The BIG Apple iPhone 4 Discussion

Discussion in 'Apple iOS (OS & Devices)' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,426
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Oh my bad, forgot I have that set as default. The plans are the same anyway, business just gets free voicemail and different SLA's.
     
  2. L4ncer

    L4ncer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Sorry if this has been answered but I couldn't find what I was looking for.
    I'm new to iPhones, both myself and my girlfriend recently got iPhone 4s but I'm a bit confused about syncing.

    Both myself and my girlfriend will be using the same iTunes (on my computer) as she doesn't know how to do it on her own.. but anyway.

    So my question is, if I download some apps, is there anyway to keep these separate so she can also download apps she wants and have hers sync to her phone and mine sync to my phone? I know how to download apps etc but not sure how using 2 phones on the one iTunes works.

    Any help would be appreciated :D
     
  3. Carbonfibre

    Carbonfibre (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,394
    Pretty sure App's are linked to the account, so if you and your handbrake both have seperate accounts it should be fine (actually thinking on it now you will need to have seperate accounts)
     
  4. L4ncer

    L4ncer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    316
    Hmm well she just created an itunes store account today (your talking about store account right?) so that makes sense.. but what doesn't make sense is that once myself and her have downloaded apps with our separate accounts, they will still appear in the one library right? So how can we prevent the apps from my account going onto her iphone and so on.
     
  5. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,426
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It's based off the phone, not itunes from my understanding
     
  6. msconfig

    msconfig Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    Use the same iTunes account so that you only have to pay for apps once despite on 2 devices (limit: 5 devices).

    If you want to sync it seperately then you could make two seperate iTunes library. To do this:

    1. Hold shift and click iTunes on your start menu. You will be prompted to select a library or create a new one.
    2. Click create a new library and choose a location of where you want it to store.
    3. Sync your girlfriends iPhone to that library.

    If you want to sync yours then close iTunes, hold shift and click iTunes again, select your library then connect your iPhone to do a sync. Obviously the same steps when you want to go sync back with your girlfriends iPone.

    Ta Da!
     
  7. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,426
    Location:
    Brisbane
    iTunes keeps filling up my ssd with crap (pretty sure backing up my contacts/settings/sms's doesn't take 4gb) is there a way to limit what it backs up?
    *edit* Actually I think the problem is that it's syncing apps (I needed to enable this so I could install an app from the .ipa file), is there a way to turn that off without wiping the apps off my phone? Seems a pretty damn flawed system...
     
  8. bryn

    bryn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,782
    Location:
    Sydney
    plug your phone in, click on it in the sidebar then click the "apps" tab up the top. you can specify what syncs to the phone. do the same on the other one :)
     
  9. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,426
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Actually a better option is to probably just not use itunes at all, what are people using for syncing up music libraries atm? Without itunes obviously :p
     
  10. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,870
    Location:
    New Zealand
    same its damn annoying............:mad:
     
  11. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,426
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yeah it's silly, I want to de tick app syncing but it'll wipe my phone >.<
     
  12. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,426
    Location:
    Brisbane
  13. mazmorbid

    mazmorbid (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,566
    Location:
    Brisbane 4114
  14. millsy

    millsy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,426
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Lol considering it's not even out yet to the general public it's a pretty solid effort imo (if not stupid for releasing it before it came out)
     
  15. dingdong555

    dingdong555 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,176
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    Guys, telstra have my IMEI to unlock my phone, do I have to have my Sim card in when I restore for it to say "unlock successful" or can I have NO sim card in and it will still be successful?
     
  16. msconfig

    msconfig Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    2 options:
    1. Do a restore. This method would not require another carriers sim card.
    2. Do a sync. This method would require another carriers sim card - Plug the carriers sim in and perform a sync.

    Personally I did method 2 as I didn't want to install 4.2 (I'm still on 4.0.1 :D)
     
  17. dingdong555

    dingdong555 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,176
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    Yeah, still no unlock yet.

    But, I need to ship this phone to the new buyer tomorrow, so, if I do, and it isn't unlocked, can I still call telstra and give them the IMEI for them to unlock (even though my simcard isn't in the phone) and it will be unlocked when the new owner does a restore/whatever?
     
  18. msconfig

    msconfig Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    524
    Yep you can do that. Neither Telstra or iTunes would know you sold it :p

    EDIT: I just noticed you specifically made reference to your own sim card. No that would not be necessary. If they want to perform an unlock using a restore all that is required is a Telstra sim. Also note that the process may take a few days
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2011
  19. brayway

    brayway Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    6,870
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Yea, i Sold my old 3GS to a friend who is also on 3, he just re-sold it again, and need it unlocked, i just gave 3 the last 4 digits of the imei and they unlocked it, took 48 Hrs but just checked a couple of hourse ago and it is done, i requested it on sunday :thumbup:
     
  20. dingdong555

    dingdong555 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,176
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    So they'll need a Telstra SIM?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: