1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

The Great Big NBN Sticky Thread

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by Akh-Horus, Dec 21, 2016.

  1. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    8,386
    Location:
    South East QLD
    I was with opticomm for 2 years, it was fine for me but YMMV
     
  2. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,808
    I noticed the exisiting own was using vodafone mobile internet, which i wasn't sure if it's a bad sign or just that maybe they're a tenant and it's an easier service to relocate.

    Can't really consider mobile for work purposes though which is going to be our main use as we also need to move our ABB VOIP over
     
  3. CQGLHyperion

    CQGLHyperion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,948
    Location:
    North Rockhampton
    Sounds like what I went through looking at a place to buy. It was part of an existing Telstra Velocity estate that was moving to Opticomm (as they bought them all) and getting upgraded to NBN level speeds. ABB is a reseller. Didn't buy the place in the end but was interesting finding out about it all.
     
  4. McRutch

    McRutch Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Melbourne
    and Opticomm have now been bought out by Uniti
     
    alexc likes this.
  5. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,408
    Location:
    Melbourne
    sure, shoot it across. although the mention of Opticomm is not promising.
     
  6. supasaiyan

    supasaiyan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    5,780
    Location:
    3000
    jpw007 - might be able to get you on to a Telstra trial, if you’re interested
     
  7. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,808
    Stuck with ABB unfortunately due to our VOIP contract, but I definitely appreciate the offer!
     
  8. schnappy

    schnappy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    932
    Today is June 6, my HFC NTD arrived April 8th. My service is working as of a few hours ago. Will see how long it lasts. What an awful way this whole NBN/RPS shit is set up for the customer.
     
    alexc likes this.
  9. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,598
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    So Does anyone know who I need to contact to get my HFC Underground?

    I am able to trench and run the conduit myself.. just need to.know who to contact on getting the extra length from the main point across the street to the current location of the Grey box
     
  10. fredhoon

    fredhoon Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,984
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Is it overhead from a pole to your property or UG from a pit in the street then up a private pole in your property?

    If the former I doubt it will be cheap as it's not a standard build option for an OH area.
     
  11. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,598
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    Underground to other side of the street then overhead to another stobie pole then aerial Lead-in
     
    fredhoon likes this.
  12. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,408
    Location:
    Melbourne
    fredhoon, TheWedgie and Pugs like this.
  13. McRutch

    McRutch Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It's a shame you have HFC and not FTTC, for me it was only $900 more to get a full fibre upgrade than the quote I received to put the existing FTTC connection underground.
     
  14. Cpt Watermelon

    Cpt Watermelon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    812
    Apparently NBN technical portal/api is down for maintenance, can't do line tests, port resets or stability profile through the aussiebb portal and the even aussie support can't perform it themselves at the moment. Stuck with my connection dropping out every few minutes.
    Luckily have 500gb of data banked with amaysim to tide me over.
     
  15. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,408
    Location:
    Melbourne
    this weekend is a planned maintenance release timeslot where multiple systems are taken offline in a coordinated manner for upgrades, patching and fixes.

    it's done that way specifically at the behest of the RSPs to minimise the overall system down time and the need to manage what would otherwise be multiple individual system unavailabilities. it is planned a full year in advance and every NBN customer knows about it.
     
  16. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,408
    Location:
    Melbourne
    possibly a little expensive for the average home user, but 10Gbps enterprise ethernet is now available. I presume at least some of the people who think 10Gbps local networks are a consumer grade commodity would be interested though?
     
    bym007, fredhoon, jpw007 and 2 others like this.
  17. alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,866
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Sure... if it'll stop the kids complaining about how long updates take from Steam, Xbox and Epic, then it's money well spent! ;-)

    Might have to update my USG Pro 4 first though...

    and my switches... and then my WiFi...
     
  18. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    16,337
    Location:
    Canberra
    only if it's $49.99 per month

    korea has it
     
  19. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,408
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yeah, a bit like the F250 I'd like is $40,000 in the US but strangely $175,000 here. and all I have to do to get one at the lower price is move to America.
     
    fredhoon and alexc like this.
  20. bryn

    bryn Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,806
    Location:
    Sydney
    Haven't seen NBN-EE pricing yet, but AAPT Fibre10000 is $2500/month ish
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: