The Great Big NBN Sticky Thread

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Akh-Horus, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I don't doubt there are some errors, but since the tech has to obtain a provenance test demonstrating successful service activation before they can clear the job off, that would involve them making the same mistake twice in a row - once to run the jumper, and again to run the test. possible, yes. if someone can't distinguish between a main pair and a distribution pair then what the hell are they doing in my pillar.

    this is where testing to the premises every time would eliminate error.
     
    supasaiyan likes this.
  2. banshee

    banshee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,744
    Location:
    Springwood, West of Hell (Sydney, actually)
    I just wish I had a realistic idea of when the FTTC will be installed. nbn site still says "Available from April 2019", but the pull-throughs are still in the conduit instead of any cable. Has there been some issue that has caused problems & slowed down roll out of the FTTC?
     
  3. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    no. "from April" means sometime from April onwards, if they had to give a concrete date then all they could do is give the worst case possible and then people would complain when it got delivered faster than that.

    probably more like September in your case, at this stage, with no guarantees.
     
  4. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,792
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    mine says "available from apr-june 2019".

    EDIT: Also, it's HFC and I am not sure how stable it is.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2019
  5. insular

    insular Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    994
    Location:
    Adelaide
    best modem router for FTTN? need voip ports. strong wifi is a must as well. cost no real objection but reasonable would be better. prefer something that actually gets updates.

    so far looked at tp-link one (they're slack with FW updates), the Asus one, and those big expensive spidey looking ones (no voip in those though?)

    overlooked the netcomm one ABB provides just because.
     
  6. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    Frankston
    Just to highlight the difference in providers. I signed up for FTTC about 5.5 almost 6 weeks ago with Superloop and have been connected for almost a month, would have been sooner but we had to reschedule the tech visit twice.

    My neighbour who signed up with Optus almost 5 weeks ago and does not require a tech visit still can't get a straight answer out of Optus as to when he will receive his modem and router.
     
  7. banshee

    banshee Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Messages:
    1,744
    Location:
    Springwood, West of Hell (Sydney, actually)
    I noted that it specified from over a year ago, & understand progressive rollouts for each area. That's what I've been suspecting, ever since it said, "Available from April 2018", and kept getting pushed back. I just wish I had some idea why no work has been done here since they ran the pull-throughs over a year ago, & they keep pushing it back.
     
  8. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    but you don't know that no work has been done. the bit you can see may not appear to have progressed, but you can't assume that is the determining factor for the entire project.
     
  9. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    my poor node. :(

     
    TheWedgie likes this.
  10. leighr

    leighr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    561
    Location:
    Richmond, Melbourne
    Lucky you've got a few more to console yourself with.

    What's the replacement time after a node is hit by (up to) 15 tonne moving at speed?
     
  11. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    they've done it in less than 24 hours including reinstatement of the plinth, if no damage to local power assets we need to engage the supplier for.

    we have grab-and-go knockdown kits with all of the required items prestaged at spares depots.
     
    TheWedgie and leighr like this.
  12. Uranux

    Uranux Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2001
    Messages:
    122
    Location:
    Brisbane
    A different NBN tech came by yesterday to fix the issue. Stopped by the house first to confirm the problem and then went to the pillar for about 10mins, came back and confirmed that it was working. Asked him what the issue was and he said "human error". Figures.
     
    BuD likes this.
  13. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    20,553
    Location:
    north pole
  14. kbekus

    kbekus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    1,125
    Location:
    Pascoe Vale, Melbourne
  15. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    clonex likes this.
  16. bryn

    bryn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,700
    Location:
    Sydney
    Fritzbox 7590 from gowifi nz
     
  17. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    not if it uses the same AVM modem chipset as their other models I am familiar with. far better to select something with a Broadcom chipset, and bridge into a separate router if need be for features. the DSL performance improvement can be quite significant.
     
  18. bryn

    bryn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,700
    Location:
    Sydney
    it doesn't use the same chipset- still. not Broadcom, but vdsl2 performance is better than the 7390 & 7490. you. Ould of course put a Broadcom modem in front of it bridged if required
     
  19. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,262
    Location:
    Melbourne
    just got a chance to check, it's an Infineon. definitely better with a Broadcom modem in front, in which case you can run whatever router you like.
     
  20. Bourke

    Bourke Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2017
    Messages:
    387
    I have some general "how does it work " q?s

    I looked up plans in my area and stuff and trying to figure out what I "need" vs "what is enough"
    90% gaming and 10% Streaming.

    PLAN50 vs PLAN100 (general plan names)
    42mbit DL VS 80mbit DL ..........UP I don't know due to not being published

    My guess is for gaming, that performance wise will be the same due PING to server, and I need atleast 2mbit UP to serve that need and reduce packet loss to a minimum, any more overhead is a asset/waste.
    I'm trying to find a fastest speed with low monthly DL limit (100gb is fine) and lowest monthly cost.
    AUSSIE has a plan but i'm jus checking about the low ping gaming thing.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: