The C64 (and other 8-bit Commodore machines) thread.

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by lupin, Nov 8, 2014.

?

What 8-bit Commodore machines do you have in your collection?

  1. Commodore KIM-1

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Commodore PET/CBM

    2 vote(s)
    2.6%
  3. Commodore CBM-II (B128/B256/128-80/256-80/500/600/610/700)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Commodore MAX

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Commodore VIC-20

    9 vote(s)
    11.5%
  6. Commodore 64 (The older brown fat model known as the "Breadbin")

    40 vote(s)
    51.3%
  7. Commodore 64C (The newer beige slim model)

    37 vote(s)
    47.4%
  8. Commodore 64GS

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  9. Commodore SX-64

    4 vote(s)
    5.1%
  10. Commodore Educator 64

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  11. Commodore 16

    4 vote(s)
    5.1%
  12. Commodore 116 (Cost-reduced version of the C16 sold only in Europe)

    1 vote(s)
    1.3%
  13. Commodore Plus/4

    5 vote(s)
    6.4%
  14. Commodore 128

    8 vote(s)
    10.3%
  15. Commodore 128D

    8 vote(s)
    10.3%
  16. Commodore 128DCR (Cost-reduced and bug-corrected version of the C128D)

    2 vote(s)
    2.6%
  17. Commodore Prototype/Unreleased (C65/C900/LCD/Other)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  18. Commodore Emulator - I don't have real Commodore 8-bit machines anymore :(

    13 vote(s)
    16.7%
  19. Commodore Emulator - I've never seen/owned real Commodore 8-bit machines, but wish I did!

    1 vote(s)
    1.3%
  20. Commodore Remake - FPGA or similar modern day implementation

    1 vote(s)
    1.3%
  21. Commodore Candy - I thought Commodore was a car model...?

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. Flamin Joe

    Flamin Joe Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    4,204
    Location:
    4300
    I didn't realise that guy had a website, that's awesome. I brought a Switchless JiffyDos replacement ROM from him off eBay a little while back. Works great!

    Really? I must of got really lucky. I picked up a couple of Competition Pro's back in May (within a day of each other no less) for around $40 each including postage. Pretty sure at least one of them was an auction but no one else bid on it much to my surprise.
     
  2. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    13,553
    If I could somehow find a 1541 JiffyDOS EPROM for my 1541 I'd be happy as a pig in shit. Damn things are impossible to find. :)
     
  3. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,016
    Location:
    Australia
    Of the 3 sticks I have for my C64 - below - the Slik Stik is my fave. I thought someone was taking the piss when it arrived because it's so small, but it's comfortable to hold and has a really short, accurate throw - it hardly moves at all.

    The Zip Stik is a good option too, but I only keep the Wico around for nostalgia purposes - not a great stick to use. Maybe they loosen up with use (mine's NOS) but it's a big, heavy thing and I have no idea how my 10 year-old self manage to use one.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    flu!d and MUTMAN like this.
  4. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    13,553
    I'm still using my TAC2, the original one I bought in 1986 - I managed to kill every other joystick playing Decathlon but this one!

    It's not a bad device, however it's sensitivity could be better, tends to make you fatigue quickly. Sorry for the grainy phone photo.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    5,731
    Location:
    Dark City
    I managed to hook my C64 up to my 55" lcd. New av cable means video and audio are working now and audio through the return channel works great. Really happy with the sound. Image is a bit blurry, but I can live with it.

    My SD2IEC works great, particularly quick with my new final cart III+. I also have my tape deck for my original tape games.

    But my quickshot joypad VII sucks. the are NOS , but you can see why they didn't sell. They really do suck and make the whole experience unsatisfying. Rapid fire is good though. The kids might like them as they are light and fairly small.
     
  6. macplus

    macplus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    106
    Not sure which thread but this will do.

    Just had a gander at Cash Converters, The Valley, in Brisbane and they have an SX64 sitting there for $200.

    Looked in mainly good condition but didn't see the keyboard cable- maybe sitting out the back.

    Description said powers on with garbage on the screen- bad ram maybe?

    Picked it up and surprised how heavy it is.

    Anyway, bargain for someone?
     
  7. psyolent

    psyolent Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    73
    Hey. The 8250 CIAs from the Amiga do work in the C64C - they do in mine :)
     
  8. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    13,553
  9. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    13,553
    Finally updated the ROM on my 1541 to a JiffyDOS ROM! So much faster, over twice as fast I reckon.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    matz, Oktavius, nimmers and 2 others like this.
  10. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,016
    Location:
    Australia
    Nice neat work! Nice pics too.

    Jiffydos is great.
     
  11. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    13,553
    It's sooo much faster!

    Like the pics? They were taken using my new Oppo R11 smartphone. :)
     
  12. spoon69

    spoon69 Formula 1 Reporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,004
    Location:
    Next to Herbo
    MUTMAN likes this.
  13. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,883
    Location:
    At a desk
    I'm somewhat surprised that JB are even going to be selling it!
     
  14. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,016
    Location:
    Australia
    Yep I didn't realise it was going to be so mainstream. My immediate reaction to these things is "me wants!" but I know I'd never use it when I have the real thing already. I'll be watching the reviews closely though out of interest.
     
  15. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,883
    Location:
    At a desk
    Yeah same here - got the real thing, don't need the Mini, but it is cute. :)

    Disappointed that it only has 64 games out of the entire library available to it. Obviously a deliberate marketing limit, but still...
     
  16. spoon69

    spoon69 Formula 1 Reporter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    5,004
    Location:
    Next to Herbo
    Apparently they have confirmed you'll be able to add games without hacking the device. So I guess it's a wait and see deal on it.

    I just couldnt resist. Figure my two kids might get some fun out of it, and if its easy to use like the mini snes with changing games etc then that will be worth the purchase.
     
    Rass likes this.
  17. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,883
    Location:
    At a desk
    OMG, someone is in the process of porting Eye of the Beholder to the C64, and it looks amazing!

     
    elvis likes this.
  18. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    37,391
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Licensing old games is a legal nightmare. The current copyright system has been abused by large media companies for a long time, and now the process of trying to legally make old games available is difficult, expensive, and often not even conclusive as to who actually owns the rights to things.
     
  19. Oktavius

    Oktavius Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    1,551
    8-Bit guy has a good review. He seems woefully ignorant of the c64 games but he's a great channel.

     
  20. matz

    matz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    334
    Location:
    Sydney
    Nice, I'm looking at doing the same, do you need to install the ROM in both the 64 & 1541 or just one?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: