1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

The Great Big NBN Sticky Thread

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Akh-Horus, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    153,825
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Yes that's right, $50 each.
     
  2. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    153,825
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Quick question about AussieBB, you get email addresses with them yes?
     
  3. zed_kid

    zed_kid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,531
    Location:
    Melburg
    I got AussieBB also, my status says awaiting installation. I got all the gear. Does that mean it’s time for me to plug everything in? I don’t want to lose the current internet as I’m working from home.
     
  4. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    Best to give them a call and confirm. Their support is top notch :thumbup:
     
    millen likes this.
  5. pfrcom

    pfrcom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Location:
    3114, Melbourne
    Yes, <=5 of them
     
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  6. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    For those newcomers to ABB: Best to keep an eye out here for all ABB related chat

    https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum/152

    ABB Reps are always responsive and professional. Just like other service points: online account, emails, phone, etc. :thumbup:
     
  7. pfrcom

    pfrcom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Location:
    3114, Melbourne
    I cut over to AussieBB FTTC yesterday

    My status changed from Awaiting Installation later in the day after connecting the NCD

    Had Internet access shortly after the NCD had its three blue lights lit up

    Couldn't set up email addresses until status changed to Installed
     
  8. pezzy

    pezzy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    839
    Location:
    Sydney
    connected yesterday and the current setup is the nbn connection box sitting around 10m cable length wise away from the router. in this scenario, is it better to have a longer cat6, shorter rj11 connection or shorter cat6, longer rj11? i ask this because i rather the later since a telephone cable is less bulky thus less chance of tripping over the wire hehe. this will be temporary as i will be moving the phone port closer to my router eventually.
     
  9. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    Feel free to correct me but I think for this distance it is negligible so I would suggest going with the most convenient/safest option that works for your household.
     
  10. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    153,825
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Thanks, handy to know. I don't think I'll use/need them in the end as using isp emails has kept me tied to bigpond for so long, so I've now decoupled myself entirely from them :p

    Once I move to AussieBB I'll be completely shut of them once and for all.
     
  11. pfrcom

    pfrcom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Location:
    3114, Melbourne
    I still do, but established an individual domain to provide ISP independence

    Now I use email addresses like givenname@surname.id.au which forward to the ISP address

    Side benefit is being able to have, for example, email addresses like medibank@surname.id.au, so if I ever got email not from Medibank to that address, I'd know who's selling contact lists (just 'cause you're paranoid doesn't mean they're not out to get you)

    For anyone interested in doing this, essential to use domain registrar who bundles email forwarding - I use Panthur
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2020
    Kosti likes this.
  12. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,461
    Location:
    Broadview SA
    Offtopic, but hey - I've been doing this for years, and it works great when dealing with the machines, but it freaks out the humans every time they need to confirm an email address...the number of times I've had to confirm to Amex that yes, my email address really is Ay-Em-Ee-Ex At ....
     
  13. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    153,825
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Nice! I'd love to know who has passed on my details before also. I suspect a few big Australian companies but have no proof. I'll get into a more complex email setup sometime in the near future.
     
  14. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,184
    Location:
    AvE
  15. supasaiyan

    supasaiyan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,007
    Location:
    3000
  16. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,461
    Location:
    Broadview SA
    Yeah, my new (installed about a week ago) FTTP connection consistently slightly overperforms, more like 109Mbit/s on a 100 plan.
     
  17. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,184
    Location:
    AvE
    TCP over provisioning
     
    theSeekerr likes this.
  18. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Day 2 of our FTTC connection.

    Yesterday it took ages with issues then finally worked long enough to give me false hope. Upped it to 100/40 plan as ABB's portal showed something like 105/45 as sync speeds then not long after the NCD lost connection and has been flashing red since....So apparenlty issues powering the DPU. Fuck me. A tech's booked in for tomorrow afternoon.

    Had about 45 minutes of bliss with the 50/40 getting real speeds of 47/22.

    What a fucking whirlwind. Spent hours dicking around with it all too. God damn.
     
  19. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,184
    Location:
    AvE
    When it was installed did they eliminate all other phone outlets in the house or disconnect them? Assume you were ADSL prior did you get decent speeds?
     
  20. romp

    romp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,189
    Location:
    Brisbane (ish)
    Whilst it's good to rule it out, ADSL speeds achieved prior to NBN being connected may not have much relevance. I was syncing at 21-22mbps on ADSL2+ before connecting to the NBN. When NBN was deployed, that dropped to 8mbps. Just thought it was worth mentioning.

    Always a good idea for FTTN (and I assume FTTC is no different) to get additional phone sockets disconnected. My memory is a bit foggy but doing this bumped me up from syncing at 8mbps to 21mbps. Having a sympathetic RSP also then compelled NBN to attend at the pillar I was connected too and with some trouble shooting, that got me up to 36mbps. Then there was a slow slide down to 30mbps which is where it sat until a micronode and pillar was deployed only a few hundred metres away.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: