1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

The Great Big NBN Sticky Thread

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Akh-Horus, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. sir_bazz

    sir_bazz Team Papparazi

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,738
    Location:
    Mentone, Vic.
  2. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,000
    Location:
    Melbourne
    HFC I think.
     
  3. vladtepes

    vladtepes Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    2,698
    Location:
    Brisbane, Qld
  4. callan

    callan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,890
    Location:
    melbourne
    Can always tell HFC from fibre: HFC has a nasty inbuilt latency. (our speedtest latency dropped from 9-11ms down to 1-2ms when we tech changed from HFC to fibre)

    Callan
     
  5. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,000
    Location:
    Melbourne
    an additional 8-9ms of latency is nasty?

    a couple of hundred ms would not be desirable, but most users wouldn't even notice 8-9ms.
     
    sir_bazz and vladtepes like this.
  6. callan

    callan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,890
    Location:
    melbourne
    Just a bit with gaming. I do concede, though I am being needlessly precious , particularly when I am still happy playing WoW on a US server at 160ms...(although my healing spells do suffer).
    Vlad's 50fold increase in throughput is kinda more a big deal!

    Callan
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2020
    vladtepes likes this.
  7. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,000
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I will admit I am stunningly uninterested in latency for gaming - it's not on my radar.

    perhaps of interest - the PTS says that RTD is no different for HFC than FTTP - I know it's only TC-1 in the below table, but that's because TC-2 for HFC doesn't launch until May (I suspect DOCSIS 3.1 rollout needs to be completed to augment bandwidth to support the product). functionally I expect the technologies to continue to behave the same. the only difference between TC-2 and TC-4 is that CVC booking rates are left within the control of the RSP for the latter, there is no technical reason TC-4 FD would be any different to TC-1 or TC-2.

    section 7.1 of https://www.nbnco.com.au/content/da...-product-technical-specification-20191217.pdf
     
  8. bryn

    bryn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,734
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hey caspian, in an hfc install in a commercial mdu, is nbn responsibke fir cabling into the premises?

    the installer has said they cant run the cable from the riser into the premises and that “we” have to arrange it, which sounds... odd
     
  9. waltermitty

    waltermitty Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    1,318
    Location:
    BRISBANE
    I have HFC in an apartment complex and NBNCo did the lead-in
     
  10. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,000
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'm not a HFC expert, but my understanding is that NBN is responsible all the way to the wall socket. it's not twisted pair phone cabling so the same rules do not apply as would for FTTB.
     
  11. bryn

    bryn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,734
    Location:
    Sydney
    that's pretty much what I thought, thanks
     
  12. Quadbox

    Quadbox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,372
    Location:
    Brisbane
  13. Quadbox

    Quadbox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,372
    Location:
    Brisbane
    What's the tale with (estimated) ready for service dates in FTTC areas? Is that pretty much a case of somebody turns the whole area on, and anyone who's already got a functioning copper lead in will most likely be able to order from then, or do most properties take a while longer to have service available for order?

    Our area (4TWO-64) has an estimated RFS of 24th april, and given how torturous video conferencing over adsl is it'd Sure Be Nice (TM)
     
  14. leighr

    leighr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Richmond, Melbourne
    My personal experience (no statistically valid) was that I ordered from my ISP (ABB) a few weeks before the go live date and they booked a tech for the day of go live, or the day after, can't remember exactly. Existing lead in used, up and running within a couple of hours of the tech arriving.
     
  15. supasaiyan

    supasaiyan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,841
    Location:
    3000
    some ISP's are stopping transition orders (Telstra is one of them) until further notice
     
  16. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,000
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I can't comment on the percentage of premises that require additional work (and it would be a network average that means nothing to an individual instance anyway), but certainly the considerable majority of premises can order a service from day one.

    14,938.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2020
  17. Quadbox

    Quadbox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,372
    Location:
    Brisbane
  18. Rass

    Rass Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,010
    Location:
    Brizbekistan
    So, bit of a question for those in tech roles at ISPs or NBN ... what information is available to the ISPs in regards to congestion and utilisation? A friend of mine is having issues with FTTC and really high latency (750ms).... he was speaking to a tech at his ISP who said he couldn't see any issues. I'm wondering if the tech would have information just about the local ISPs backhaul, the point to point connection or anything like that.
     
  19. MELso76

    MELso76 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Latency on my FTTC connection is 5-7ms through Belong/Telstra.

    Who's the RSP?

    Before blaming the RSP though, the first thing is to rule out local issues. Is your friend checking on wired or wireless connection? Have they tried a different router? Are there other phone points in the house? (If so, these need to be disconnected...)
     
  20. Rass

    Rass Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,010
    Location:
    Brizbekistan
    TPG. Everything else disconnected, using wired.
    No idea if they have access to another router.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: