Telstra to roll out 100mbit DOCSIS by Christmas, 200MBit planned...

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by NSanity, Mar 10, 2009.

  1. martino

    martino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,225
    That explains the 5mbps up rather than 2mbps :)
     
  2. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,014
    Location:
    Melbourne
    the bog standard Netgear customer issue router too, but you have to use Win7 - the TCP stack in XP no go that fast.
     
  3. MrSmoke

    MrSmoke Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,368
    Location:
    NSW, Blue Mtns NizzleBiX
    id like to get adsl2 with uploads not counted and 80GB a month for less than $130/month :/
     
  4. Gua5d1aN

    Gua5d1aN Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    2206
    internode can almost deliver that. I'm on adsl2 $79/month 40gb month, no cost to uploads. I mostly game on steam with my connection so almost all of my usage is quota free, and I only use it to dl "stuff"
     
  5. Shortass_Jr

    Shortass_Jr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,443
    Location:
    Melbourne
    sorry to bring this up but melbourne people anyone looked at the new bigpond plans????? 200GB-100mbit connection for 79 a month :) all you need is a new modem and off you go YAY!!!!!
     
  6. hystericalme

    hystericalme (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    904
    I'm getting 100mbit installed tomorrow. It's costing me $109.95 a month though as it's stand alone.
     
  7. timace

    timace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,784
    Location:
    Sydney
    Man, I wish they'd hurry up with 100/2 in Sydney and release a cable plan with >200GB - that would be quite epic.

    ...even still, 200GB 30/1 cable for $100 + VoIP beats 140GB 7/1 ADSL + PSTN for the same price... I'd just have to take it easy on the downloads.
     
  8. hystericalme

    hystericalme (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    904
    Hooray, I have my cable up and running

    [​IMG]

    is nice!
     
  9. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    139,639
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Would this be hitting Adelaide any time in the foreseeable future?
     
  10. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,177
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    where ??? be like optus completing a roll out anywhere....

    think you will need to wait for the NBN
     
  11. martino

    martino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,225
    Telstra have a decent HFC footprint in Adelaide.

    I'd bet against any DOCSIS 3 upgrades that allow 100mbps taking place though. The Melbourne upgrade was fairly major.
     
  12. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    139,639
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Why? We did get the 20 to 30 upgrade.....
     
  13. martino

    martino Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,225
    Political, financial and business reasons.

    The D3 upgrade in Melbourne was major. Virtually everything at each of the parent sites was replaced. It'll be an expensive proposition to upgrade the rest of the country to the same standard.

    The Melb upgrade was done during Sol's term. I suspect it (at least partially) a shot across the government's bows after FTTN discussions broke down.

    The NBN agreement is looming. One of the caveats with the agreement will be that Telstra stop providing broadband services over HFC.

    I've seen/heard zilch internally about major HFC upgrades around the rest of the country.

    I'll be happy to be proven wrong of course.
     
  14. tertle

    tertle Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Wow nice download, but horrible upload which is what I need atm to stream.
     
  15. FiShy

    FiShy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Messages:
    9,682
    Unlie Optus the Telstra hfc network is missing a few things and costs far more to upgrade each city
     
  16. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    139,639
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    The only reason I can see that they won't at the moment is because NBN is pending.
     
  17. Duideka

    Duideka Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Perth
    20-38 was just a software upgrade, but 38-100 needs hardware.
     
  18. Recharge

    Recharge Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    10,019
    Location:
    Brisbane
    funny that, they suddenly innovate when serious challenge appears.. bah
    they've had all this time, their plans are STILL the worse of ANY ISP and they expect people to choose them? pff they can go screw themselves.
    (I truly pity those who have no choice because telstra themselves made it almost impossible to have competition due to rims and other bs)

    telstra couldn't innovate to save their lives! (which could be the case within the decade)
     
  19. hystericalme

    hystericalme (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2004
    Messages:
    904
    I think it's fair to say they've improved a lot under the new CEO. I always swore off all Telstra products but the new prices are better value than before. They've also removed a lot of the excess usage fees and replaced them with caps instead which is a good move.
     
  20. Auriga

    Auriga Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,195
    Location:
    Warnbro, WA
    I've seen Telstra HFC network hardware, updated in all the exchanges I frequent in the last 6 months...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: