more research, the ram is certainly capable

    https://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/team-group-t-force-xtreem-argb-ddr4-review,2.html

    incidentally if a Ryzen owner knows what Im talking about, please feel free to impart your knowledge o7
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 12, 2020
  5. DarkSnipa

    DarkSnipa Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    645
    Location:
    Perth
    I am surprised it is using Samsung chips, judging from timing Teamgroup is clearly planning to put CJR or DJR on this as well. :Paranoid:
     
  6. cbjaust

    cbjaust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,279
    Location:
    Melbourne
    1T with gear down mode is like 1T but only sends commands every second cycle so It's better for stability than 1T gear down mode disabled, but faster than actual 2T command rate. With gear down mode enabled tCL can only be an even number as well.
     
    Bolter01 likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    Bolter01

    Bolter01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Ricktatership
    cheers cbjaust, just for now I ran the Samsung B-die safe @ 16-16 no problems through Ryzen Master - seems to be the way to go ... I was old schooling in Bios and had had Gear Down disabled from the start. Will try tighter tomorrow :thumbup:

    TF3600CL16-16.jpg
     
  8. cbjaust

    cbjaust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,279
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Cool, cinebench is perhaps not the best benchmark to show improvements from faster and/or lower latency memory. Seems my F4-3200C14D-16GTZ will get through R15 at 1841MHz at CL14:
    upload_2020-3-12_20-2-40.png
     
    Bolter01 likes this.
  9. OP
    OP
    Bolter01

    Bolter01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Ricktatership
    some serious low latency :thumbup: I will have a good look at this. Are you using Bios or Ryzen Master for timings?
     
  10. cbjaust

    cbjaust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,279
    Location:
    Melbourne
    That one was Windows 7, so no Ryzen Master (never make the mistake of installing Ryzen Master on Windows 7) but I wouldn't use Ryzen Master for timings anyway. You have to reboot when changing timings in Ryzen Master, No? May as well just reboot and change everything in the BIOS.

    Right now I'm benching an Athlon 3000G and running CL12.0 12-12-24-36 1T.
    upload_2020-3-12_22-28-30.png
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2020
  11. OP
    OP
    Bolter01

    Bolter01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Ricktatership
    so you are using an X370, the fabric clock is locked to mem speed? hence asynch? but you can push them down to 12CL wd!
    yes using Ryzen Master requires a reboot for timings adjustments, yet for some reason I am to discover, timings input in bios is not reflected on boot..? eg: in Bios ATM I have 14-15-15-15-30-50 So I will assume the gear down is active, though it is Disabled.
    All input is manual, no DOCP
    Master allowed to 16-16 timings which I could not do with bios. More research. Appreciate your input cb o7

    Time Spy TF@3600CL16-16-16-15-32-48.jpg
     
  12. cbjaust

    cbjaust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,279
    Location:
    Melbourne
    CPUz says async in the memory tab when running the integrated Vega 3 graphics.
    To test if gear down mode is actually disabled, set TCL to 15 and see if you get 15 or 16 in CPUz.
    3000G is Zen so fclk = uclk = mclk always.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2020
    Bolter01 likes this.
  13. OP
    OP
    Bolter01

    Bolter01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Ricktatership
    amidst the turmoil, a had these Steel Viper 3733 arrive. A nice distraction and something to play with.
    I had been watch Buildzoids channel
    and these seemed like good value.
    So they easily, run FLK 1866 = mem 1866/3733mt even @ 16/19

    1st Steel Viper @16-19.jpg
     
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2020
  14. OP
    OP
    Bolter01

    Bolter01 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Ricktatership
    a little tighter,

    Steel Viper 3733-16-19-19-36-58.jpg
     
  15. cbjaust

    cbjaust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,279
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Have you tried lowering tRCD and tRP?
     
  16. integralfx

    integralfx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Sydney
    They likely won't go lower with CJR/DJR.
     
  17. cbjaust

    cbjaust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,279
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I thought that Patriot kit was B-die
     
    Bolter01 likes this.
  18. integralfx

    integralfx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Sydney
    3733 17-19-19 was B-die but now Patriot does 3733 17-21-21 while using the same part number.

    It also says SK Hynix in the DRAM manufacturer field in CPU-Z.
     
  19. cbjaust

    cbjaust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,279
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ah , yep. I didn't look that closely.
     
  20. Azzan

    Azzan Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    2,650
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I had 32GB(4x 8GB) TeamGroup TForce Xcalibur 4000 RAM(Samsung B-Die) on my previous Intel setup(9900KS + Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite & Asus Maximus XI Extreme), it was awesome RAM imo.
    https://imgur.com/t6x6Hym
    https://imgur.com/vFPZ8Lb
    Ran XMP no problem on both boards and was also able to overclock it to 4000 15-15-15-35 @ ~1.45v-1.50v without any problem, but didn't play around with it much so I didn't try other speed.
     
    Bolter01 likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: