1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

The Great Big NBN Sticky Thread

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Akh-Horus, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,190
    Location:
    AvE
    The NCD powers the DPU in the street. Maybe flaky wiring? The power to the DPU isn't huge but might have been enough to damage it if it was already subpar.

    My guess is just that
     
  2. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    154,067
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    You just can't please anyone :D

    Well my NBN journey will start Aug 3, my install date : )
     
  3. Hive

    Hive Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    6,190
    Location:
    AvE
    Your life will change forever from this date onwards, for the better or most likely for the worse.

    Go to your doctor and ask for a prescription of Valium.
     
    raincloudx likes this.
  4. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,258
    Location:
    Melbourne
    or Bunnings and get a bag of cement.
     
  5. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,697
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Yeah i figure similar but the guy pulled some of the wiring through and replaced the socket and it's all perfect now so maybe more likely the port? (Could a build up of dust caused it to fry?)

    Haven't tested the bedroom port (to see if that's now working too) since he fixed this one but honestly i never will as there's no point. It would confirm if it was purely internal or something else.

    Funny thing though is we have a pit right outside our house however our DPU allocation was a port down the road lol.
     
  6. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    154,067
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I most definitely believe you.
     
    raincloudx likes this.
  7. millen

    millen Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    237
    Yeah our FTTK connection was the same. In a pit a couple of houses up, tech checked the pit right out front first, but yeah ended up walking up the street to get it sorted.
    I guess cos the DPU power 4 houses each they chuck em roughly in the middle.

    Ours has been pretty good since we got hooked up week and a bit ago, does seem to drop out completely every now and again though, not sure if it's NBN end or something in my setup causing it... Bit everything stops for a minute or so. Then it resumes as normal...
     
  8. zed_kid

    zed_kid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,531
    Location:
    Melburg
    So I’m connect to Aussie bb. Did their speed test 100mb down 20 up. Looks great . Started to dl a game off steam and peak is 13mb/s

    is this “normal” for fttc?
     
  9. Quadbox

    Quadbox Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,428
    Location:
    Brisbane
    13 MB/s is 104 Mb/s, so yes...
     
    zed_kid likes this.
  10. leighr

    leighr Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    575
    Location:
    Richmond, Melbourne
    Speedtest measures in megabits/sec, Steam measures in megabytes/sec. 100/8 = 12.5, so 13megabytes per second is pretty much spot on what you're paying for.

    Edit: Or what he said above.
     
    zed_kid likes this.
  11. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    13,825
    Location:
    Canberra
    you confusing your metrics?

    100Mbps = ~13MB/s
     
  12. zed_kid

    zed_kid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,531
    Location:
    Melburg
    Yes I am haha. I didn’t even know they were different metrics. Thank you
     
  13. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    154,067
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    The amount of text messages and emails I'm getting from NBNCo and my provider for the installation next monday is just off the charts. Every single day for the last week I've had multiple texts and emails.
     
  14. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,697
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Just wanted to plug Aussie Broadband. With their help over my recent issues they did everything they could and booked in the NBN contractor who was out within 24 hours. Then i got a follow up call and subsequent credits regarding the downtime. Super easy to deal with for issues so it makes me have faith in them.

    I was on unlimited cable with telstra before which never let me see my usage so it's also cool to be able to see how much i'm using despite being on unlimited with ABB also...So far i've had 5 or so days of service and have used 750GB. I plan on setting up Backblaze soon enough too since i now have decent upload so that'll go up again lol.
     
    ChinoPD, pfrcom and connico like this.
  15. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    154,067
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Looking like my modem from AussieBB won't arrive in time for the NBN install Monday, assume that won't matter much as plug in away I go when it does arrive?
     
  16. connico

    connico Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,307
    Location:
    Sydney
    Exactly or just reset your old router and plug that in instead. Assuming you have one that is
     
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  17. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    154,067
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Yeah I'll just keep the old Telstra router sitting there just in case it doesn't arrive today.
     
  18. connico

    connico Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,307
    Location:
    Sydney
    Why did you get the AussieBB router anyways? I'd get a mesh router for the fastest possible wireless speeds :p
     
    ChinoPD likes this.
  19. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    154,067
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    No particular reason, didn't do any research, but I've recently networked the home so not much reliance on wifi now :p
     
    connico likes this.
  20. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    13,092
    Location:
    Canberra
    +1

    In addition, their communication and quality of service is top notch. They have a comprehensible easy to read outage pages and will send you numerous courtesy emails for outages that may affect your area. If there was a service provider that intercepts client enquiries in terms of unexpected outages, Aussie Broadband are the only ones that I have found to do it. Ie. I've had unexpected outages and I am literally picking up to call them to only receive a txt message and email to advise of the issue and ETA. Over the phone, the guys are local, very polite, and mostly knowledgeable (I might get a new person who is being trained but have always been clear and professional).

    If their service is available anywhere else for half the price, I'd still be happy knowingly paying for twice the price, for Aussie Broadbands services. Not to mention the stability of their services also, and the quality of service (speed, downtime, and speed to my EU seedbox)

    11/10 :thumbup:
     
    jpw007 likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: