1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

The Consolidated B&EC "Quick Question" Thread.

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by looktall, Jun 6, 2015.

  1. DavidRa

    DavidRa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,062
    Location:
    NSW Central Coast
    Argh, this is doing my head in. It's been a long time since I last created a gold image for VM creation.

    I have installed 2012 R2, patched it, installed the en-AU LP/LIP (well, it's really part of the en-GB LP/LIP but still)... I have a sysprep XML defined (see below). Normal sysprep command (/oobe /generalize /unattend:myxml.xml /shutdown).

    On first startup, setup is prompting me for "Settings" - requesting I select a language. It appears to be the "Default UI Language" - if I select English US, then English US is the Default Language (Control Panel > Clock, Language and Region > Language. If I choose English UK, then en-AU is properly selected.

    I can't for the life of me figure out which setting I'm missing from the XML.

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
        <settings pass="windowsPE">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <InputLocale>en-AU</InputLocale>
                <SystemLocale>en-AU</SystemLocale>
                <UILanguage>en-AU</UILanguage>
                <UserLocale>en-AU</UserLocale>
            </component>
        </settings>
        <settings pass="generalize">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-PnpSysprep" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <PersistAllDeviceInstalls>true</PersistAllDeviceInstalls>
            </component>
        </settings>
        <settings pass="specialize">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Deployment" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <ExtendOSPartition>
                    <Extend>true</Extend>
                </ExtendOSPartition>
            </component>
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <Display>
                    <ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
                    <HorizontalResolution>1280</HorizontalResolution>
                    <VerticalResolution>720</VerticalResolution>
                </Display>
                <OEMInformation>
                    <Manufacturer>Organisation Name</Manufacturer>
                    <Model>February 2016 Base Image</Model>
                </OEMInformation>
                <ProductKey>D2N9P-3P6X9-2R39C-7RTCD-MDVJX</ProductKey>
                <RegisteredOwner>Owner Name</RegisteredOwner>
                <RegisteredOrganization>Organisation Name</RegisteredOrganization>
                <TimeZone>AUS Eastern Standard Time</TimeZone>
            </component>
        </settings>
        <settings pass="oobeSystem">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <InputLocale>en-AU</InputLocale>
                <SystemLocale>en-AU</SystemLocale>
                <UILanguage>en-AU</UILanguage>
                <UserLocale>en-AU</UserLocale>
            </component>
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <Display>
                    <HorizontalResolution>1280</HorizontalResolution>
                    <ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
                    <VerticalResolution>800</VerticalResolution>
                </Display>
                <OEMInformation>
                    <Manufacturer>Organisation Name</Manufacturer>
                    <Model>February 2016 Base Image</Model>
                </OEMInformation>
                <OOBE>
                    <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
                    <HideLocalAccountScreen>true</HideLocalAccountScreen>
                    <HideOEMRegistrationScreen>true</HideOEMRegistrationScreen>
                    <HideOnlineAccountScreens>true</HideOnlineAccountScreens>
                    <HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
                    <NetworkLocation>Work</NetworkLocation>
                    <ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
                </OOBE>
                <UserAccounts>
                    <AdministratorPassword>
                        <Value>REDACTED (duh!)</Value>
                        <PlainText>false</PlainText>
                    </AdministratorPassword>
                </UserAccounts>
                <RegisteredOwner>Owner Name</RegisteredOwner>
                <RegisteredOrganization>Organisation Name</RegisteredOrganization>
            </component>
        </settings>
    </unattend>
    
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2016
  2. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,968
    Location:
    Canberra
    when I was doing sysprep/MDT, you had to be hyper consistent through your XML's. There was about 4-5 places that you had to set EN-AU, and if you missed one of them, it would install EN-US and ignore the rest.

    My notes from waaaaaaaaay back

    Bootstrap.ini
    Code:
    [Settings]
    
    Priority=Default
    
    [Default]
    
    DeployRoot=\\<wds server FQDN>\DeploymentShare$
    UserID=<user with rights to the above share>
    UserDomain=<domain> 
    UserPassword=<password for user>
    KeyboardLocale=en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    SkipBDDWelcome=YES
    
    CustomSettings.ini – (don’t forget to set this under your task Task Sequence properties, Task Sequence ->
    Code:
    
    Initialization –> Gather local only –> Rules file -> just type "customsettings.ini")
    
    [Settings]
    
    Priority=Default
    Properties=MyCustomProperty
    
    [Default]
    OSInstall=YES
    SkipAdminPassword=YES // Gets this from Sysprep unattend.xml
    SkipApplications=YES
    SkipAppsOnUpgrade=YES
    SkipBDDWelcome=YES
    SkipProductKey=YES
    SkipCapture=YES
    SkipBitLocker=YES
    SkipComputerBackup=YES
    SkipLocaleSelection=YES
    KeyboardLocale=en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    UserLocale=en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    UILanguage=en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    SkipPackageDisplay=YES
    SkipProductKey=YES // Gets this from Sysprep  unattend.xml
    SkipTimeZone=YES
    TimeZoneName=AUS Eastern Standard Time // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    SkipUserData=Yes
    
    Unattend.xml Additions

    Customisations here, ensure that en-AU is the default language and installed (important that customsettings and bootstrap.ini is configured this as above as well), use AUS Eastern Standard Time, machine is built with Business MAK key, IE8 has that annoying “welcome to IE8” screen disabled, IE8 has google setup as a default search provider, and the machine boots into working desktop.

    Under Stage 4 – specialize

    Code:
    amd64_Microsoft-Windows-IE-InternetExplorer_neutral (re add this from Windows Image Components)
    DisableAccelerators – True
    DisableFirstRunWizard – True
    Home_Page - https://www.google.com
    IEWelcomeMsg – False
    SearchScopes (rightclick add)
    ScopeDefault – true
    ScopeDisplayName – Google
    ScopeKey – Google
    ScopeUrl – http://www.google.com/search?q={searchTerms}
    
    amd64_Microsoft-Windows-International-Core__neutral
    InputLocale – en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    SystemLocale – en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    UILanguage – en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    UILanguageFallback – en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    UserLocale – en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    amd64_Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup__neutral
    DoNotCleanTaskBar – true
    ProductKey - <business win7 enterprise MAK product key, all in capitals, include hyphens>
    RegisteredOrganization – The Business
    RegisteredOwner – The Business
    TimeZone – AUS Eastern Standard time // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    
    wow64_Microsoft-Windows-IE-InternetExplorer__neutral (re add this from Windows Image Components)
    DisableAccelerators – True
    DisableFirstRunWizard – True
    Home_Page - https://www.google.com
    IEWelcomeMsg – False
    SearchScopes (rightclick add)
    ScopeDefault – true
    ScopeDisplayName – Google
    ScopeKey – Google
    ScopeUrl – http://www.google.com/search?q={searchTerms}
    
    Under Stage 7 – oobeSystem
    Code:
    amd64_Microsoft-Windows-International-Core__neutral
    InputLocale – en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    SystemLocale – en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    UILanguage – en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    UILanguageFallback – en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    UserLocale – en-AU // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    amd64_Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup__neutral
    RegisteredOrganization – Business
    RegisteredOwner – User
    TimeZone – AUS Eastern Standard time // Really important you are consistent with this to make it default
    
    OOBE
    
    HideEULAPage – true
    HideWirelessSetupInOOBE – true
    NetworkLocation – Work
    ProtectYourPC -  1
    SkipMachineOOBE – true
    SkipUserOOBE – true
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2016
  3. freaky_beeky

    freaky_beeky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,169
    Location:
    Brisbane
    What are you using to generate the XML in the first place? Windows SIM?

    This looks like your issue exactly (and sounds very familiar), however unfortunately I can't confirm in my current environment...

    Edit: ^^ NSanity's edit is a much better explanation.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2016
  4. AzonIc

    AzonIc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,373
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Couple of quick questions for people using Office365 hosted exchange

    1. Are any of you doing any further additional backup

    2. Is anyone using any corporate signature tools


    Cheers
     
  5. DavidRa

    DavidRa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,062
    Location:
    NSW Central Coast
    Yes, it's WSIM, fairly obviously. windowsafg.no-ip.org appears to be MIA at the moment,

    The weird thing is that it all works just fine until the language pack is integrated, apart from the Windows Display Language being set to en-US. Setting to 0c09:00000409, en-AU, en-GB, en-US all fail to bypass the screen, and I'll be buggered if any of the 3245897 searches I've tried have brought up anything.

    I may have to live with it (either force manual selection from setup, or revert to not having the language pack installed and "just deal"). On the face of it, this MS document would have been helpful if it would just bloody tell me what component to configure to preselect the answer, rather than requiring individual images per language and reconfiguration of lang.ini all the time! Note the quote (emphasis mine):

    Here's a screen shot of the offending step (tweaked only to minimise size), just in case it rings bells:


    Click to view full size!


    And the relevant MS documentation, which would appear to be wrong, says this:

    Astute readers will note the settings are defined in the XML (and I just double checked to ensure it's set for both specialize and oobeSystem though that's not in the original paste above) :mad:.
     
  6. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,968
    Location:
    Canberra
    A brief glance is a few settings aren't defined in there - and whilst i know its pedantic - i literally pulled my hair out for about 50% of the 3 days i spent on trying to get that specific thing right.
     
  7. NSanity

    NSanity Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    17,968
    Location:
    Canberra
    No to either - but my understanding is you have Transport Rules just the same, so you should be able to manually do corp sig's pulling from AD if you want.
     
  8. DavidRa

    DavidRa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,062
    Location:
    NSW Central Coast
    OK that's a fair point. Let me double check here:

    Code:
    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <unattend xmlns="urn:schemas-microsoft-com:unattend">
        <settings pass="windowsPE">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <InputLocale>en-AU</InputLocale>
                <SystemLocale>en-AU</SystemLocale>
                <UILanguage>en-AU</UILanguage>
                <UserLocale>en-AU</UserLocale>
                <UILanguageFallback>en-AU</UILanguageFallback>
            </component>
        </settings>
        <settings pass="generalize">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-PnpSysprep" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <PersistAllDeviceInstalls>true</PersistAllDeviceInstalls>
            </component>
        </settings>
        <settings pass="specialize">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Deployment" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <ExtendOSPartition>
                    <Extend>true</Extend>
                </ExtendOSPartition>
            </component>
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <Display>
                    <ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
                    <HorizontalResolution>1280</HorizontalResolution>
                    <VerticalResolution>720</VerticalResolution>
                </Display>
                <OEMInformation>
                    <Manufacturer>OrgName</Manufacturer>
                    <Model>February 2016 Base Image</Model>
                </OEMInformation>
                <ProductKey>D2N9P-3P6X9-2R39C-7RTCD-MDVJX</ProductKey>
                <RegisteredOwner>OrgName</RegisteredOwner>
                <RegisteredOrganization>OrgName</RegisteredOrganization>
                <TimeZone>AUS Eastern Standard Time</TimeZone>
            </component>
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <InputLocale>en-AU</InputLocale>
                <SystemLocale>en-AU</SystemLocale>
                <UILanguage>en-AU</UILanguage>
                <UILanguageFallback>en-AU</UILanguageFallback>
                <UserLocale>en-AU</UserLocale>
            </component>
        </settings>
        <settings pass="oobeSystem">
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <InputLocale>en-AU</InputLocale>
                <SystemLocale>en-AU</SystemLocale>
                <UILanguage>en-AU</UILanguage>
                <UserLocale>en-AU</UserLocale>
                <UILanguageFallback>en-AU</UILanguageFallback>
            </component>
            <component name="Microsoft-Windows-Shell-Setup" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <Display>
                    <HorizontalResolution>1280</HorizontalResolution>
                    <ColorDepth>32</ColorDepth>
                    <VerticalResolution>800</VerticalResolution>
                </Display>
                <OEMInformation>
                    <Manufacturer>OrgName</Manufacturer>
                    <Model>February 2016 Base Image</Model>
                </OEMInformation>
                <OOBE>
                    <HideEULAPage>true</HideEULAPage>
                    <HideLocalAccountScreen>true</HideLocalAccountScreen>
                    <HideOEMRegistrationScreen>true</HideOEMRegistrationScreen>
                    <HideOnlineAccountScreens>true</HideOnlineAccountScreens>
                    <HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>true</HideWirelessSetupInOOBE>
                    <NetworkLocation>Work</NetworkLocation>
                    <ProtectYourPC>1</ProtectYourPC>
                </OOBE>
                <RegisteredOwner>OrgName</RegisteredOwner>
                <RegisteredOrganization>OrgName</RegisteredOrganization>
            </component>
        </settings>
    </unattend>
    
    All 5 language settings are set for WinPE, specialize and oobeSystem, matching your notes (and in line with my memory, though I've never forced the UILanguageFallback as ISTR it failed to set properly in Vista).
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2016
  9. wullieb1

    wullieb1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    467
  10. DavidRa

    DavidRa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,062
    Location:
    NSW Central Coast
    Yeah I've tried en-AU, 0c09:00000409, en-US and en-GB. None work so far - well that's not helpful. All are _processed_ because if I set en-GB I get the GB keyboard layout - so that works (not what I want, but it works). But I still have the prompt for language. Screw it!

    On the plus side I've got a test, sysprep and fail cycle down to about 3 minutes... and I've managed to memorise a 20 character random, 3 character-type password...
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2016
  11. wullieb1

    wullieb1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    467
    Ok.

    Just had a quick squiz at our deployment server and these are the options I have set in our unattend.xml file, all done through WISM right enough.

    Phase 1 - windowsPE

    Code:
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <SetupUILanguage>
                    <UILanguage>en-AU</UILanguage>
                </SetupUILanguage>
                <InputLocale>0c09:00000409</InputLocale>
                <SystemLocale>en-AU</SystemLocale>
                <UILanguage>en-AU</UILanguage>
                <UserLocale>en-AU</UserLocale>
            </component>
    Phase 4 - specialize

    Code:
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <InputLocale>0c09:00000409</InputLocale>
                <SystemLocale>en-AU</SystemLocale>
                <UILanguage>en-AU</UILanguage>
                <UserLocale>en-AU</UserLocale>
            </component>
    Phase 7 - oobeSystem

    Code:
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
                <InputLocale>0c09:00000409</InputLocale>
                <SystemLocale>en-AU</SystemLocale>
                <UILanguage>en-AU</UILanguage>
                <UserLocale>en-AU</UserLocale>
            </component>
    Those are the only 3 settings we have and they all work.

    As a side note we are using MDT to push images and they also have settings in the customsettings.ini file, using these settings

    UserLocal=en-au
    UILanguage=en-au
    KeyboardLocal=0409:00000409
    TimeZoneName=E. Australia Standard Time
    TimeZoneValue=2210
     
  12. DavidRa

    DavidRa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,062
    Location:
    NSW Central Coast
    Yeah I think it's a multi language wrinkle. I might go back to en-US only and just deal with it.
     
  13. wullieb1

    wullieb1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    467
    Remove your language pack from it and retry. From emory, its been a while since I set it up, we don't have any language pack installs happening during the build at all.

    How are you deploying your builds? MDT, WDS, or just a plain old Windows disk?
     
  14. OP
    OP
    looktall

    looktall Working Class Doughnut

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2001
    Messages:
    26,135
    my unattended files use the following.

    WindowsPE
    Code:
     <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core-WinPE" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
          <SetupUILanguage>
            <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
          </SetupUILanguage>
          <InputLocale>0409:00000409</InputLocale>
          <SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>
          <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
          <UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>
        </component>
    Generalize
    Code:
     <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
          <InputLocale>0409:00000409</InputLocale>
          <SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>
          <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
          <UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>
        </component>
    Specialize
    Code:
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
          <InputLocale>0409:00000409</InputLocale>
          <SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>
          <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
          <UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>
        </component>
    oobeSystem
    Code:
    <component name="Microsoft-Windows-International-Core" processorArchitecture="amd64" publicKeyToken="31bf3856ad364e35" language="neutral" versionScope="nonSxS" xmlns:wcm="http://schemas.microsoft.com/WMIConfig/2002/State" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
          <InputLocale>0409:00000409</InputLocale>
          <SystemLocale>en-US</SystemLocale>
          <UILanguage>en-US</UILanguage>
          <UserLocale>en-US</UserLocale>
        </component>
    this is also deployed using MDT so in addition the customsettings.ini file has:

    UserLocale=en-AU
    TimeZoneName=W. Australia Standard Time
    TimeZoneValue=W. Australia Standard Time
    UILanguage=en-US
     
  15. DavidRa

    DavidRa Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Messages:
    3,062
    Location:
    NSW Central Coast
    Nah it's a VM, so effectively it's "create new VM, attach copy of VMDK/VHDX, boot, done". Starting a move to a model where DSC/Puppet/etc can be the configuration management layer.
     
  16. fR33z3

    fR33z3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    2,164
    Location:
    Perth
    I'm looking at a pair of 3060's at the moment. Traps sounds like a nice endpoint solution too, but might take a while to sell that solution to the rest of the org.

    One thing I find annoying - The PA-3060 is the lowest end appliance that has dual power sup and an MTBF>10yrs. Thats a lot of coin to spend when you just want reliability. Also, for what they charge in the subscription costs for threat protection and wildfire, they should be giving the hardware free in my opinion.
     
  17. bugayev

    bugayev Whammy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,093
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The PA device was substantially cheaper than a similar setup from Sophos when I evaluated both, and the PA had massive amounts more capacity for the price.

    I agree regarding the dual power - it is a real pain but the MTBF doesn't bother me as much. It's just a number.
     
  18. ausghostdog

    ausghostdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,150
    snip**snip
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2016
  19. freaky_beeky

    freaky_beeky Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,169
    Location:
    Brisbane
    As someone who never runs a DPI other than 100% I haven't seen this issue, but after reading http://windows10_dpi_blurry_fix.xpexplorer.com/, it appears that windows 10 just resets a registry setting. Without looking into it, can you just set the value via Group Policy Preferences and be done with it?
     
  20. ausghostdog

    ausghostdog Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,150
    snip**snip
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2016

Share This Page

Advertisement: