The Amiga Thread

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by breech, Jul 24, 2010.

?

What Amigas do you currently have in your collection?

  1. Amiga 500

    50.3%
  2. Amiga 500+

    7.9%
  3. Amiga 600(HD)

    11.9%
  4. Amiga 1000

    9.9%
  5. Amiga 1200(HD)

    28.5%
  6. Amiga 1500

    0.7%
  7. Amiga 2000(HD)

    15.2%
  8. Amiga 2500(HD)

    2.0%
  9. Amiga 3000(T/UX)

    4.0%
  10. Amiga 4000(T)

    7.3%
  11. Amiga CDTV

    3.3%
  12. Amiga CD32

    17.2%
  13. Amiga Prototype (1000+/3000+/3500/Other)

    0.7%
  14. Amiga Compatible (Draco/Access/Minimig/Pegasos/MIST)

    2.6%
  15. AmigaOne (SE/XE/MicroA1)

    2.6%
  16. AmigaOne (500/X1000)

    0.7%
  17. Emulators - I don't have real Amigas anymore :(

    19.2%
  18. Emulators - I've never seen/owned a real Amiga, but wish I did!

    6.6%
  19. My Amigas are all original - no mods other than original expansion cards, accelerator cards, RAM car

    11.9%
  20. My Amigas feature modern-day modifications such as DVI/HDMI/IDE/SATA/USB/RAM/CPU/GOTEK and CF upgrad

    9.3%
  21. I own a mix of original and modified Amigas.

    13.9%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. kbekus

    kbekus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,159
    Location:
    Pascoe Vale, Melbourne
    Very cool. It is amazing how tight those Zorro II slots are. I remember shitting myself installing a 2386 daughtercard back in the day, I had to put a fair bit of body weight behind it to get it to seat.
     
  2. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,147
    Location:
    Dark City
    Wow very cool. Nice upgrade for old boxy Amigas.
    I love that stuff.
     
  3. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    14,566
    Installing System 7.5 on my Amiga 1200 using Shapeshifter. Considering this is literally running as a VM on my A1200 with a 68030 @ 40mhz performance is actually very impressive - Faster than I remember my Powerbook 160 running in the day. Had to increase the memory size so I could install the OS:

    [​IMG]
     
    elvis, Phido, bYrd and 3 others like this.
  4. adz

    adz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Melbourne
    If you want to run MacOS fast, run it on an Amiga :tongue:
     
    flu!d likes this.
  5. matto20v

    matto20v Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Without asking for a how-to, how easy or difficult is it to get MacOS going on an Amiga. I've seen it, never done it, always wanted to do it.
     
  6. bYrd

    bYrd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,987
    Location:
    NE Melbourne
    Cool to see - fire up fast twitch games like Shufflepuck Cafe, see how it performs!
     
  7. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,273
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast
    Not hard really, there’s a few guides out there. I did it a few years ago. I wanted to play the Mac version of Wolf3d but it runs at 640x480 which my Commodore monitor can’t handle, plus it really needs an 040 for decent performance.
     
    matto20v likes this.
  8. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    14,566
    How did you get the Mac games into the Macintosh VM(?!) Under Shapeshifter?

    It's something I haven't tackled yet, but I was thinking of it the other night wondering how, exactly, I might do it?
     
  9. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    14,566
    It's actually remarkably simple to get up and running, as soon as I get my head around a few more of the more advanced aspects myself I'll write up a guide.
     
    Phido likes this.
  10. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,273
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast
    I honestly don’t remember. I know when I’ve used Sheepshaver on PC I can just open the disk image with HFVExplorer and copy files that way? I may have done something similar on the Amiga, by saving the Mac files on a FAT formatted CF card and mounting it on my PC.
     
  11. matto20v

    matto20v Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    That would be AWESOME!
     
  12. Flamin Joe

    Flamin Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,382
    Location:
    4300
    Saw this neat little project for users like me who still prefer to use original floppies. A guy named Keir Fraser (same guy that did FlashFloppy) has developed a program called Greaseweazle which from what I understand allows you to read/write Amiga disks using a PC Floppy via a STM32 interface.

    Very early days as this is just the first release but looks promising.

    https://github.com/keirf/Greaseweazle
     
    breech, nic55, elvis and 1 other person like this.
  13. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    39,282
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Ah this is awesome. There are mature products like this for Apple computers already. Happy to see the idea spreading. It's a huge boom for preservation.
     
    Flamin Joe likes this.
  14. aXLe

    aXLe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,204
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I recently purchased a Gotek drive, flashed it with Flashfloppy firmware and downloaded a pre-made gotek USB image off the EAB FTP (Akira image). This seems pretty good - has around 903 disk slots used so a few slots free to add to the image. I'd be keen to know if there are any other pre-made gotek images one can download?

    I'm also keen to learn of any prepackaged hard disk images out there with all the WHDload stuff (I have to set up a new compact flash drive in an A600, and rebuild one in an A1200 - looking to save some time!).
     
  15. DonutKing

    DonutKing Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,273
    Location:
    Tweed/Gold Coast
    Certainly is, look on the EAB FTP/google drive under Commodore Amiga > Retroplay

    It's what I use and its updated regularly. http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=61028 :)
     
  16. Martyn

    Martyn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    553
    Location:
    Belgrave Heights, VIC
    I've got a working (well it boots & asks for a disc) Mac Plus I want to play around with, but haven't come across any boot media etc. If you know of anything similar to Greaseweazle that you could point me to that'd be great.

    My google skills are failing me :-(
     
  17. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    39,282
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Applesauce is the project name:
    https://wiki.reactivemicro.com/Applesauce

    And a bunch of images on Archive.org:
    https://archive.org/details/flux_capacity
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2019
    Martyn likes this.
  18. aXLe

    aXLe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,204
    Location:
    Brisbane
  19. aXLe

    aXLe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,204
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2019
  20. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    39,282
    Location:
    Brisbane

Share This Page

Advertisement: