The Beginning

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by C-BuZz, Jun 21, 2005.

  1. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    that's interesting...........wasn't that load temp similar to other cooler (assuming it's the same Opty 144 from before).......have you tried pushing higher to keep those temps...........what sort of idle did you see
     
  2. OP
    OP
    C-BuZz

    C-BuZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    5,122
    Location:
    Melb, East
    was trying to simulate a decent heatload so I used 1.7v, idle temps drop to -35/-40c, the evap hovers around -50c idle.

    cant clock the cpu any higher as it just crashes :(

    i'll have another opty here shortly which i'll give her a good run with.

    C-BuZz
     
  3. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    you've got a love of CPU :D

    what stepping is the new sucker
     
  4. T_M

    T_M Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,164
    Location:
    Abu Dhabi (ex-Adelaide)
    99%+ it will be cold bugged also :Paranoid:
     
  5. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    probably true but i have seen Opterons on XS that can manage that sort of cold

    also c-buzz you can put a copper plate between evap and IHS to raise temps a bit
     
  6. [HJ]-RedRaven

    [HJ]-RedRaven Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    Kalamunda, Perth
    Just read the whole thread - great stuff here fellas.

    Wonder if my FX-57 would be cold-bugged :D she does 3035 on the stock cooler which isn't bad.

    Whats hvac cert? (gueessing its for refrig technicians etc to handle the other refrigerants?)

    Maybe Melb's high temps are due to the ozone being depleted above c-buzz house :p
     
  7. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    what stepping is your FX?
     
  8. [HJ]-RedRaven

    [HJ]-RedRaven Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    Kalamunda, Perth
    This one is an FX-57 CAB2E San Diego.

    ADAFX57DAA5BN
    CAB2E 0530VPMW
    Y962691H50077

    Waiting for my watercooling stuff to get shipped over from Sydney, but watching this thread with interest. I thought fridge compressors etc were dangerous to fiddle around with. Lack of knowledge I expect :p
     
  9. DeNs

    DeNs Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Cool, lucky for him :) And thanks. 3150 is Glen Waverley/Wheelers Hill, but yeah, it's pretty much next to knox.

    Boronia isn't far really.

    ---dens
     
  10. OP
    OP
    C-BuZz

    C-BuZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    5,122
    Location:
    Melb, East
    CABYE 0540 FPBW, from what i've read, should have fairly good chance of not having cold bug :)

    anyway, if it does i'll have to adjust the temps on my SS as its a good clocker.

    C-BuZz
     
  11. T_M

    T_M Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,164
    Location:
    Abu Dhabi (ex-Adelaide)
    Most likely coldbugged
     
  12. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    unfortunately you have a CAB2E which is a definite cold bugged CPU.....according to experienced XS members .....so water is your best way of cooling :thumbup:
     
  13. groovetek

    groovetek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    SE Melbourne, 3150
    man, u guys have been playing alot lately... while i've just been not oc'ing/benching and stuff... damn it's been ages since i'd spend a few hours sitting there using diff settings, stresstesting, benching, etc...

    so what's the go - is my CABYE coldbugged? 0540 FPBW or something (omg... can't believe i've even forgoten the stepping)
     
  14. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    going too OT here but.................well it's pot luck.......some are cold at zero or -10/20/30/40...........even up to -70/80/90

    also HTT speeds affects your OCs.....seems 265MHz is a cold limit for a lot of CPUs that reach a certain temp....hence why having an FX is great...........

    but CAB2E or whatever the stepping is certainly has been confirmed on numerous occasions INCLUDING one of c-buzz's Opterons with that stepping that they absolutely HATE cold...........apparently they've been optimised for air (memory controllers that is)
     
  15. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    that stepping should be very good :D......hit prediction -25C Optimum temps.....just keep the memory controller busy when idling :D (I suggest you let F@H client work in the background-------since it's a low priority task it will stop once you start to bench hence not interrupting your benching)

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showpost.php?p=1168353&postcount=10

    another good tip how to get a decent OC on a cold bugged CPU ;)
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?p=1162117
     
  16. OP
    OP
    C-BuZz

    C-BuZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    5,122
    Location:
    Melb, East
  17. dinos22

    dinos22 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    12,329
    hey Ben.....try my suggestion from last post (.....i'd use console version of F@H (see sig for setup) and OC with Clockgen and A64Tweaker :D

    p.s. back at work today :( ....lucky OCAU's there to comfort me hehehe

    btw. love the temps at 1.7vcore :eek:
     
  18. OP
    OP
    C-BuZz

    C-BuZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    5,122
    Location:
    Melb, East
    shouldnt you be working? :D

    it usually freezes before I even get into Windows :(

    never tried those other two, i'll give em a crack when I get my other opty as I dont have the system setup atm.

    edit: that was at 1.6vcore. 1.7vcore sat on around -17c the whole way through. I'll put it up if you want to see it. Was trying to find a nice balance of freezback to keep the compressor a little cooler so I had to sacrifice some evap temps :)


    C-BuZz
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2006
  19. OP
    OP
    C-BuZz

    C-BuZz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    5,122
    Location:
    Melb, East
  20. groovetek

    groovetek Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    2,972
    Location:
    SE Melbourne, 3150
    lucky bastard... no cold bug... hehe i woudln't know if my 0540 CABYE has cold but or not, but so far booting up at negatives in idle, it's fine...

    IHS is coming off today, so i expect 5+ degree drop in idle, 15+ degree drop in load.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: