The Great Big NBN Sticky Thread

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Akh-Horus, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    9,621
    Location:
    Melbourne
    ^^ this. if your service provider is not offering you the service they should, stop rewarding them with your business.

    script readers means the business can't be bothered training their staff to the minimal degree required to understand their job well enough to support you, the customer, who is paying for it.

    there is never an excuse for poor language skills, end of story. crap language skills invariably means outsourcing to some equally crap offshore provider where doing it on the cheap has meant compromising on selecting staff who can actually communicate in the language the customers speak. the customer base is in an English speaking country. I expect them to be able to communicate competently in that language.
     
    Cool Barn, kaine88, TheWedgie and 4 others like this.
  2. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    9,621
    Location:
    Melbourne
    just to add to the above... something I was ruminating over this morning, while fixing something and dealing with the usual hassles of the previous bloke's highly dubious DIY skills -

    I put up with some communications challenges with my favourite local curry restaurant because they make a damn good curry, their English is limited, and we get there in the end. I am patient with dealing with the owner and staff at my local fish aquarium, because they are Chinese and English is very much their second language, but they are lovely people, keep a really nice shop and are very knowledgeable about fish keeping, and it's worth it.

    when it comes to your ISP, it's a relatively homogeneous product. about the only ways an operator can differentiate themselves from their competitors is price, and providing a better level of service. it's easy enough to fuck it all up, but once it works - it works.

    I expect my internet connection to work all the time, without fail. obviously if someone up the road puts a backhoe through my local link then there's nothing the ISP can do other than raise a network fault for me, but I sure as hell expect the network under their control to work all the time, without fail, and that includes no congestion within their ability to address. if something breaks, I expect to be able to communicate that to them effectively, in a reasonable time, to someone whom I can speak to clearly, who has sufficient knowledge to understand the issue, help perform initial diagnosis and triage, and escalate as required. I don't want to be read a script, I don't want to have to struggle with someone who clearly can't understand nor speak my language, and I don't want to be told to turn my modem on and off for the fifth time because some clown hasn't bothered to read the case notes the last 4 idiots I spoke to probably didn't bother to make anyway.

    if that can't be achieved, I'll fire them and go elsewhere. I don't use my local pizza shop any more because they screw our order up all the time, and I'm sick of not getting what we ordered. I don't use the most convenient garage to me any more, because they invariably dick me about at the end of the day because they didn't put a spanner on the thing until after lunch despite me dropping it off before 8am precisely so they could get going with it and not cause me hassles later. just yesterday I walked out of a large electronics retailer for jacking me around; I went to their competitor and spent a little more and got exactly what I was after, with no hassles, from someone who knew what they were talking about and sold me what I wanted, as opposed to trying to sell me what they had. this morning I told the manager of a photography store that his sales associate just lost him a $1700 sale for annoying the hell out of my wife repeatedly while she was trying to think about a purchase, I'm going to travel into town to reward someone else with the sale. and in a couple of months I'll be telling my current health insurer to stick their business up their arse because I'm sick of having to chase them all the time (which I honestly can't attribute to deliberate or natural incompetence) - but not before my wife goes in for about $10k of surgery, which they can damn well pay for instead of my new insurer.

    so why do people put up with crap ISPs? the difference between a decent ISP and rubbish one is literally a couple of dollars a month. decent meaning it works, it doesn't congest because they take the time and money to ensure so, they communicate network outages quickly, clearly and effectively, and they have competent support staff available to talk to when required.

    don't tell me it's the cost, if it was we'd all be driving the cheapest nastiest Chinese made import available, Harvey Norman would be broke because we'd all be watching Soniq TVs while sitting on milk crates, and every fast food restaurant would be broke because we'd all be eating pot noodles. obviously this isn't the case, so why do do we reward cheap, nasty, budget ISPs with our money and continued custom, despite all of the choices and alternatives that competition has brought?
     
    kbekus, Cool Barn, banshee and 8 others like this.
  3. disguisey

    disguisey Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,966
    Location:
    under your bed
    unfortunately sometimes it's because people get stuck on a contract after being promised the sun and the stars only to be given a a foul odorous pile of shit.

    In 3 months time I will be switching from my ISP to another as although my issue has now been fixed and you helped a fair bit with that. the lack of communication and assistance from there behalf was crap.
     
  4. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    9,621
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I can understand that fully. lock-in is a pain in the arse the industry came up with precisely to stop people changing when someone else did it better. I can also understand bundling with other services like mobiles, Foxtel etc.

    sometimes all the options aren't available all the time. but if we as a customer base stop rewarding providers for crap service, the industry will respond. at the moment it's responding to people buying with their wallets.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2019
  5. kaine88

    kaine88 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Is there some sort of quality assurance speed for each line that NBN also aims for or something? I spoke to ABB about my drop in upload from ~10Mbps to ~5Mbps (not expecting them to be able to do anything) however the NBN portal has been "failing" the upload speed as it is under 8Mbps. Since then I've had two techs come out to try and remediate the line and there is now a work order in to replace my lead-in cable :confused:
     
  6. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    9,621
    Location:
    Melbourne
    there's an assurance minimum that the line must reach, both in upload and download. the actual values are a combination of technology, ordered speed and coexistence status - there is no single answer.

    that said, 8Mbps is not a failing test for upload for anything, short of a service with at least a 10/10Mbps TC-2 component, but pretty sure you don't have that as the wholesale cost is about $480/month alone.

    presumably you're failing some other metric which has resulted in the request for cable replacement.
     
  7. r8response

    r8response Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    6,397
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast
    I was approached by a random person with the ID Tag for a Micronode at work the other day. It looks to have fallen off and has sat in the dirt for some time. I was unable to reattach it as the adhesive is covered in dirt/rocks etc.

    Does it matter much if there is no ID tag on it (4NOO-01-08-FNO-001)? There are two nodes side by side with consecutive ID numbers
     
  8. kaine88

    kaine88 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    I'm definitely not paying that much unless ABB is footing the rest of the bill without telling me :lol:. I guess I'll see what happens after they replace it, I've just got a feeling that replacing it won't really fix anything as the techs didn't seem to think there was a fault at the property.

    Could another metric be line attenuation or something?
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2019
  9. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    9,621
    Location:
    Melbourne
    the only assurance metrics for most services are speed and stability.

    it should be labelled, but anyone touching it has access to other means of identification, and as long as the other one is labelled there should be no immediate issues. I'll let the team know, but it will probably be done in the next maintenance inspection cycle as it's not urgent.
     
  10. Bullus

    Bullus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Bayswater, Vic, 3153
    just got HFC nbn become available on my street in Boronia, Victoria, any suggestions of best isp to go with? it is quite hard to find reliable reviews and I really need to get off adsl as i am on very outer edge from node and get terrible speed,
     
  11. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    9,621
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Aussie Broadband is the new darling of the industry, approaching what Internode used to be.
     
  12. kaine88

    kaine88 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    29
    Yep Aussie Broadband are awesome. Their support is pretty good and are based in Australia. They are also pretty transparent with their network changes and how much capacity they purchase for each POI. Someone might even drop in their referral code so you can score a $50 credit :)
     
    alt064 likes this.
  13. Bullus

    Bullus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Bayswater, Vic, 3153
    seems they have a first month free ( up to $99) at the moment so don't think i could use referal code also (ok read some more, seems i can use referal code to at least give someone their bonus even with promo code, (so i don't get a 2nd bonus,) so yeah first person to post here or pm a referal code will have me use it if i go with ABB
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2019
  14. Oblong Cheese

    Oblong Cheese Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    10,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    For those of us stuck on copper NBN with low sync. speeds, there is some hope. Work is ongoing in my street to build a new micronode. A micronode is exactly as it sounds: a smaller FTTN termination node. NBNCo run fibre to the micronode. The micronode is placed closer to premises and does not connect to copper lines via the pillar. As part of deploying a micronode, it appears NBNCo also replace the copper run from the micronode to the nearest pit of the premises that are connected to said micronode.
     
  15. banshee

    banshee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,695
    Location:
    Springwood, West of Hell (Sydney, actually)
    Is that why my FTTC connection keeps getting pushed back? They're up there fixing yours instead? You bastard! :p
     
  16. Oblong Cheese

    Oblong Cheese Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    10,581
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Unfortunately I have no influence on NBNCo work schedules, otherwise I would have instructed the crews to run the fibre an extra 250 metres to my house. ;)

    I have been told by NBNCo technicians that my entire street is not capable of reaching the mandated 25Mbit minimum downstream. Also, the co-existence period ended for this area in October 2017. I suppose it follows - irrespective of bad press - that NBNCo "must" upgrade my area in parallel with rollouts in other areas currently not enabled for NBN.
     
  17. BelowAverageIQ

    BelowAverageIQ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2011
    Messages:
    836
    Our street was promised a micro node 2+ years ago. Still nothing. Distance to full size node is a minimum of 1.5km
     
  18. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    11,667
    Location:
    Canberra
    this wouldn't have happened pre-MTM farce.
     
  19. alt064

    alt064 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Hey, Bullus: If you want to quote mine, that would be great... unless someone else was quicker off the mark! :)

    www.aussiebroadband.com.au/nbn-signup/?rc=1550789

    Edit: I also have had a good experience with Aussie BB, btw, get 24+/4.5+ pretty much consistently on a 25/5 plan (the line is 100/40 capable). Local support has been responsive and effective on the one occasion I had a tech failure. Was previously with Telecube, who did a great job chasing NBN over initial tech issues, and provided a good 50/20 service until they ran out of cash flow.

    Cheers!
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2019
  20. SuiCid3

    SuiCid3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4,240
    Location:
    2007
    Question regarding new NBN HFC installs in old Telstra cable areas
    Are they supposed to replace the old cables to the old Foxtel/Cable box and also replace the box itself with an NBN branded one?
    And what about the cable from the NBN box to the outlet? Who's responsible for that?
     

Share This Page