1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

The Great Big NBN Sticky Thread

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Akh-Horus, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I was Cable prior to install. No one ever attended, just send the NCD.

    I found a 2nd port i never realised i had but regardless doesn't solve the issue. Wont power up in either port, direct in wall power socket, and tried 2 different cables...Just cut off yesterday after issues and stability problems and hasn't connected again and cant power the DPU it seems. I'm wondering if it's something with the telephone line, it did have an active Telstra connection but no phone was ever connected it it.
     
  2. Kosti

    Kosti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    Sydney
    two tests today after a reboot of everything, since my HFC cable got cut and now on HFC NBN
    Im getting 108/22 & 105/19 via two different speed tests, but pretty sure I got 100/40 when I ordered some not sure what Im only at 20 upload speeds, not that I need that much
     
  3. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8,057
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
    You'd better check with the provider as it sounds like you're on a 100/20 plan... definitely don't pay for 40 upload when you only get 20 that's for sure.



    JSmith
     
  4. Kosti

    Kosti Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    1,433
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yep will be calling floptus tomorrow and ABB for my folks place
     
    JSmithDTV likes this.
  5. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    153,825
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    And so it should be, people were pissed.
     
    Hive likes this.
  6. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,539
    Location:
    Melb East
    People pissed at something that they don't understand called overheads. The squeeky wheel gets the most attention I guess :)
     
  7. pfrcom

    pfrcom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    379
    Location:
    3114, Melbourne
    Prior to NBN, I had phone specialist remove central ADSL filter he'd installed previously, and rationalise connections to one

    After that my ADSL performance was unchanged and still abysmal, lucky to get 2Mbps connection to the exchange with constant dropouts and slowdowns

    Compared to ~4.5Mbps when central ADSL filter was installed, before FTTC rollout here

    So, on premise that ADSL was nobbled by FTTC, with two protocols now sharing copper infrastructure inadequate for one, signed up for NBN, hoping for the best but not optimistic

    Sometimes pessimism is unfounded - had a stellar experience since installing NBN on Tuesday, from the get-go ~46 Mbps down and ~18 Mbps up on AussieBB 50/20 plan

    And after a power outage today, it came back the same way

    Thanks caspian for gee-up https://forums.overclockers.com.au/posts/18529243/
     
  8. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    153,825
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    And yet we now have over provisioning, just to keep the savages happy? ; )
     
  9. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,236
    Location:
    Melbourne
    pretty much, yes.
     
  10. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,184
    Location:
    AvE
    I paid for a 100mbit service, but i'm getting 117 now??

    DAMN NBN. STILL NOT GETTING WHAT I PAY FOR.
     
    mesaoz likes this.
  11. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6,193
    Location:
    SEQ Boganville
    Gotta boost the average speed where you can to make up for all the other shit connections. :)
     
  12. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,184
    Location:
    AvE
    The tragedy of living in a nice area, but the best FTTN speeds you get is 25Mbit/s.
     
  13. supasaiyan

    supasaiyan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,007
    Location:
    3000
    Managing Director of AussieBB did an AMA on Reddit yesterday, seems like a pretty decent guy
     
    ChinoPD likes this.
  14. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6,193
    Location:
    SEQ Boganville
    HeRe At NbN Co, wE HaVe InCrEaSeD oUr aVeRaGe cUsToMeR cOnNeCtIoN sPeEd bY 10mbps iN 2020
     
    Zenskas, Hive and JSmithDTV like this.
  15. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,184
    Location:
    AvE
    Yup!

    2007, 15mbit ADSL2

    2020, 25mbit VDSL2
     
    Zenskas and JSmithDTV like this.
  16. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8,057
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
    Top notch!

    [​IMG]



    JSmith
     
    Zenskas, darknebula and romp like this.
  17. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    Him and his reps are responsive, professional, and are pretty transparent in WP. Definitely one factor I do brag about from their business, great local people. They probably have a good working culture there. :thumbup:
     
    Hive likes this.
  18. raincloudx

    raincloudx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Location:
    Victoria
    Thinking of signing up to Aussie BB, there's a $10 off for first 6 month deal on atm - what is a good modem?
     
  19. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    Any one listed/reported here as working would suffice for your needs I believe.

    https://forums.whirlpool.net.au/thread/9z8znpv9
     
    raincloudx likes this.
  20. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Melbourne
    NBN guy came today, time was between 1 and 5 and he arrived at 1:30. Poor bastard was clearly busy but investigated everything and ended up replacing a telephone port in our house and all was good.

    What's odd is that it worked then didnt yesterday, but we havent used phone lines in last 5 years we've lived here so perhaps the power was enough to jolt and cause an issue on some old bad wiring? Dunno, it's weird, but it's great that it's working now.

    Now getting the following speeds:

    upload_2020-7-24_14-47-28.png
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: