1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

The Android App Thread

Discussion in 'Google Android (OS & Devices)' started by Susilo, May 6, 2010.

  1. TheWatcher

    TheWatcher Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    761
    Have you played Kittens game?
     
  2. Supplanter

    Supplanter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Wobbies World
  3. sir_bazz

    sir_bazz Team Papparazi

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,818
    Location:
    Mentone, Vic.
    Time to ditch Firefox?
    Can live with the new design but just discovered about:config is no longer accessible.

    What would be the next best Mozilla browser for Android?
     
  4. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Broadview SA
    I believe they leave it enabled in the beta and nightly versions.
     
  5. sir_bazz

    sir_bazz Team Papparazi

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,818
    Location:
    Mentone, Vic.
    Cheers..... will have a look.
     
  6. NanoDuke

    NanoDuke Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7,813
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah I forgot to mention I'm grinding Egg Inc, too. Currently at 372Q% EB, and in a private discord server to manage coops lol.

    But I did find Crafting Idle Clicker, which is kinda like Factorio, so it has some intelligence to it. It's keeping me happy for now :p
     
  7. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    9,181
    Well good bye google play music. today i was forced off of it due to the "shutdown"...

    youtube music is total hot trash if you do not want to pay a sub.

    I've migrated to VLC. wasnt fun and i lose notification slider and swipe controls but it does everything else i need it to do for a no bullshit free player:
    • doesnt spam me ads
    • doesnt make me pay for a sub
    • supports file metadata
    • plays with screen on or off, to any bluetooth device (music control smart watch, car, buds, etc) - basically acting as the default android player
    • create playlist from directory(s)
    • is at least a somewhat trusted app dev

    what a way to start the day ...
     
    pepsimax likes this.
  8. dainese

    dainese Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,786
    Location:
    Sydney
    Years ago, we all marvelled at the polyphonic ringtones of that era. Over the years I found that ringtones would startle me (probably because I am in my own world all the time and lost). So I turned them off and set to vibrate only. Now the vibrate is a bit startling. I miss phone calls more often than not as a result.

    My main question is whether I can set a ringtone just for phone calls and all other notifications as vibrate and/or silent etc?

    Using Pixel 4 XL. Would prefer not to install another app if possible?
     
  9. NanoDuke

    NanoDuke Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    7,813
    Location:
    Sydney
    Dude, that's just your general notification settings. You just need to delve into your settings.
    I have one MP3 ringtone for calls.
    One Mp3 dog whistle for Whatsapp messages only from my partner.
    One Mp3 ding for all other WhatsApp messages.
    Then whatever the default tone is for SMS messages.
    A different one again for Facebook messages.

    With Android, it's all basically a unique setting for each app.
    Similar to my different Whatsapp tones, you can have personalised ringtones for different contacts if you wish i.e. keep it silent/vibrate only for unknown/blocked callers, a standard ringer for all others, and an air raid siren for your boss calling you, for example.

    Check out this Google help page
    https://support.google.com/pixelphone/answer/2819577
     
  10. archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,082
    Location:
    western sydney
    How do you reorder the credit/debit cards in Google pay?
     
  11. guy.incogneto

    guy.incogneto Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,976
    Location:
    Melbourne
    In the app, swipe to the right to open the menu. Click on "payment methods".
    Click and hold to drag the order you want.

    Note: the one on the top does not automatically become the default payment method for when you tap from the homescreen. You set that manually in the cards settings
     
    Dass Booty and archie like this.
  12. archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,082
    Location:
    western sydney
    Thanks omg it's been bugging me forever.. Glad I asked so simple but I never found it

    Used to be just on the home screen about 5-6 months ago
     
  13. rickbishop

    rickbishop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,882
    Location:
    Petrie, QLD
    So, I'm using Launcher10 as my home screen, but the default contacts app shits me to tears. Anyone got a good contacts app that acts like windows phone?
     
  14. sir_bazz

    sir_bazz Team Papparazi

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,818
    Location:
    Mentone, Vic.
    Looks like John Wu has finished his tenure at Google, or he's gained management approval to continue work on his pet project, but either way, Magisk development is back on again.

    Great news for those who desire full admin rights of our devices.
     
  15. archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,082
    Location:
    western sydney
    I use Android auto in my car via the head unit and pocket casts for podcasts.

    In the last 2-3wks can't find pocket casts in the Android auto launcher.. disappeared!

    Any ideas?
     
  16. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,767
    Location:
    Broadview SA
    There's a Customise Launcher option in the settings of the Android Auto app - might have turned itself off? Failing that, you might need to reinstall the app, a quick google suggests this is just something that afflicts people randomly from time to time over the last 2 years or so.
     
  17. archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,082
    Location:
    western sydney
    Aah yes that option!
    Thanks.. hmm think I'm getting old.. can't remember

    After 1wk without it.. Today it magically reappeared all by itself
     
  18. KANNIS

    KANNIS Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2003
    Messages:
    9,951
    Location:
    Sydney
    Are you guy shaving trouble paying for your Opal Top up on the Opal Travel app?

    It won't accept payment even though the debit card works. Dialog box comes up when paying saying "Contact your Financial Institution"
     
  19. supasaiyan

    supasaiyan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,777
    Location:
    3000
  20. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    68,463
    Location:
    brisbane

Share This Page

Advertisement: