The Amiga Thread

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by breech, Jul 24, 2010.

?

What Amigas do you currently have in your collection?

  1. Amiga 500

    49.3%
  2. Amiga 500+

    7.4%
  3. Amiga 600(HD)

    10.1%
  4. Amiga 1000

    8.8%
  5. Amiga 1200(HD)

    27.7%
  6. Amiga 1500

    0.7%
  7. Amiga 2000(HD)

    15.5%
  8. Amiga 2500(HD)

    2.0%
  9. Amiga 3000(T/UX)

    3.4%
  10. Amiga 4000(T)

    6.8%
  11. Amiga CDTV

    2.0%
  12. Amiga CD32

    15.5%
  13. Amiga Prototype (1000+/3000+/3500/Other)

    0.7%
  14. Amiga Compatible (Draco/Access/Minimig/Pegasos/MIST)

    2.7%
  15. AmigaOne (SE/XE/MicroA1)

    2.0%
  16. AmigaOne (500/X1000)

    0.7%
  17. Emulators - I don't have real Amigas anymore :(

    20.9%
  18. Emulators - I've never seen/owned a real Amiga, but wish I did!

    6.8%
  19. My Amigas are all original - no mods other than original expansion cards, accelerator cards, RAM car

    12.2%
  20. My Amigas feature modern-day modifications such as DVI/HDMI/IDE/SATA/USB/RAM/CPU/GOTEK and CF upgrad

    7.4%
  21. I own a mix of original and modified Amigas.

    14.2%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. kbekus

    kbekus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    Pascoe Vale, Melbourne
    Very cool. It is amazing how tight those Zorro II slots are. I remember shitting myself installing a 2386 daughtercard back in the day, I had to put a fair bit of body weight behind it to get it to seat.
     
  2. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5,838
    Location:
    Dark City
    Wow very cool. Nice upgrade for old boxy Amigas.
    I love that stuff.
     
  3. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    13,847
    Installing System 7.5 on my Amiga 1200 using Shapeshifter. Considering this is literally running as a VM on my A1200 with a 68030 @ 40mhz performance is actually very impressive - Faster than I remember my Powerbook 160 running in the day. Had to increase the memory size so I could install the OS:

    [​IMG]
     
    elvis, Phido, bYrd and 3 others like this.
  4. adz

    adz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,364
    Location:
    Melbourne
    If you want to run MacOS fast, run it on an Amiga :tongue:
     
    flu!d likes this.
  5. matto20v

    matto20v Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Without asking for a how-to, how easy or difficult is it to get MacOS going on an Amiga. I've seen it, never done it, always wanted to do it.
     
  6. bYrd

    bYrd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,953
    Location:
    NE Melbourne
    Cool to see - fire up fast twitch games like Shufflepuck Cafe, see how it performs!
     
  7. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,232
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast
    Not hard really, there’s a few guides out there. I did it a few years ago. I wanted to play the Mac version of Wolf3d but it runs at 640x480 which my Commodore monitor can’t handle, plus it really needs an 040 for decent performance.
     
    matto20v likes this.
  8. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    13,847
    How did you get the Mac games into the Macintosh VM(?!) Under Shapeshifter?

    It's something I haven't tackled yet, but I was thinking of it the other night wondering how, exactly, I might do it?
     
  9. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    13,847
    It's actually remarkably simple to get up and running, as soon as I get my head around a few more of the more advanced aspects myself I'll write up a guide.
     
    Phido likes this.
  10. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,232
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast
    I honestly don’t remember. I know when I’ve used Sheepshaver on PC I can just open the disk image with HFVExplorer and copy files that way? I may have done something similar on the Amiga, by saving the Mac files on a FAT formatted CF card and mounting it on my PC.
     
  11. matto20v

    matto20v Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    That would be AWESOME!
     
  12. Flamin Joe

    Flamin Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,227
    Location:
    4300
    Saw this neat little project for users like me who still prefer to use original floppies. A guy named Keir Fraser (same guy that did FlashFloppy) has developed a program called Greaseweazle which from what I understand allows you to read/write Amiga disks using a PC Floppy via a STM32 interface.

    Very early days as this is just the first release but looks promising.

    https://github.com/keirf/Greaseweazle
     
    breech, nic55, elvis and 1 other person like this.
  13. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    37,986
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Ah this is awesome. There are mature products like this for Apple computers already. Happy to see the idea spreading. It's a huge boom for preservation.
     
    Flamin Joe likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: