1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

The Great Big NBN Sticky Thread

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Akh-Horus, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. Perko

    Perko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,536
    Location:
    NW Tasmania
    I'm still really enjoying my 2/3 Fixed Wireless service.
     
  2. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,597
    Location:
    2650
    Still waiting ......

    Apparently getting FTTC in "Apr-Jun" .... what are the chances? Have seen zero activity thus far.
     
  3. banshee

    banshee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,785
    Location:
    Springwood, West of Hell (Sydney, actually)
    Probably about the same as mine. FTTC Planned to be available from April, before that it was March, and January, and September...

    The only activity I have seen was the couple of guys working their way along the street, clipping every pair & rejoining them. Luckily I had just disconnected from the remote session repairing a clients database when they cut me off. I was still on the phone to them, however.
     
  4. hairy

    hairy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    as per the 4g thread me included, optus is our only available decent connection with decent data.
    if Telstra offered 500gig 4g connection I would jump on it but for 80 bucks optus is my best option.
    69/39 speeds im happy with as I live in Sydney with no landline available.
     
  5. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,277
    Location:
    Melbourne
    send me a street address and I will check. just street name and suburb will do.
     
  6. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,277
    Location:
    Melbourne
    hopefully you never have a problem with it, or need to call them about anything. the point is that it's cheap for a reason.

    hey, if Ferraris were the same price as a Camry I'd be driving one.
     
  7. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,597
    Location:
    2650
    Happy days. Sometime in the last 2 days it's changed to Jan-Mar 2020. Sigh.
     
  8. jcorney

    jcorney Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,167
    Location:
    It's Brisbie bitch
    after two jobs logged via the RSP we finally got my parents moved to the new node that has been installed since their initial connection (300m against 1300m away) with a speed increase from 7mb/s to 47. When the tech came out he was surprised they weren't moved to the new one but it seems nobody is without bitching about it
     
  9. CptVipeR

    CptVipeR Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    847
    Location:
    Hobart
    Good to know it is possible to get moved, everything from those in the know seem to say it is "impossible". (where impossible is it can physically be done but they won't go to the effort /cynical)
     
  10. jcorney

    jcorney Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,167
    Location:
    It's Brisbie bitch
    The new node was specifically installed in the street after the area (rural residential) was under serviced in the initial rollout
     
    CptVipeR likes this.
  11. callan

    callan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    5,156
    Location:
    melbourne
    That would be Caspian's doing. He hates you:p:cool:.

    Callan
     
    banshee and Pugs like this.
  12. B16B

    B16B Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    150
    Location:
    hurstville
    hey all, after 3 years of getting flyer in the mailbox saying NBN is coming to my area, now i'm getting flyers saying "NBN will be imminent now, please pre-order with us from various ISP", telstra wholesale agent also came by to notify that the phone land line will be decommissioned soon after, need to be on mobile or VOIP later.
    is there any ISP good with HFC?
    does the pill/bullet thing on the street becomes the node or its a separate thing all together? its 50m from my place.
    i'm aiming for hi-res youtube and netflix. not much gaming.
    Regards

    PS i have been with internode for 5+ years
     
  13. bryn

    bryn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,801
    Location:
    Sydney
    If its hfc the pillar is irellevant, the “node” is a shoebox in a pit or on the power lines somewhere.

    Hfc go with aussie broadband or superloop
     
  14. wraith666

    wraith666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,828
    Location:
    QLD
    Wondering if some one can provide some advice. MIL is 20M from a node. Got her on the 50mb plan thinking it would be nothing to get the speed. Max speed 35. Exetel keep telling me the wholesaler is checking things remotely but it's been the same story for a week. It's only a month to month plan are they talking crap and I should switch to Aussie BB?
     
  15. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,655
    Location:
    Dark City
    Porting my FTTH from telstra to Belong. No point in going telstra unless you are getting an entertainment package.

    Plans are a bit cheaper than last time I looked. nearly Everyone offers the same deal. $55-65 for 50mbps unlimited.
     
  16. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,277
    Location:
    Melbourne
    shoot me her address. I doubt she's 20m from the node via wire distance, but maybe there is something else that can be done.

    nah, if I had something against him he'd be getting satellite.
     
  17. wraith666

    wraith666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,828
    Location:
    QLD
    Done. There is a big Telstra pit out the front so I think that may be involved some what.
     
  18. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,277
    Location:
    Melbourne
    OK, she's actually around 400m from the node. the systems reflect that correctly, if I do a dummy order against the address it gives me a estimated performance of 43Mbps - if the RSP didn't tell her that, I wish I could say I was the slightest bit surprised. unfortunately, yet again another example of an RSP failing to use the tools made available to them for that specific purpose.

    the modem is synced up at 42.4Mbps which is as close to perfect for the estimated performance as you could wish for. the pit out the front is actually a manhole, but it's still just a pit with a copper joint in it, it doesn't play any part in the performance of the service.
     
  19. wraith666

    wraith666 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,828
    Location:
    QLD
    Well that's ridiculous. Wonder how hard it will be to change the node she's on to the one literally down the road.
     
  20. SLIMaxPower

    SLIMaxPower Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    898
    Location:
    Mawson Station

    Err none. You could do alot worse than 35.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: