TERRA's linear magnetic accelerator project - Project MADELINE

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by TERRA Operative, Jan 27, 2013.

1. TERRA Operative

TERRA Operative Member

Ok, so I've had this one brewing for a while now, and seeing as my Levin build is coming to a close (check the motoring sub-forum for that one), it's finally time to get started.

Let's get the disclaimers out of the way...

DO NOT TRY TO REPLICATE THIS YOURSELF UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES!!

This project will be using high voltages and currents and high velocities which if mistreated can be fatal.
    I am a registered electrician with over a decade of experience, so I have enough knowledge to know exactly why what I am doing is a bad idea. ;)

So what am I making? A Linear magnetic accelerator, otherwise known as a gauss or coil gun.

My design will be a three stage, SCR fired unit with reluctor feedback and 5640uF of capacitance at 400V per stage (12x 470uF, 400V caps per stage).

Also, I'll be designing it to look the part too...

[edit] This project has now been christened:

Project MADELINE.
    MAgnetic DEvice for LINear accEleration

Thanks to roomandu for the name. :)

Last edited: Apr 17, 2013
  2. OP
    OP
    TERRA Operative

TERRA Operative Member

So, first thing first. I need caps, and lots of them.

Good thing I repair welders for a living and welders contain capacitors, lots of big juicy capacitors.

I've been saving up all the spare parts from faulty inverters and storing them away like an electronic squirrel.

Capacitors, IGBT's and SCR's, Oh my!

[​IMG]

When an IGBT or SCR fails in an inverter, we have to replace them in matched pairs.
    What happens to the second one that is still fine, but unmatched? It ends up with me! :D

That big black module in the centre is good for about 400A continuous at 1200 volts or so. Might have to save that one for a rail gun or something stupid.

3. OP
    OP
    TERRA Operative

TERRA Operative Member