The BIG Apple iPhone 3G Discussion: Launched 11th July 2008!

Discussion in 'Apple iOS (OS & Devices)' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Jun 7, 2008.

?

What will they announce?

Poll closed Jun 13, 2008.
  1. 3G iPhone?

    82.0%
  2. New Macbook?

    11.5%
  3. New Macbook Pro?

    18.0%
  4. OS X 10.6?

    19.7%
  5. Other?

    11.5%
  6. I don't care either way..

    13.1%
Multiple votes are allowed.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KRiSX

    KRiSX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7,906
    Location:
    North-west Sydney
    that'd be right...

    i'd be more than happy to not run jailbroken... but i now can't live without my themes, sounds and some of the kool apps that i doubt will ever make it to the app store (emulators and quake)
     
  2. kogi

    kogi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,613
    Location:
    2031
    You should still be able to DFU upgrade using itunes 7.7.

    itunes 8 works fine with my jailbroken iphone.
     
  3. toshin

    toshin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    sydney
    dammit, optus iphone handset repayments have increased a couple of bucks on each plan.
     
  4. KRiSX

    KRiSX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7,906
    Location:
    North-west Sydney
    yeah mine works fine too... but once they release 2.1... they now have to work out how to get around itunes 8 and pwn 2.1... :S

    may just have to go back to 7.7

    EDIT: damn! i knew my couple of weeks of pwned goodness would come to an end eventually... i went to install the macman game and it froze... now it won't boot... god damn it!!! oh well... looks like its back to stock for me... unless i can be bothered uninstalling itunes 8 and installing 7.7... bah!
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2008
  5. N1zmo

    N1zmo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Perth, 6065
    hmmm

    just wondering if there are any apps that allow me to stream internet radio (mainly DI.FM) via wi-fi or the 3g network.

    anyone got any ideas?
     
  6. antomathy

    antomathy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,315
    Location:
    Sydney
    i just downlaoded a app called visualradio..

    it does just that exactly and works real good, even over 3g

    thousands of stations to choose from to
     
  7. indierokkr

    indierokkr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    South Perth
    2.1 is out, I will update you on improvements when its all downloaded :)
     
  8. Warpy

    Warpy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    3,948
    I'm also just updating mine and the wife's as I type, I'll report back if any problems :)
     
  9. indierokkr

    indierokkr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    559
    Location:
    South Perth
    Ok, I am noticing an increase in signal bars, new icons for 3G.

    no contact lag.

    no sms lag.

    genius playback.

    iPhone seems to be faster.

    backup time reduced.
     
  10. KRiSX

    KRiSX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7,906
    Location:
    North-west Sydney
    updating now... the features/fixes list is just too tempting
     
  11. mliuboy

    mliuboy (Taking a Break)

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,302
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Over the coming days, please let us know of any noticeable battery life improvements! :D
     
  12. KRiSX

    KRiSX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7,906
    Location:
    North-west Sydney
    i use Tuner... cost $7.99 but is very very good!
     
  13. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    I just found "Flutter" iPhone App, which allows you to do MMS. http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=290249148&mt=8

    _____________________

    So these are all the bug fixes...

    Honestly the one in bold "improved accuracy of the 3G signal strength display" is just another way to say: since you've had shitty 3G reception, we'll change the way it reads the signal to make you "think" you have better reception.
     
  14. KRiSX

    KRiSX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7,906
    Location:
    North-west Sydney
    wow... 2.1 was worth loosing my jailbreak... so much quicker!
     
  15. blixpho

    blixpho Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,197
    Location:
    Melbourne
    there doesnt seem to be any more typing lag :D
     
  16. KRiSX

    KRiSX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7,906
    Location:
    North-west Sydney
    yeah not to mention that apps install extremely quick... backups are extremely quick... well done apple!!
     
  17. blixpho

    blixpho Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,197
    Location:
    Melbourne
    ahhh when updating apps it doesnt move them to the last page anymore.... awesome, just keeps getting better
     
  18. KRiSX

    KRiSX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    7,906
    Location:
    North-west Sydney
    if only apple would introduce theme support and custom message tones in the standard firmware... i'd be sooooo happy
     
  19. Flamous

    Flamous Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2003
    Messages:
    779
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I thought the same thing. My reception at home was never awesome, but I had a 3G connection and could make calls without any difficulty. Now its full signal strength.

    Is it really getting better signal or just displaying it differently to before?
     
  20. OP
    OP
    DiGiTaL MoNkEY

    DiGiTaL MoNkEY Inverted Monkey

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    26,896
    Location:
    Melbourne, Victoria
    My problem is, how do you actually know 3g reception is better? as the iphone won't tell you when you are running on 2g or 3g...With 3g disabled, i always have full bars :D which can be mistaken as 3G because the logo does not change.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page