The C64 (and other 8-bit Commodore machines) thread.

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by lupin, Nov 8, 2014.

?

What 8-bit Commodore machines do you have in your collection?

  1. Commodore KIM-1

    1 vote(s)
    1.0%
  2. Commodore PET/CBM

    3 vote(s)
    3.0%
  3. Commodore CBM-II (B128/B256/128-80/256-80/500/600/610/700)

    1 vote(s)
    1.0%
  4. Commodore MAX

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Commodore VIC-20

    14 vote(s)
    14.0%
  6. Commodore 64 (The older brown fat model known as the "Breadbin")

    47 vote(s)
    47.0%
  7. Commodore 64C (The newer beige slim model)

    45 vote(s)
    45.0%
  8. Commodore 64GS

    1 vote(s)
    1.0%
  9. Commodore SX-64

    6 vote(s)
    6.0%
  10. Commodore Educator 64

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  11. Commodore 16

    4 vote(s)
    4.0%
  12. Commodore 116 (Cost-reduced version of the C16 sold only in Europe)

    1 vote(s)
    1.0%
  13. Commodore Plus/4

    7 vote(s)
    7.0%
  14. Commodore 128

    10 vote(s)
    10.0%
  15. Commodore 128D

    9 vote(s)
    9.0%
  16. Commodore 128DCR (Cost-reduced and bug-corrected version of the C128D)

    2 vote(s)
    2.0%
  17. Commodore Prototype/Unreleased (C65/C900/LCD/Other)

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  18. Commodore Emulator - I don't have real Commodore 8-bit machines anymore :(

    19 vote(s)
    19.0%
  19. Commodore Emulator - I've never seen/owned real Commodore 8-bit machines, but wish I did!

    2 vote(s)
    2.0%
  20. Commodore Remake - FPGA or similar modern day implementation

    3 vote(s)
    3.0%
  21. Commodore Candy - I thought Commodore was a car model...?

    1 vote(s)
    1.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,595
    Location:
    Australia
    That's a C128 PSU in a C64 case, one of my genius inventions. That's why you need the adapter with it.

    So in theory it's a safe PSU with plenty of grunt but yes it did hum a bit from memory, which is annoying. And it's still uber old regardless of it's design so a modern replacement is the way to go :thumbup:
     
    Vanne, flu!d and MUTMAN like this.
  2. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,753
    Location:
    4109
    wow. hence my confusion on the model :) :)
    thanks for clearing that up badmofo

    no movement on the replacement psu, so if i get itchy fingers at least i can play with this frankenpsu

    upload_2021-9-11_17-5-54.png
     
  3. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,726
    The C128 units are generally fairly immune to the issues surrounding the C64 units. I'm flogging my C64 PSU (which uses the same casing) pretty hard with a 1541 UII+ as well as a user port WiFi modem and tape port powered SD2IEC, it's still hanging in there.

    Before using it I did open it up and give it a good once over, but if anyone asks I'm gonna say it's got C128 internals so people don't look at me funny. One of these days I'll get a newer PSU...

    Famous last words? ;)
     
  4. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,753
    Location:
    4109
    what is lost if the psu does let go ?

    I'm thinking a few bucks on a new psu could save hundreds
     
  5. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,726
    RAM chips are the usual fatality.

    I'm not too fussed, I've got a spare motherboard here. TBH, I've never seen the black cased C64 PSU's fail, I've only ever seen (actually experienced) the resin filled units fail (twice, on both a VIC-20 and a C64 in the day, both the C64 and VIC-20 survived just fine) - Atari use similar PSU's with no AC 9v (which isn't what fails, it's the 5v DC on the C64), and they swear by the black ventilated units, it's the resin filled units they won't touch.

    As stated, most of us at my Commodore user group are using these black C128 'style' PSU's and I've yet to see an issue.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  6. callan

    callan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    5,106
    Location:
    melbourne
    My black-cased PSU failed in 1987 (7.8V when I measured it at the time, and being horrified)
    2 resin-cased PSU's have also contemporaneously failed in my personal experience. All have failed overvoltage.
    Flu!id. Your counsel is - being most polite - recklessly dangerous. Friends do not let friends use old C64 power supplies. regardless of the case, the failure mode of the C64 power supply is inherently defective.
    Of all people, Flu!d, I would have expected better.
     
    Vanne, MUTMAN and flu!d like this.
  7. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,726
    Oh OK! I'll order one of those new fandangled units.

    I've had this PSU for about 30 years now, I feel like I'm cutting off my arm Callan.

    I will state that when my C64's not in use the PSU is powered off at the wall, I don't trust it enough that it won't catch fire...
     
    Vanne and MUTMAN like this.
  8. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,737
    Location:
    DXB.. mostly.
    Lol.. well I've been having a bit of fun too..

    [​IMG]

    Component works a charm.



    :)

     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 11, 2021
    Phido, MUTMAN and flu!d like this.
  9. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,726
    I'm lookin' at the photo with my head on the side, but...It's alive!

    How's the component video output? Are you still getting the 1541 UII?
     
    Vanne likes this.
  10. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,726
    I love your Daughter programming in Basic! That's cool.

    My Daughter and I rebuilt my 1084S together, we were pretty stoked when it fired back up for the first time in a long time.

    EDIT: You need to add partitions to your SD2IEC, that looks like it's the SYS partition as it's got a very small capacity.
     
    Vanne likes this.
  11. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,737
    Location:
    DXB.. mostly.
    Thanks, any idea how to do the partitions? Or I'll need to hunt down the cheat sheet which is burried under a tonne of crap, including a few 128's and at least 3 64s..

    I just test drove that kungfoo cart, just loaded a few games like Barbarian, the old fave. It's quick...

    How quick? No idea, haven't had the time to run any tests at this stage, I am knee deep in retro stuff, trying to sort the new rooms layout and storage... It ain't pretty at this stage, let me tell you..

    Pretty cool you rebuilt the 1084s together, that's beyond me, let alone my kid.. lolol.. I'd be like, now be carefull for the flyback as (points to it and touches it) it GZzzzzzzzttttttt....

    ....
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2021
    flu!d likes this.
  12. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,726
    You create the partitions as FAT32 under Windows. I kept the Daughter well away from the CRT when I was discharging the flyback, she essentially just handed me the tools - But she enjoyed it.
     
    Vanne, callan and MUTMAN like this.
  13. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,737
    Location:
    DXB.. mostly.
    Cheers, I'll get onto that after the cleanup. Lolol
     
  14. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,737
    Location:
    DXB.. mostly.
    Clear as.. maybe a little to clear.. the sound is also great. I haven't spent enough time with it yet to make a conclusion, I was just happy enough the bloody thing turned up and turned on.

    The UII , yeah Bester is hanging on to it for a bit for me. :)
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  15. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,726
    I bought Attack of the PETSCII Robots the other day, a bloody great game, but damn it's hard.

    You can shoot the drones easy enough, but you need to make full use of the resources around you to kill the robots. I bought both the Commodore and Atari versions, although the Commodore version is nicer due to the fact it's full color - I basically bought the Atari version as I thought it was important to support to support a platform that's often overlooked when it comes to new retro gaming releases.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  16. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,753
    Location:
    4109
  17. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,726
    Honestly, you're running a C128 PSU, you don't need a saver circuit as the C128 PSU didn't suffer from the same issues as the C64 PSU.

    Don't stress, enjoy the thing and more photos!
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  18. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,753
    Location:
    4109
    it makes some :cool: noises ... and I dont want to hurt precious :)
    but yer, I'll probably just give up on the psu for now. I think a saver could be cheap insurance though
     
  19. flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,726
    My C64 PSU doesn't make noises, wanna swap? ;)

    Honestly, the FTDI SIO to USB converter card I have connected to my 600XL makes noises under load - Noises aren't always anything to be concerned about.
     
  20. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,753
    Location:
    4109
    only if it includes a whole spare c64 breadbin :lol:
     
    flu!d likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: