The C64 (and other 8-bit Commodore machines) thread.

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by lupin, Nov 8, 2014.

?

What 8-bit Commodore machines do you have in your collection?

  1. Commodore KIM-1

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Commodore PET/CBM

    2 vote(s)
    2.3%
  3. Commodore CBM-II (B128/B256/128-80/256-80/500/600/610/700)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Commodore MAX

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Commodore VIC-20

    9 vote(s)
    10.5%
  6. Commodore 64 (The older brown fat model known as the "Breadbin")

    44 vote(s)
    51.2%
  7. Commodore 64C (The newer beige slim model)

    40 vote(s)
    46.5%
  8. Commodore 64GS

    1 vote(s)
    1.2%
  9. Commodore SX-64

    5 vote(s)
    5.8%
  10. Commodore Educator 64

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  11. Commodore 16

    4 vote(s)
    4.7%
  12. Commodore 116 (Cost-reduced version of the C16 sold only in Europe)

    1 vote(s)
    1.2%
  13. Commodore Plus/4

    5 vote(s)
    5.8%
  14. Commodore 128

    8 vote(s)
    9.3%
  15. Commodore 128D

    9 vote(s)
    10.5%
  16. Commodore 128DCR (Cost-reduced and bug-corrected version of the C128D)

    2 vote(s)
    2.3%
  17. Commodore Prototype/Unreleased (C65/C900/LCD/Other)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  18. Commodore Emulator - I don't have real Commodore 8-bit machines anymore :(

    13 vote(s)
    15.1%
  19. Commodore Emulator - I've never seen/owned real Commodore 8-bit machines, but wish I did!

    2 vote(s)
    2.3%
  20. Commodore Remake - FPGA or similar modern day implementation

    2 vote(s)
    2.3%
  21. Commodore Candy - I thought Commodore was a car model...?

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    14,850
    Yes, most games need drive 8. Meaning if you intend to primarily run d64's off your 1541 UII than it needs to be drive 8, with other mechanical drives being 9,10, etc.

    Also bear in mind that the 1541 UII can emulate two drives, so it can be drive 8 and drive 9.
     
  2. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,733
    C64s are cheap they said..... So far ive spent like about a few kidneys worth on c64 stuff

    Recently I secured a mk1 shell and white key keyboard. They're on the way from UK and Germany

    Screenshot_20200119-012520_Chrome.jpg 20200119_012658.jpg
    They were pricey, mainaly thanks to currency conversion and shit.

    Let's itemize my terrible obsession so far:

    Original mk1 - $240 aud ( shouldve stopped spending here lol )
    Ultimate 64 elite $472 aud
    Corei64 3d printed bits n Bob's for ultimate 64 $90 aud
    Nunchuk64 $60 aud
    Pal Crystal's 10 bucks
    C64 mk1 box and fillings (includes rare promo material) $120 aud
    C64 mk1 shell $80 aud
    C64 mk1 white keyboard $80 aud

    T $1,152 :lol:
    :upset::wired:

    Still on the list is an ult 2 for my OG, another nunchuk, wireless snes (Wii socket) controls, nanoswinsid, oh dear oh my.
     
    adz, Phido and Vanne like this.
  3. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,106
    Location:
    Australia
    Ouch - this is why I never track my spending :sick: Sometimes eBay tries to display a total; I avert my eyes and mash at they keyboard until it goes away :lol:

    Seriously though once you're set up with a good C64 setup then it just keeps on giving - mine's playing SIDS in the background as we speak and I'm loving it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2020
    qwertylesh likes this.
  4. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,172
    I've been hiding my *cough* hobby spending from my wife for years.. she probably thinks I have an expensive mistress with the amounts of cash that go missing.. I try and do a lot of the stuff myself, that saves money. :)
     
    flu!d and qwertylesh like this.
  5. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    14,850
    How do you hide the spending on the car? ;)
     
    qwertylesh likes this.
  6. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,733
    Both produce shrill noise but the SID is nicer? :lol:
     
  7. bester

    bester Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    877
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Super glad that Jim Drew's Keycaps for your Commodore computer! Indiegogo campaign got funded and it even reached the final stretch goal. I will now be able to get transparent Keycaps finally on my C64C to match the Kickstarter case. A big FU to the previous "Phake 5" Brand-new colored keycaps for your Commodore C64 Indiegogo campaign where the guy(s) ran off with the money, I funded that one as well but like everyone else gave up on it.
     
    Phido and qwertylesh like this.
  8. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,284
    Location:
    Dark City
    I love how the C64 projects seem to get a lot of support around them. There are dozens of projects going on.. It just seem to have this momentum.
    The SID has 3 voices and does melodies..

    I have Vic20 now and a C64C.. That should be enough for anyone one.. But I don't have an ultimate anything, I don't have an original C64, I don't have a c128.. I don't have a 1084s.
     
  9. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    14,850
    Good luck with the 1084S, people on Ebay seem to think they're selling a Ferrari as opposed to a 30yo monitor who's flyback could die at any time.

    I was lucky, I managed to grab one off an OCAU member in my local area for a great price. The flyback and HOT died, I replaced both as well as caps and it's still running perfectly to this day.
     
    qwertylesh likes this.
  10. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,733
    I'm sure Vannes wife can produce melodies too tho
     
    elvis likes this.
  11. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,284
    Location:
    Dark City
    I've been tempted to get a commodore monitor over the years, but they always seemed, expensive, and not that reliable or awesome. Shame because I could make it go with my Vic20/C64/XT/Amiga commodore collection. I guess that is why they are desirable.
     
    flu!d likes this.
  12. flu!d

    flu!d KDE Neon 5.16

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    14,850
    They are reliable, they're just getting old like the rest of us and usually need a replacement flyback and a HOT - Which is a cheap and quick repair if you can do it yourself while being respectful of the high voltages encountered. ;)

    However, eBay prices are a joke and I have no idea where you'd source one for a reasonable price anymore. Perhaps keep an eye out on Amibay? Even their prices are a little over the top now.
     
  13. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,284
    Location:
    Dark City
    Monitors and displays sucked to keep. I know I chucked my fare share out.
    We never had an offical colour commodore monitor. Just a TV for the c64. We did have a 12" monochrome CRT on the XT, but it sucked and the image started to roll, so it disappeared with the original computer.

    I have an old IBM VGA monitor and a 17" SVGA thing, so its not like I have nothing. big old CRT's take up space too.
    I have to say interfacing with the Amiga is annoying me, I am hoping my scart-to HDMI-RBG conversion centipede thing works. I also want to put the C64/XT on a SVGA monitor.
     
  14. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,054
    Location:
    4109

Share This Page

Advertisement: