The Great Big NBN Sticky Thread

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Akh-Horus, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    11,995
    Location:
    Canberra
    If you can get others nearby to convert too, you can share the shared costs.

    e.g. trenching etc. only needs to be done once, so you can share it amongst everyone at the time. The infrastrucutre at the node can be shared too.

    It's really cost prohibitive for a one off job, but can be reasonable to get say an apartment complex or industrial estate done if everyone gets in.
     
  2. kronikabis

    kronikabis Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    392
    Location:
    Illawarra
    yeah we were aware of that but there is basically no one nearby within a few sq kms. We were originally slated for the wireless system, while fttn was passing our front driveway. Late in the piece they gave us fttn, but at a line length of over 1.5km. To be honest fttn is useless where we are. Driveways are kms long, and the old folk around arnen't particulary interested in trying to upgrade to fttp

    30k it is!

    We are a very specific case ill just add
     
  3. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,661
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'm almost 600m and getting 90mbps down.
     
  4. fleetfeather

    fleetfeather Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    2612
  5. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,661
    Location:
    Melbourne
    There should be a pillar near by, you want to measure the distance from that box pictured to the pillar, then the pillar to your house
     
  6. Aaron_85

    Aaron_85 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2002
    Messages:
    500
    Location:
    Townsville
    normally they have "caution batteries inside" slathered on the side, but yes
     
  7. fleetfeather

    fleetfeather Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    2612
    The grey pillar is still being built, but it's 30m away from there on the corner of the street in the distance of that photo. The photo above is from a few weeks ago now.

    That green box is 20m away from our apartment.

    It's has "high voltage" stickers on one side. It's very new so all the decals might not be added yet :p



    Already happily getting 90/25 on VDSL2, but nice to know that I'll be able to get 100/40 when the suburb's NBN gets turned on next year
     
  8. Fred Nurk

    Fred Nurk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,196
    Location:
    Cairns QLD
    Could be a few things. Comms cabling might have a nylon jacket, whereas the power cable doesn't. Termites like warmth, the power cables will be running hotter than the comms cables too.
     
  9. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,015
    Location:
    Melbourne
    and then add up to 50% for the cable not following direct path.
     
  10. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,015
    Location:
    Melbourne
    not even completed yet. the locks haven't been changed out from the construction barrels.
     
  11. fleetfeather

    fleetfeather Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2013
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    2612
    My suburb is one of 6 neighbouring suburbs where NBN is being built atm, with my suburb specifically being the first of the six to commence construction. I'm guessing they wont turn any of the network on until all six suburbs are done, right?
     
  12. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,689
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I'm not sure line length, but it's a fair distance :(
    I'm assuming that there's no point going any faster than a 25/5 plan for me though??
    [​IMG]
     
  13. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,015
    Location:
    Melbourne
    tell your ISP to take you off the stable profile, those noise margins are silly. then see what the maximum line rate goes up to.
     
  14. ir0nhide

    ir0nhide Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    4,192
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Whoa 18dB! Not familiar with the latest specs on NBN's VDSL, are the optimal numbers for SNR similar to ADSL?
     
  15. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,015
    Location:
    Melbourne
    he's only on a 12/1 plan from the actual bitrates, the reason the SNRs are so high is the link is reaching all of the bitrate it needs before it well runs out of usable bandwidth at minimum acceptable noise margin. so the modems stop adding bitloading to the DMT subtones, making the actual SNR look like the target noise margin has been jacked up.
     
  16. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,689
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Correct for now..
    we're in the middle of moving house, and will go to a higher plan once the move is finished..
    If we can even go faster... (congestion maybe)
    [​IMG]
     
  17. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    10,015
    Location:
    Melbourne
    dude, churn. immediately.
     
  18. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,689
    Location:
    Adelaide
    If it continues when we're actually living here, then yes..
     
  19. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,661
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Which POI are you on?
     
  20. Dilbery

    Dilbery Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    1,079
    Location:
    Sydney, NSW
    So, we've been scheduled for Jun 2017 completion in the new map, however a node has been installed in my street earlier during the week. Does this mean I'll be able to swap over to VDSL sooner?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: