Telstra Cable - Speed Boost worth it?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by the_antipop, Jan 14, 2015.

  1. sanjeevlives

    sanjeevlives Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    Perth
    just a noob question but i cant find the answer in google


    does telstra cable work with the netear d7000 or asus dsl-ac68u?

    has anybody had luck packaging their telstra mobile phone with cable to get a discount?
     
  2. supasaiyan

    supasaiyan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,407
    Location:
    3000
    you need to use the telstra supplied modem (currently there's a couple of modems which you can use, Netgear C3600 aka C6300BD-1TLAUS (Gateway Max) and the Netgear CG3100D-2 or the Home Network Gateway) you can use either of them and then bridge to whatever router you want. But registration to the network is based off the mac address of the modem
     
  3. sanjeevlives

    sanjeevlives Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,785
    Location:
    Perth
    cheers so sounds like better off downgrading to the router only version
     
  4. Annihilator69

    Annihilator69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,032
    Location:
    Perth
    Also don't get the speedboost straight away.
    Call up get free install, free modem etc.

    Then like a month later call up disconnections saying I want to cancel because I was promised it should be a lot faster than my old internet but it doesn't feel that fast.

    They will either throw in a free or 50% off speedboost.
     
  5. sanousie

    sanousie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Sydney
    I've been with telstra for about a year now, can i still call up and say "hey man, my internet has slowed down significantly, i would like to dc my service if you cant make it faster", Do you think this will work?
     
  6. supasaiyan

    supasaiyan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,407
    Location:
    3000
    Telstra Cable (as far as I know) doesn't have a minimum guaranteed speed. IMO, if you tried this, they will most likely send out a tech to investigate your service OR call your bluff
     
  7. Falkor

    Falkor Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,033
    Location:
    Sydney
    Can't hurt, good chance they'll throw you the speedboost free.

    Just say you're not really happy with the performance and it costs you a lot, there are cheaper options etc etc.
     
  8. sanousie

    sanousie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Sydney
    thanks for the reply, i will give this a go, even if they can include it at half price, would still be cool

    Cheers.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    the_antipop

    the_antipop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Just bought a new house that has access to cable! Yay!

    So I found a door-to-door salesman through Whirlpool who is giving me;

    $0 Install
    $79 month for 400gb data
    Free Telstra Air Modem
    3 Months free Foxtel Platinum HD

    However, no speed boost. Is it worth paying an extra $20 for it? Has anyone got experience from not having it, to having it? I have heard it does give you awesome speeds, but sometimes without it, if there aren't too many people on cable, you get decent speeds anyway... What is everyone's thoughts here?

    And is the aforementioned deal worth it?
     
  10. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    138,650
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I've got all that + another 100G and also speedboost thrown in....all for $79/month. I've always had speedboost with my accounts and I assume the difference is 30MB/s without SB and 100MB/s with SB.
     
  11. wintermute000

    wintermute000 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,800
    you want 100M.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    the_antipop

    the_antipop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Man, that's a good deal. How the hell do I replicate that?? haha
     
  13. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    138,650
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I tried sales, not a hope! I tried disconnections, they did it :thumbup:
     
  14. Annihilator69

    Annihilator69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    6,032
    Location:
    Perth
    Lol just because it's on your bill doesn't mean that you were actually on DOCSIS 3 and provisioned properly in the backend.

    As an onsite IT tech, I've seen it so many times. Calls to normal tech support mean nothing as they are retarded and most of them don't even know what Cable is.

    For me I was hard capping 36Mbps and when I got the speed boost I'm getting 115Mbps.

     
  15. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Frankston
    Wrangled speed boost for free today.. Totally worth it, my Usenet queue has gone from 4.2 -> 13.5 MB/S

    The whole process was incredibly easy
    1. Call 1800 429 444
    2. Ask for disconnections
    3. Aware that Optus have some competitive cable plans and to please review my account before I give them a call.
    4. During the review, happy with current data, happy with current calls etc
    5. When topic turns to type of Internet usage - lots of video streaming, downloading, Netflix
    6. I was told my plan was already excellent value, at this point I said "actually I feel my internet speed struggles when 3 or more devices are all on Netflix at the same time, is there anything we could so about the speed"
    7. Boom! Free Speed boost
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2016
  16. oh_noes

    oh_noes Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Messages:
    991
    Location:
    Australia
    I have TPG ADSL and I'm looking at upgrading to 100mbit Telstra. I've got a mate who is about 300m away from me and I'm wondering if he is too far away to determine street congestion? What's the typical perimeter?

    My TPG is fast enough so I don't want to inadvertently move to a more congested option.

    For how long? Just 3 months or indefinitely?
     
  17. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Frankston
    Permanently
     
  18. OP
    OP
    the_antipop

    the_antipop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,717
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    What would you suggest if competitive cable isn't available? Still run with it? Bluff?
    I'm getting my cable installed early next month, and will see how it goes, but if I can get free speed boost, I'll be laughing.
     
  19. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    138,650
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Yep, with disconnections you can usually secure some sort of reasonable discount. Sales don't bother.
     
  20. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    624
    Location:
    Frankston

    Just tell them it is available.. They are not going to check ;)
     

Share This Page